We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to return to after a days walking!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for three nights in October and would highly recommend this hotel to others.

It was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and the service was absolutely impeccable. We had only intended to eat in the hotel on one evening but had such a lovely meal, and wanted to try other items on the menu, that we had an equally good second one too.

Our bedroom, The Coniston, had a beautiful view of The Lake and was quite cleverly organised. At first glance the room is quite small but the attached dressing room and bathroom more than made up for it.

What really stands this hotel apart is the atmosphere they manage to create, a sort of quiet informality that makes the whole thing very relaxing, oodles of service without it being over bearing. Jonathan provided very helpful advice on our walking plans and willing accepted the mammoth task of drying boots and outer clothing after we became soaked through following a day on the hills.

We are back in the south refreshed and revitalised. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Coniston is accessed via a flight of stairs but has a gorgeous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are really pleased that you had a great stay and managed to see some of the Lakes whilst you were here. We are more than happy to assist with drying gear, as you say, it was pretty wet last week.
We hope to see you again for another relaxing break in the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Cedar Manor Hotel on the 16th and 17th October. We were looking for a romantic and relaxing break and we chose the hotel due to the superb reviews that we had read. We were not disappointed. Everything about this hotel was perfect. We stayed in the Coniston Room, which we chose primarily for the view. it was decorated lovely and, whilst it wasn’t the biggest of rooms, with the separate dressing room it was certainly big enough. The bathroom was modern, with a great shower and just like the bedroom it was spotlessly clean. The hotel itself was fabulous with a relaxing lounge, that just like the restaurant, was superbly decorated. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food, service, ambience and whole experience was excellent. The hotel was perfectly placed, with some stunning views within easy walking distance. Caroline and Jonathan were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful stay at the Cedar Manor and would recommend it to anyone....can’t wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your comments and pleased that you enjoyed the room and dinner in the restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Busy and tourist orientated Windermere is the heart of the southern Lake District and the hotel is a 5 minute walk away but seems to be in another world of quiet comfort, friendly service and superb food. It will always be our first choice for the area.

Room Tip: Views towards the lake are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights, bed and breakfast in the "Bowness" room which was was spacious, well furnished and well decorated. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts had good choice and the cooked option was excellent. The setting was beautiful and the service was first class. We had a meal in the restaurant on one evening and the food was delicious and well presented. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Autumn break at Cedar Manor. We are really pleased that you had a good time and enjoyed the hotel and restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have had a lovely relaxing stay here this week. The quality of the service, facilities and atmosphere are fabulous.

The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever known in a hotel and the peace and quiet in the morning was just what we needed. Myself and my husband enjoyed our stay immensely, we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for writing such a great review. Knowing that you had a peaceful and comfortable stay is important to us and fellow travellers. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We just left Cedar Manor and had such a lovely time. My husband is currently recovering from back surgery and has a walker. Jonathan and his staff made sure we were very well taken care of and my husband safe. The dinner is a beautiful experience with very high quality dishes. We especially loved spending time in the gorgeous lounge reading and relaxing. We look forward to returning! Thank you so much for making this such a treat for us and a wonderful early birthday present for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback and very pleased that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay.
We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the UK.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay at Cedar Manor. The Hotel has beautiful décor, is very clean and is in a good position. We walked to Bowness, which is about a mile down the road. We decided to eat out in the evenings, as we like to try different places and liked the walk out, but the dinner menu looked very nice and the other guests said the food was excellent. The bar is also a lovely relaxing area to finish your evening off.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinga-jinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and a couple of drinks in the bar. We hope that you give our restaurant a try on your next visit, am sure you will love it!
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
472 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $195 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing