We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines at Cedar Manor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Valentines at Cedar Manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

It was a fantastic little boutique hotel. The rooms are very cosy but not cramped and the little touches of individuality to each guest really made the trip. The food was superb, i could have eaten a lot more of it though. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Perfect little getaway for couples for a weekend and only a short walk to Ambleside and 10 minutes from the main part of Windermere. We even had roses at breakfast, and i would recommend the pancakes with bacon.

I would highly recommend and return to the Cedar Manor Hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Valentines. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and dinner, we agree the pancakes are a great way to start the day!
We hope to see you again for another romantic break in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    85
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
89
833
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

A beautiful hotel, tastefully decorated and quiet despite its proximity to Windermere. We stayed in 'Crinkle Cragg' and had a wonderful 2 night stay. Jonathan and Caroline were very friendly, welcoming and helpful, ensuring that we enjoyed our break.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for such a great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed Crinkle Crags and your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just returned from a short break at this delightful hotel, the standard of everything associated with this hotel was superb, I have absolutely nothing but praise for all aspects of the hotel, the proprietors went out of their way, without ever imposing on us, to ensure that our stay was memorable for us which it was.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerardfenlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Cedar Manor. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

I was lucky enough to book the Coach House Suite on a Living Social deal as a Christmas pressie for my fella, and even luckier to get the deal over a Friday and Saturday night! The deal was bed & breakfast for two nights with dinner on the first night and a box of handmade chocs. We stayed 3rd & 4th February.

I have to say, this was the best stay in a hotel that I have ever had! The Coach House Suite was stunning - absolutely gorgeous. Over two floors you get an entrance hall and stairs, a huge incredibly comfy bed, giant wardrobes, a seating area, an enormous bathroom (you could fit ten people in the shower cubicle if you were that way inclined!), an amazingly relaxing bath tub with LED light effects, a dining area and kitchenette, a living area, an upstairs shower room and four televisions. Including one in the bathroom. It was immaculate, incredibly clean, very high spec and beautifully finished.

Dinner on the first night was amazing - the lamb is the best I've ever tasted; it just melted in my mouth! We finished off dinner in the bar area where Jonathan knocked up allegedly the best Bloody Mary cocktail my fella has ever tasted. The wine was good too!! We had been offered a discount and a free bottle of wine if we dined in the restaurant on the second night, however we got a bit snowed out of the hotel watching the rugby down in Bowness in Windermere, and went for tapas instead, otherwise I'm sure we would have eaten there again.

And I absolutely LOVED how breakfast was served... we asked for it to be delivered to our room (or rather suite). We set our alarms assuming, as you would, that we would have to get up in the morning and look respectable to let whoever was delivering our breakfast in, and do that awkward come-in-to-my-room-which-is-actually-your-room morning small talk. But no - the breakfast fairies arrived! There is a separate entrance to the dining area upstairs, and as we snoozed downstairs we could hear the quietest of tiptoes upstairs. Our table was set up, and breakfast was delivered on time and was ready and waiting for us for when we ventured upstairs! And it was delicious. We toasted our own bread in the toaster supplied, fresh milk was in the fridge, and there was even a microwave should we have needed to warm anything up. Which we didn't, by the way. It was fantastic.

And there were no hidden charges on our bill when we checked out. We had expected to pay for breakfast to be delivered both days, and for the crisps we ate which were in our room. We were even thinking there may be some corkage charge added; it states in the room information that a corkage charge 'may be added' and we had brought a couple of bottles of bubbly and wine with us. But no, no hidden extras. The crisps came with the room and there was no charge for brekkie to be delivered. Bonus! I'm not sure what the criteria for a corkage charge is, but it didn't affect us so I'm not fussed!

It chucked it down with snow on the Saturday; it was that bad we thought that we might get snowed in. I was gutted we didn't! Caroline had offered us a reduced rate for the Sunday if we had have been which was incredibly kind of her. But shovels were provided and the roads were clear, and after a few minutes of digging we were off on our way home again. Typically I realised I'd left a lead plugged in to the entertainment thingymy under (one of the many) televisions, but it wasn't a problem - one quick call and Jonathan assured me it wouldn't be a problem to send it back, which was a relief!

The whole stay was brilliant. The owners Jonathan and Caroline are very welcoming and friendly, and you can tell how proud they are of what they have achieved with the hotel, and rightly so! I have to say I have never been more depressed at leaving a hotel! I got home and was decidedly unimpressed with my bog standard living room and mediocre bathroom after experiencing the luxury that is Cedar Manor.

Many thanks to Jonathan and Caroline for a truly memorable stay - I really hope we stay again in the not too distant future :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieKate82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you very much for such a brilliant review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed the Coach House, dinner and the odd Bloody Mary or two!
What a winter wonderland we had on the weekend you visited!
We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had a magnificent meal here on valentine’s day and would recommend anyone coming to the lakes to come and eat here or even stop the night its a great place. Richard & Lorraine

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riggy678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Hi Richard and Lorraine
Thank you for dining with us on Valentines night, we are very pleased that you enjoyed dinner and look forward to seeing you soon.
Thanks for the review.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

A beautiful old building with all the comforts. Caroline and Jonathan take a real pride in their business and the comfort of their guests. The Executive Room we had was comfortable, relaxing and cosy. A real home from home. The choice of food in the restaurant was good for so few covers and the quality of the mainly local produce and the cooking could not be faulted. Each plate was a minor work of art. Although the hotel is next to a main road there is little noise and no disturbance, it could not be better located for the major centres of the Lake District.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its location. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We visited Cedar Manor in mid January with friends. The hotel had recently been awarded an International Hotel Interiors Design Award for work undertaken during their refurbishment and this was one of the factors that attracted us. We did not get to see the Coach House, which looks amazing,but our Executive room was also part of the award submission and was really well done. Good use was made of space and lots of attention to detail. Fixtures and fittings were top quality and included hand made furniture, locally made. Housekeeping is meticulous, the place is spotless.
We dined in the restaurant and the meal was very good, offering a good choice of dishes and many locally sourced items. The desserts in particular were excellent. A lemon tart, so often disappointing in many restaurants was superb. The wine list offered good value with some interesting selections. The Restaurant team were very professional and friendly. Breakfast was equally good, offering a wide choice that included poached haddock, eggs Benedict and pancakes in addition to a traditional English cooked breakfast.
Overall, our stay was outstanding and the whole experience memorable. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The owners, Caroline and Jonathan are very 'hands on' and clearly committed to making sure Cedar Manor is a top boutique hotels.
We got a very good value mid week break. It is difficult to see how anyone could judge Cedar Manor anything less than very good.

Room Tip: Book early and go for the Coach House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whinlatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay and lemon tart - we love it too!
We hope to see you all again very soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
2.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.0 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
2.3 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Hotel and Restaurant Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#1 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Windermere
#6 Business Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cedar Manor Hotel & Restaurant is located on the outskirts of Windermere in the heart of the Lake District. Built in 1854 as a private country house retreat, the hotel now provides luxurious accommodation and a fantastic restaurant featuring the best local produce, with a seasonally changing menu. An ideal base for those wishing to relax and enjoy the breathtaking scenery, wonderful walks and wealth of leisure facilities Windermere and the Lake District National Park have to offer. Set in mature walled gardens dominated by the ancient cedar tree, the hotel feels peaceful and secluded, yet is just a short stroll away from the shores of Lake Windermere and the centre of Windermere village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Manor Hotel And Restaurant Windermere, Lake District
Cedar Manor Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing