We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful stay in the lake district.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the lake district.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Cedar Manor Hotel for 2 nights in November. Everything was perfect. The room was very spacious. The bathroom was recently renovated which was really nice. We ate dinner one night at the hotel and it couldn't have been any better! The experience was really nice - sat in the bar area for a nice glass of wine and then moved into the small dining area for dinner. It was all very delicious. The hotel is just around the corner from a public footpath that was great for walking to the lake and town. The owners were very attentive and helpful with all of our needs! Hope to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jandn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found your way around the area. Its really a lovely path down to the Lake, everyone should try it!
We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    80
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
83
774
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Cedar Manor in May, the service and hospitality were excellent, as was the breakfast. Dinner was particularly outstanding, expensive but very special. The hotel is well positioned for the town centre. There is a comfortable lounge and bar.

Room Tip: We had the Windermere room, at the front with pleasant outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your break at Cedar Manor and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Everything about this hotel is flawless, from the very personal attention of the charming owners to the exceptional dining experience in the hotel restaurant. All the rooms have been designed for them and they are stunning. The bedroom was gorgeous and comfortable and the power showers real treat. There isnt anything to fault with this hotel and we shall definitely be returning.we have stayed in a lot of very good ones over the years but this one tops them all!

Room Tip: We stayed in a double bedded room because that was the only one available. My personal preference wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor.
All our rooms now have king or superking beds with the exception of Claife Heights, which is a double - a cosy but well appointed room.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Owners Jonathan and Caroline make staying at this intimate, lovely hotel a real treat. Even in busy Windermere Cedar Manor is enough off the street to make you think you are in a rural setting. Had a wonderful dinner and as others have noted the breakfast is plentiful with many delicious options. Very romantic setting. We had hoped for a room overlooking the front lawn, but they were already booked and we were very satisfied with the comforts of the room named Crinkle Crags. We would definitely stay here again if we were to make a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonC561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your feedback and pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, dinner and breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This first visit to Cedar Manor proved to be as wonderful as it's reviews stated. Every aspect from first welcome from Jonathon and Caroline, to the beautiful flowers which they sourced for my wife's birthday proved to be a master-class in Customer Care. Dinner and breakfasts were superb and attention to detail second to none. Caroline's personal touch has gifted every nook and cranny with design and comfort going hand in hand to produce one of the finest boutique hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side elevation may be a little dark when the trees grow through the season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing Cedar Manor for your birthday celebrations. We are very pleased to receive such fabulous feedback, and very happy to hear that you had such a good time at Cedar Manor.
We suggest giving the Windermere Room a go next time, south facing, spacious and very comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We couldn't have scored a better place for our brief stay in the Lake District. I'm not sure how many rooms the Cedar Manor has but it couldn't be too many, which made staying here a bit like staying at your cousin's house, combined with the facilites and privacy of a hotel room, combined with the food of your favourite restaurant. My partner and I found the whole experience wonderful and we came very close to changing our holiday plans to add an extra night here as a result. Jonathan was a very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating host, our room ("The Windermere Room") was beautiful, and don't bother seeking out a restaurant in town for dinner because the food in the hotel restaurant is first class in both taste and presentation. (Breakfast was excellent too).
Hotel location is a personal preference thing so your mileage may vary, but for us it was convenient to get to, and handy for walking both up to the scenic Orrest Head Viewpoint (definitely worth a visit if you've got decent footwear and conditions aren't too slippery) and down a convenient path to a quiet area of the lake.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snarky_Sandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Cedar Manor, we are delighted with your feedback. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Lake District.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here October 2012 and really enjoyed it. Staff were genuinely nice, room was beautiful, location was good, food was high quality but very expensive....breakfast was divine with lots of choice, it is expensive to stay here but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie27may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your half-term visit from last October. We are really pleased that you still have great memories of your stay.
You may be interested to know that during the late Autumn and Winter, we run some really special offers during the week and over weekends. Its worth signing up to our newsletter or finding us on Facebook to keep up to date with our news and offers.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing