We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food simply out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Only went to have a meal but my god what a meal. Superb staff remembered it was my partners birthday they wished her happy birthday and the table represented the fact as well. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful offered up recommendations on food. Now the food wow simply stunning 5 course meal with tea and coffee the rump lamb and Thai fish cakes wee heaven and my partner highly recommends the duck

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Jbatt660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing Cedar Manor for your partners birthday, we are delighted that you had a great evening and enjoyed the meal. We are just starting preparations to launch our "late summer menu" with lots of new and exciting plates of food. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Caroline and Jonathan are terrific hosts and make their guests feel incredibly welcome. They are extremely helpful which makes any stay at the Cedar Manor extra special. Breakfast is excellent, with more choices than usual in a UK hotel (hooray for pancakes). The location is stunning, and the gardens beautiful. We'll be back

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TravellerMo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We constantly work at making the hotel as comfortable as possible for our guests, and as for the garden - Kate the gardener has been transforming it over the last few years and we are hoping to do some landscaping over the winter to further improve it.
Thanks again for taking the time to review the hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A big thank you to Jonathan, Caroline and Dorothy, with whom I made the initial booking, for their helpfulness and unassuming thoughtfulness during my recent short stay with elderly parents and sister. This is a super hotel with a calm, relaxing atmosphere, comfortable spotlessly clean rooms plus superb dining - just what you need after a day sightseeing!
Great location - I would definitely recommend anyone to say here and I look forward to my next visit.
Jonathan and Caroline for whom nothing is too much trouble, together with their charming, efficient and professional staff make this a very special place to stay and experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WFrankish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted that the trip was a success. We hope it won't be too long before you can make a return visit. Don't forget, we also have a couple of ground-floor rooms which may be a bit easier for your parents. "Bowness" is particularly comfortable with superking bed, and a comfy settee for a nice "cuppa" in the afternoon!
We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Most other reviews on here already have it covered, this place is just fantastic
It is beautifully furnished, the rooms are big and airy, the food is yummy and last but by no means least the hosts are lovely
During our stay it was my partner’s 50th Birthday, we decided to eat at the hotel as neither of us had ever had any experience of fine dining before, we were not disappointed. The food was superb and they even went to the trouble of putting birthday confetti on our table and putting a little candle in his dessert.

On a more practical note it is about 5 minutes walk from Windermere then another 20 minutes or so on foot down to the lake at Bowness (slightly longer coming back as mostly uphill). It is also very near to Windermere railway station, again no more than 5 minutes walk. From there you can get buses to places like Coniston, Grasmere, Ambleside and Keswick at very reasonable prices, look out for the Stagecoach dayrider & combined bus & boat tickets as you can make big savings on some of these.

Also there are a couple of nice little walks, there is a small footpath alongside the hotel, walk along there and through the wooded area and you will come to a very lovely quiet area of the lake. Orrest head is a must, not too strenuous and an awesome view, go in the evening to watch the sunset over the lake, just beautiful.

We had a brilliant time and would recommend Cedar Manor to anyone, we will definately be back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Veronica794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent holiday at Cedar Manor. Really pleased to read all the comments and find that you had a great stay. It was a pleasure to look after you both on the big 50th, really pleased you enjoyed the evening.
We hope to see you back in the Lakes again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were a middle aged couple travelling with elderly parents, in mid July. The rooms were nice, and the location very good and central for visiting various parts of the lake district. The food at this hotel is excellent. Actually, it's better than "excellent". We had numerous breakfasts (very well put together, hearty and a good variety) and two dinners. The dinners were truly delicious, with creative dishes and nice touches. Although the food experience is very important to me, the best thing about this hotel is the hosts/owners, Jonathan and Caroline. They are so warm and helpful - they do everything possible to make your stay the best it can be. They are full of great suggestions, and even put together maps and directions for day trips. You can't go wrong staying at this hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your holiday at Cedar Manor. We had a great time looking after you and sending you out all over the Lakes. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your rooms and meals too. We hope that you will be able to make a return to the Lakes in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

"A Wonderful short break"

My parents, Sister & I stayed at the Cedar Manor for 2 Nights Saturday, & Sunday,a treat for my mother as it was her 83rd birthday on the Sunday 21st. & we wanted to do something special.Like any hotel that you have not been to before, you always have that feeling, is it's going to be as nice as it looks etc. I have to say it was absolutely fabulous. Jonathon & Caroline were fantastic, they made us feel very welcome, nothing was to much trouble,they were simply charming, & very professional, their staff were lovely too. The restaurant is superb,food was delicious, & beautifully presented, well worthy of the 5 stars. The rooms were very tastefully decorated, lovely modern bathroom, superb power shower! Great location for the lakes. We would definatley come & stay again. My mother really enjoyed it too, she said" it was a very relaxing place to be" Thank you Jonathon & Caroline for making our short break so lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia_parkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent family break at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback and pleased that you all felt so relaxed. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Lakes again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is the second time that we've stayed at the Cedar Manor. We don't normally return to holiday venues as it's nice to go somewhere new and it can sometimes be a disappointment when you do. However, we enjoyed our stay so much last time that we thought we’d make an exception and we were certainly not disappointed. The rooms in the hotel are very nicely presented and comfortable. The restaurant is superb and the owners and staff all very friendly and professional. You couldn’t ask for much more; it all added up to a really enjoyable break. We may even return and break our rule again. I’d certainly recommend this as a really good place to stay in the Lakes.

Room Tip: The hotel web site has a very accurate description of each room. I recommend reading it carefully, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent short break at Cedar Manor. We were delighted to welcome you back for your second visit, and even more delighted that you "broke your rule" of not going somewhere twice!
We hope you can break it again soon!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
0.7 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Windermere
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $193 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing