We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked this hotel last year on groupin and what a bargain it was. From the minute we checked in we were made feel welcome. The room we had gorgeous, with a jacuzzi bath. We stopped here for 2 nights, the first night the meal was included, but the meal was so exquisite that we booked the 2nd night. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor last year, we are really pleased that you have good memories even a year later. Just to briefly remind you, we ran a Living Social deal last winter but I know that there are many such deal sites with some great offers.
We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future and don't forget, we run special offers directly from our own website too.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    85
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
89
833
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

What can I say, the food was excellent not had meals like this in such a long time. The service we received from the staff was also excellent. The rooms were lovely. Overall I would definately recommend and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrewsl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Cedar Manor and your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and especially the delicious food our kitchen team create.
We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay but feel the need to give some feedback. The hotel is situated a brisk 20 minute walk up the hill from Bowness. It's a lovely looking hotel with plenty of charm, if somewhat slightly old fashioned for our tastes, immaculately clean and well presented.
We stayed in an "executive spa" room (Langdale) as pictured on their nice website. I think they must have taken the picture from the corridor as what you see is what you get, a nice but rather small room. The "spa" is a normal size bath with bubble jets in a rather small en suite, the bath takes up just less than 50% of the room, the shower was a hand held device attached to the bath taps, that's not really what we'd expect from a "spa". (We've stayed in a much bigger room, with a bigger en suite less than a mile away).
Breakfast was great, good quality and lots of it, the bar was pleasant and nicely decorated and the owners polite and friendly.
I suppose we were looking for something a little bit more contemporary and expected a more spacious room with a more luxurious en suite for the price.
Purely our opinion. Don't let this review put you off as we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markonmytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you liked the look of the building and enjoyed the breakfasts.
To comment on the Langdale Room, many guests find it charming and stay in it every time they visit us and yes, its not our biggest room, or most contemporary and it doesn't have the biggest ensuite. As you came to us through a booking agency, the information they provide on their website is nowhere near as comprehensive as what you will find on our own site. All our rooms have different shapes, sizes, decoration and character - that's the beauty of an old building. We prefer to be know as a small country house hotel with a contemporary feel, which you get in our rooms both public and bedrooms. Langdale does have a more traditional feel which is in keeping with its architecture.
If it was a modern room with big ensuite that you were looking for, I think you missed a treat by not booking the Coach House, which has recently won an award for its interior design.
We always encourage guests to research which room is best for their taste and needs, contact us directly to have a chat, we are here to help and ensure you have a memorable stay for all the right reasons.
Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had dinner at the Cedar Manor Hotel last night and just wanted to share our exprience of the food, service and ambiance which were all superb! The South Lakes area is spoiled for choice when it comes to fine dining, but, this has to be top of the list for sheer quality, taste and range. Caroline and Jonathon are the perfect hosts and their chef Roger is an absoulte genius. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a really special experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent evening at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and the atmosphere in the restaurant.
You are absolutely right, we think Roger is a genius too! Every new menu brings new ideas and flavours.
We hope to see you all again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this wonderful place. It was an Anniversary treat and having been told I could choose anywhere in the world this was the place that caught my eye. I'm so glad it did because the stay was perfect from the moment we arrived until we had to unfortunatley leave.

We stayed in the Coach House Suite and it was worth every penny. This place is top end, contemporary mixed with traditional. Comfortable and luxurious, not just clean but sparkling! The bath with the mood lighting was sensational and I could have lived in it quite happily.

Johnathon and Caroline are magnificent hoteliers and appear effortless whilst delivering a first class service to all of their guests. Now considering they must be working from dawn until Midnight and still have a family to care for this is some going. They are extemely welcoming (as was the adorable Elizabeth), efficient and they give everyone an individual service. This is not something you would find in the large hotels - even the best ones.

The food is exquisite, well presented and plentiful. Quite simply some of the tastiest food I've ever eaten.

There are so many places to visit that are on the doorstep of this hotel and Johnathon is knowledgeable and generous in his advice of sights to see.

We will definiltey return here in the not too distant future. Thanks Guys it was tremendous.

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra and go for the Coach House Suite - you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripperChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for such a great review. We are delighted with your feedback and really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Coach House.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline, Jonathan and Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here just for one night - so, all too brief - but we'll definitely be back. From the moment you step through the front door, you are made to feel very welcome. The ambience is that of a luxury (but certainly not stuffy) country house. The attention to detail is amazing. It just feels as though the owners are determined to make everything as comfortable and relaxed as possible. Our room was warm, cosy and had luxurious fittings. The bed was perfect, and we even had an airbath in the bathroom. Little touches make it so lovely - from a little sewing kit to handmade chocolates in your room. Jonathan and Caroline welcome you like friends, and are the ideal hotel hosts. The food (we had dinner and breakfast) was absolutely wonderful. Book it!

Room Tip: As far as we could see, all the rooms are wonderful - but you must have a look at the coach house su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniemac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Langdale room. Its really rewarding to receive such good feedback about the hotel and your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had two wonderful nights at the Cedar Manor! It was not the cheapest option available but for the luxury we get and the price we paid - it was an excellent choice!

The property itself has beautiful surroundings and is situated not too far from the Lake (Windermere). Awesome breakfasts and great dinners are to be had at the restaurant. We requested to have a cheese platter upon arrival and it was great! Perfect after a long drive.

Jonathan & Caroline are great - both running the place with grace and precision. Dinner was a posh (but relaxed) affair with pre-dinner drinks, excellent food with local produce. All were highlights for our trip.

But the thing that will make us remember our time here was Jonathan's awesome off-the-beaten path directions for a quick day tour (by car) around the Lakes. With well planned stops and side roads that only locals will know about - it was a treat! Would have missed all of that if not for his instructions!

The very best place to stay in the area and we hope to be back!

Room Tip: Every room has its own character but for ease of movement (and carrying bags), the ground floor exec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabidcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for such a great review. We are really pleased that we were able to help you with your trip around the Lakes.
We are all pleased that you enjoyed your room and dinners, glad that they became a highlight of your trip.
If you make it back to the Lakes in the future, we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
2.3 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing