We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just got back from an amazing few days staying in The Coach House Suite, everything was perfect, from the staff, to the room, to the food. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We didn't want to leave, will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The Coach House suite is amazing, definitely worth the cost.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break in the Coach House at Cedar Manor Hotel, we are delighted to read your review and look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have stayed here before and were delighted to find the same high service standards combined with further enhancements since then. The owners are very welcoming, the staff well trained, the facilities very relaxing and the food quality outstanding. We will be back for a future visit, the hotel is to be warmly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. It was lovely to welcome you back and very pleased to hear that you liked all the latest refurbishment and improvements.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

A week at Cedar manor was truly a luxury. The staff were charming and considerate, and attended to our every comfort. Fresh milk, kept overnight in the fridge in our room, for our morning tea; fruit instead of a creamy desert at dinner, and fresh grapefruit at breakfast, were all a great treat.
Perhaps the one negative was that the dinner menu did not change.

Room Tip: Just ask. Managers/Owners are so helpful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your holiday at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and your holiday in the Lakes.
We do have a short seasonally changing menu with around 5 starters, 5 mains and 5 desserts, we now also offer a lighter menu for lounge and room service, plus all guests who wish to dine on all 7 nights are offered alternative starter and mains after 3 to 4 nights. The Chef's love to go "off-piste" a little and try out new dishes as well as some of our old favourites.
We hope you will choose to return to Cedar Manor for another weeks holiday in the future, we would love to welcome you back again.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Wow! When we pulled into the drive- one look told us we were in a special place. A gorgeous meticulously kept English Manor! Beautiful grounds with lovely places to sit and enjoy a cup of tea or glass of wine. The inside is delightful with exquisite attention to detail. Our room was on the first floor and was lovely, quiet,comfortable and clean. The lounge area was nicely done with soft chairs and sofas to relax on and have a drink. The dining room was quite nice as well. Perfect for a romantic dinner. The food was fabulous so we ate there both nights for dinner. The food was fresh and the menu interesting. Nice vegetarian options are always big with us. It was pricey but worth it to have a wonderful meal! The room came with a full breakfast which was always a treat and cooked to perfection.
There is a room between the lounge and dining room that was fun to sit in. Blue lighting, comfy seats, nice music.
Patricia and the rest of the staff was awesome and always available for anything you might need. So nice! The owners Jonathan and Caroline were delightful and had lots of tips on places to go. Everyone made us feel at home!
We plan to come back and stay more than 2 days. Such a pretty place to find yourself.
Tip-the 20 min walk to the lake is quaint and beautiful. I loved getting to the lake but the walk up was steep.
There s so much to see around here- even in the rain.
It was nice to meet Basil the pup and her young owner "E":)

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Lakes. We are all delighted that you picked out Cedar Manor and enjoyed the Hotel, your room and our food. Basil loved meeting you, he is becoming a bit of a Hotel mascot!
We all look forward to welcoming you back if you ever return to the Lakes. (of course you will!!)
Best wishes
Basil (E, Basil's owner), Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay at the Cedar Manor. Some of the previous reviews have mentioned the price being a little expensive but having stayed in other hotels in the area, I disagree. Yes, the hotel is small and the rooms aren't as vast as some larger hotels but we didn't, and never do, need all that extra room and our room didn't feel cramped by any stretch of the imagination.

The owner was very welcoming on out arrival, showed us to our room and was good enough to recommend several places to eat/drink out for the evening. The room itself was clean, comfortable and of a very good standard. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The breakfast matched the rest of the hotel, "excellent."

For those moaning/worried about the cost, you get what you pay for. In this case, a well run, clean, charming hotel with excellent service.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Sbruce0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and service. As you say, we aren't big and all our rooms come at different shapes, sizes and prices. We are very pleased that you found us good value and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes

Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Me and my girlfriend were searching for a very long time on somewhere that we would have liked to stay at, we knew we wanted to go to Windermere, but other than that we didn't have a clue.

By chance, I stumbled upon Cedar Manor Hotel, and within 5 minutes we had already made a reservation. The website is clear cut, concise, and easy to navigate, showing off the hotels impressive repertoire.

Upon arrival, we were taken aback by the sheer presence of the building. You could stand outside, take a picture, and use it as a postcard.

We had arrived early, so I parked the car outside, and just nipped in to ask if it was okay leaving it where it was so we could make our way into the town for a few hours. I was greeted by Caroline, who even though was busy conversing with two couples who I presume were looking at available bookings, was more than happy to attend to me, and check whether my room was ready and available. She returned with a smile and spring in her step, showing us to the waiting room where we would sign in and go over booking details.

Upon signing in, we were recommended various places in Windermere to visit to eat, and then showed to our rooms.

We stayed in the Wansfell Suite, which is near the back of the hotel. When she opened the door, I have to say, the pictures posted on the website simply did not do it justice. The bathroom was sparkling clean, complimented with four big soft towels, two personalised bath robes and various washing amenities.

The rest of the room was fantastic, there was a majestic dressing table sat in the entrance, and the bed was laid beautifully. You couldn't find fault with it. The TV was a plasma, with all the essential channels, there is a mini fridge, tea making facilities, including biscuits and a great iPod docking station on the bedside table which doubles up as a radio. The wi-fi was fast and free, and the hotel even has its own app which you can download. It's nothing absolutely essential, but it's the little things like that which make the transition from home and holiday that much smoother.

Throughout the course of the stay, we came and went as we pleased, nothing was too much for them. For example, during the second day, we spent a portion of it relaxing in the room and getting ready for a walk. Caroline came and left without so much as making a peep, stopping only briefly to ask if we were having a nice time.

The hotel is in ample location, with a 2 minute walk to both the centre of Windermere, and the famous Lake which we frequented.

It was solely attentive, unobtrusive, and a real pleasure in every way. Cedar Manor Hotel is bursting at the seems with charm and luxury. We have recommended the hotel to our friends and family, and wouldn't hesitate to book with them again.

Thank you for a delightful stay, all the best.

Room Tip: Bring a camera!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Reevus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you very much for such a great review on your recent stay at Cedar Manor Hotel. We are really pleased that you picked up on all the details in the room. We hope you come back again and enjoy another relaxing break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights for my birthday in July, the staff could not have been more accommodating, the room was modern, clean with a lovely view and a really comfortable bed. We ate in the hotel and the food was delicious, well done chef. Would we stay again? Definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted with the feedback and really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
440 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $194 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing