We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels over the years but nothing comes close to this fine hotel, some hotels claim they are 5 star with hundreds of rooms on offer but what they can't offer is that personal touch! The warm genuine welcome as you arrive and the attention to detail in every way. this is the trouble with the big brand hotels today which are almost tesco like, the couple who own and run this fine manor house know what people want and they certainly do deliver with that personal touch and top class customer service from the well kept grounds to the rooms and breakfast. The staff at this hotel work very hard and are so pleasant with big genuine smiles! Anyone who is thinking of opening a hotel should take a short stay here to see how a business is run!

Room Tip: We were in the coniston suite with cracking views and a bathroom my wife is begging me to copy at h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor, we are blushing! We just want to say that we are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
91
864
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked for a couple of nights in August and also made a reservation for dinner and we were glad we did because both the food and service was terrific. Jonathan was the host and performed the job very well. The Cedar Manor presented as a classy, upmarket residence but the atmosphere was so relaxed and Jonathan was friendly without being intrusive. The staff in the dining area were excellent, once again friendly but with that nice touch of formality.
The building was presented well, lovely furnishings and a beautiful garden. Our room was a bit small, but I think it was probably the least expensive one, so you probably just get what you pay for. It had everything we needed, including a fridge which is an oddity for uk/europe. Bathroom was small but functional, a bath would be good but no room unfortunately. Needed an engineering degree to get the toilet to flush properly and if you didn't get it right there was an annoying drip for a while. Bed was comfortable and a good night's sleep was had with no noise from other rooms or outside.
Windemere is a lovely place, as is the whole Lakes District ... only problem was the rain, but I'm told this is normal! Wish we had spent more time here and would recommend the Cedars to anyone wanting to visit the area. Well done Jonathan and the team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FHILLAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in the Summer. We are really pleased to receive such great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was treated to a weekend at Cedar Manor for my birthday. The room, food and service were excellent.

Our room wasn't one of the suites but it was very well furnished in a modern country style. The spacious bed was very comfortable.

The food was impressive we enjoyed both the evening meal there and breakfast. Minor detail - some of the dishes had been 'overworked' and had too many tastes going on but nevertheless very enjoyable eating experience. We don't usually have room for three courses but we did here.

As a host, Jonathan was very amenable and attentive without being overbearing. The waitresses were top quality.

I liked the handmade chocolates in our room on arrival and the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. Really pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, dinner and breakfast. We constantly strive to improve and all feedback is warmly received.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Following a recent two night stay at The Cedar Manor, I thought it was really nice, on arrival first impressions were great, Caroline was very welcoming and informative. The room we stayed in was Wansfell - this was a lovely room, very clean as was the hotel in general. I think form the photographs that I had seen that I was expecting the room to be slightly bigger than it actually was, but this was not a problem, the spa bath is a superb extra touch. The first evening we had dinner in the hotel restaurant, the food here is of a really high quality and we thoroughly enjoyed that evening. The only down side to this, which could just be me being a bit picky, was that I felt like we were an afterthought after the main course had been served, there was a large pause between finishing the main and being asked if we would like to see the dessert menu, whereas all the other tables of which there were only 2 or 3 on that evening seemed to have been attended to a bit more swiftly.
The first morning we had breakfast I felt a bit rushed and that the 1 hour window for breakfast was a little bit short. Again this could be me being too picky but when we were asked how we wanted our eggs cooked on the full English breakfast, my partner asked for one fried and one poached, on the arrival of his plate it was minus a sausage which I presume was due to him requesting two eggs but it would have been nice to have been notified that this was a substitution situation.

In conclusion I would recommend this hotel as it was really nice and we had a lovely stay however I think it was a little bit overpriced for what it was.

Room Tip: The coach house looks fabulous but again is for the 'bigger budget'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesleylou81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are really pleased the overall you enjoyed your stay. Just with regards to the waiting time for dessert, we ask every diner if they are ready to move on to dessert or if they would like to relax at the table for a while, maybe finish the wine or just take a brief pause. Some guests prefer to move straight on, others ask for a substantial break. We are sorry if you feel you were left for too long.
With your other niggle, the breakfast, we don't substitute if you ask for something extra you can have it, it was just an oversight in the kitchen, these things can happen and sometimes we notice immediately, other times the guest may have to point it out to us. Also, you can take as long as you wish with breakfast, as we are just a 10 bed hotel we can cater for everyone comfortably within the hour and again, many guests take their time or move through to the lounge with a coffee/tea to read the papers after dining.
And finally, on the topic of rooms, they are all different shapes, sizes and decors, hopefully something to suit everyone and all budgets. The pictures on our website are not modified or adjusted, they are exactly what they are.
Sometimes we wish we weren't an old building and we could build a hotel with rooms that are all massive, but then we would be an anonymous Sheraton or Holiday Inn, not a small, individual, unique country house hotel.
We hope you give us another go, maybe pick one of the Suite's if you like that little extra space.
Thanks again for reviewing.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Cedar Manor to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary and opted for the romantic package.

The package entails a stay in the Wansfell room which is lovely, sumptuous and very beautiful. We also received champagne, handmade chocolates and a gorgeous bunch of flowers.

The room itself is lovely with pretty windows a lovely four poster bed and matching furniture. You get tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge with a jug of fresh milk a Samsung TV, ipod dock radio and DVD player.

The spa bath and HUGE shower head also make for a great experience and complete the luxury feeling you get from this room.

I found Cedar Manor a gorgeous place with lovely friendly personable people.

We dined in at the restaurant as part of our package and found the food some of the best we have had, the waitress' were also lovely and very attentive and the owner Johnathan was walking through making sure that the diners were all happy and taken care of. The pace of the service is unhurried and just right. We had out tea and petite fours in the lounge which was lovely and relaxing.

The bed was lovely and comfortable and after a good nights rest we attended breakfast the next morning. The food at breakfast again was amazing well presented and tasty.

We loved every minute of our stay here and aim to return again in the future.

Thank you Johnathan and Caroline for making our stay so lovely and our 5 year wedding anniversary so memorable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossomsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Anniversary stay at Cedar Manor. The Romantic Package offers bed, breakfast, dinner and Champagne, flowers and chocolates in the room on your arrival - its a special occasion all sorted by us! (we even have a good selection of greetings cards, just in case you forgot to bring one)
We are delighted with your comments and pictures and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are looking at the Cedar Manor and thinking about staying in the coach house suite then deliberate no more.....just book it. It's easily the best place we have ever stayed in. Booked it as an anniversary surprise for my wife and it was worth it just for the look on her face when we were being given the tour of the suite by the (excellent) owner. It's just an awesome place to stay, the food was great and the service very attentive. It poured with rain while we were there and we never left the suite....it really wasn't a problem !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lem69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much, what a brilliant review! We are so pleased that you had a good time in the Coach House Suite and enjoyed your visit. Being a local, you know how the weather is and you are right, it can rain as much as it likes when you are relaxing in the Suite.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a fantastic stay! My partner and I stayed in the Coach House Suite after deciding to treat ourselves to a stay-cation, rather than jet off into the sun.

The whole experience was absolutely excellent; private luxury with all the little things covered - we couldn't help but feel thoroughly "Rock Star"!

The bathroom in the suite deserves a mention: in-room music & telly, three settings for the bath-spa, ambient lighting... I was the cleanest prune in the Lake District!

But what really made the stay were Jonathan and Caroline. Jonathan's previous life as the ops manager behind some of of London's leading clubs made perfect sense; a great host, with a real eye for detail and all together a just fantastic experience and product. They should both be very proud.

The coach house is now our home in the Lake District! Highly recommended - and I didn't even mention the food! (delicious breakfast and dinner served at our own table in the suite!). Perfect Stay.

Room Tip: Go Coach House; because you're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yomi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent "stay-cation" in the Lakes. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your trip to the Lakes and of course the Coach House. (Mr Rock Star!!)
We are delighted that you enjoyed the gadgets that we have in the Coach House, we have tried to think of everything, without getting too silly! We especially enjoy serving dinner and breakfast in the private dining room within the Suite, its a very special part of the experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing