We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit to the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ash Vale, Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First visit to the Lakes”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Cedar Manor in October for 3 nights in Wansfell. The room had everything we needed, but it felt a little compact for the time we were there. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on the first evening, the food was excellent, and the restaurant has a nice atmosphere. The breakfast is a great start to the day and I can highly recommend the pancakes, couldnt resist them every morning! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cedar Manor, and will look forward to a return visit on our next trip to the Lakes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollinsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent short break in the Lakes. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the restaurant - the pancakes are indeed very popular.
Please do contact us before you book your next stay to discuss our rooms, they are all different sizes, some smaller and several larger, plus our Suites. Hopefully something for every budget.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    86
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
91
864
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ravenglass
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in Orrest Head Suite for my birthday in August, and it was fabulous, could not fault anything and Caroline and Jonathan were the perfect hosts. This hotel is at the 'top of the game' and the food was excellent especially as my husband and I are both vegetarians and we were really well catered for. If you want to stay somewhere special this is a great spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidRavenglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your Birthday Treat at Cedar Manor. We are all delighted with your feedback and look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

spent the weekend at the Cedar Manor Hotel in the Orrest Head, executive suite their top room which is a two room suite on a B&B with Dinner on both nights. Can not fault any thing about our stay the food was out of this world, breakfast had everything you required ready for a good days walking. Best to pre book if your having dinner as it can get busy the meal isnt rushed in any way home made soups and fresh breads to start.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hreynolds3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your Birthday Weekend at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break in the Suite and dinner in the restaurant. We make everything from pre-dinner nibbles, to the soup, bread and petit fours at the end of the meal. We look forward to welcoming you back for another break in the not too distant future.
Thank you again for such a great review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I came for a mini moon after our wedding in July. We stayed in the gorgeous coach house. We felt like celebrities! We relaxed and chilled out in luxury private surroundings collect our thought after our wedding. Caroline and Jonathan were fantastic so friendly, tentative but also allowing us so have our our home away from home. The food was beautiful as our the surroundings. If we can save enough we will be back for our first anniversary. One word, amazing! we wished it hadn't been a mini-moon as we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Save your pennies and go to the coach house for private super star get away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Cedar Manor for your mini-moon. We are delighted with your feedback and look forward to seeing you again for your 1st Anniversary.
Thank you for making time to review Cedar Manor.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
351 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I spent four (4) super nights at this hotel and we highly recommend it. The owners are a great couple - professional and fun. The room and bath was excellent, as was the incredible breakfasts - different ones each continued to produce great results! Lots of tips and advice about where to go in the nearby Lake District - one can simply walk out of the hotel and down a lane to a wonderful walk over sheep-filled pastures, down to lake Windermere. Lots of history in the area, nice pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Windermere" and recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent holiday at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and the Lake District. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the UK.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have now been visiting the Cedar Manor for six years and in our opinion it just gets better and better! This time we had the pleasure of staying in the very comfortable Coach House Suite for six nights. Caroline and Jonathan have thought of everything in there, great attention to detail and incredibly quiet given how close it is to the main road. The bathroom is fabulous and I loved the shower - might just steal the design for home!! We thoroughly enjoyed having the breakfast faries deliver to the private dining area!

We ate in the restaurant on four of the six evenings and it was excellent. Their AA rosettes are well deserved.

The location is perfect for touring the Lakes and our hosts are extremely knowledgable about the area. Planning our next stay! Look out for some of their 3 for 2 special offers!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleacornHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your latest stay at Cedar Manor, and what brilliant feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Coach House and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a small hotel run by Jonathon and Caroline who go the extra mile to make one's stay enjoyable. The location is a 10 minute walk from Windermere station. The car parking is also good unlike some other hotels in Windermere. The garden dominated by a large cedar tree is quiet. Whilst there are glimpses of the mountains and lakes from the rooms I would describe the outlook as quiet treelined garden. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the ambience in both the dinning room and lounge is comfortable.
The bed,"in Langdale", was the most comfortable I have ever experienced

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldcodger2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent break at Cedar Manor. We are all very pleased with your feedback and delighted to hear you found the bed so comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Keep your eye on our website for some very special offers for the Autumn/Winter season.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing