We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! Perfect cottage. Highly recommended”

Review of The Undercroft

Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room Dining and sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Stunning Gothic Arched Window in sitting room
main sitting room
Dining and sitting area
twin room
king size bedroom with en suite
internal view across from kitchen
view from outside
enclosed garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Perfect cottage. Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 24, 2018 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I took my girlfriend here for a surprise birthday treat not long after we met, so I wanted somewhere with the WOW factor. The Undercroft certainly has the wow factor! It was even better than I hoped it would be. Lovely setting with safe parking right outside was a bonus. Secure yard for our 2 small dogs, with slate/gravel ground,so no muddy paws to contend with was another bonus. It was lovely to sit out here having morning coffee listening to the birds and church bells. Absolutely loved the layout throughout the Undercroft (bedrooms and bathrooms on the ground floor with full open plan lounge/kitchen/dining room upstairs) We couldn't fault a thing. Spotlessly clean, nice and warm, and plenty of hot water. We didn't want to venture out, and definately didn't want to leave, it really is one of those type of places to stay that you will often talk about and always remember. We will be returning again for sure. Thank you so much Alison.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2018
Thank you for your feedback it is much appreciated. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will think of us again next time you need a 'get away'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattF5796...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beware of hidden charges”
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
15
people found this review helpful

When we booked our stay at this 'cottage' for our much needed break we could not believe our luck thinking we found a 'hidden gem'. The great reviews of this converted old boys school promised lots of character, bright space in a great location with shops and some restaurants within 5-10 minute walk and only a 10 minute walk to the lake. All of this only at just over £100 per night in a high season. Seemed too good to be true. And you know what they say about that...

Now the reality: when we asked prior to booking if the cemetery was nearby we were told by the owner "it wasn't that close at all". We were unpleasantly surprised to find the graves just on the other side if our tiny garden's fence. Not exactly the view we travelled to the lakes for! If that wasn't enough we were greeted by a bucket full of poo bags filled with dogs excrements by the back door that previous guests left behind and the cleaners clearly didn't feel like removing these was part of their job.

The light cream carpets throughout the house were heavily stained with what it looked like many many dogs accidents. Bathrooms were not cleaned to a good standard. There were many cheap toilet air fresheners scattered around the house to give impression of 'cleanliness' but really only just made you feel sick. The fact that you can only open 2 tiny windows to get some air in the property didn't help.

Although the cottage had fully equipped kitchen, we found the lack of toilet paper, tissues and towels rather strange and inconvenient.

No WIFI in a holiday let is a true rarity these days but I guess the SKY channels make up for not being able to have internet access for some. Not good if you need to do some work while away.

All the negs aside we truly just wanted to enjoy the break anyway, however our stay was interrupted by the owner who decided to 'pop by' without letting us know first. Just knocked on the door and demanded access "to put some supplies in the locked cupboards". Apparently this couldn't wait until we checked out. Thank goodness we were not 'indecent' at the time! Still, it left horrible feeling which we tried hard to shake off for the rest of our stay. We couldn't help but wonder if the owner would have let herself in even if we weren't around...

We found the 4pm check in inconvenient, but the 10am check out was much harder. Despite of this and the need for sleep before our 5 hour journey back home we made every effort to leave the place tidy and clean. We travelled with dogs ourselves so made sure to get rid of any poo bags despite of not being given this benefit ourselves. We made sure to take any rubbish out and washed any dishes. The kitchen was left spotless and everything was tidy, even put the bleach down the toilets and hoovered. Most people probably would leave the job to the cleaners who are paid for this job. And rightly so.

Less than 2 days after our check out we received an FYI email from the owner claiming that we left lot of mess in the place and there was dog hair on the bathroom floor and on the furniture an for this she decided to charge us further £150 which she charged to our card without asking for a consent first! Words cannot describe the anger we feel when we have made the effort to actually leave the place tidy and clean and had we known this would be the case we'd spend the time getting much needed sleep instead!

It's shocking that one can just charge what they see fit and without asking for consent first. Having one's card details does not entitle one to take what they want when they want it. Absolutely unacceptable!

Also if you allow dogs in your property than surely you must be aware they shed and some hair is bound to be found. Perhaps we weren't the only people who fell victims to these hidden charges. I wonder how much people were charged when they poor dogs had accidents on the carpets although judging by how heavily stained they are all over the house, the money could not have gone towards the steam clean of these. Perhaps the owner is saving up for the much needed wooden floor?

All in all really disappointed and would not recommend this 'cottage' to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2017
I could respond to each and every comment separately, but I think it would look petty and the author of this review knows that he is not posting truthful information.
All I can say is the property is so bad he phone on the final day to attempt to extend his stay! Not bad for somewhere he would not recommend.
In over 10 years of letting properties I have charged guests a total of 3 times for issues relating to damage and lack of care. These guests left us with the need to excessively clean the whole property including dry clean bedding, dispose of pillows and cushions, throws etc as they allowed pets in to beds and onto furniture, hence a small charge for extended cleaning etc.
I would ask prospective guests to read our other reviews before being misled by this guest. Whilst we never purport to being truly perfect we try very hard and have many very happy returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would highly recommend. Great spacious clean comfortable accommodation in Windermere.. Ideal for 2 couples or family. Plenty of parking space.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgallach2...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Could be stunning”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Could be a Stunning property, property needs some TLC, very disappointed by the stained carpets, the dirty ovens and the dust on top of top of the radiators. That said the property is in a good location for exploring the Lake District .

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Thank you for the feedback. There certainly should not be dirty oven or dust...we will certainly take action to rectify this. As far as stained carpets is concerned I think there are one or two marks where previous gets have spilt drinks etc , which are unfortunate but inevitable due to general wear and tear. The carpets are cleaned regularly, so these will be addressed too in due course. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend”
Reviewed May 26, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely accommodation, realy great location easy walk into Windermere and Bowness. Loved the weekend break and undercroft made it a little more special, welcome basket great touch thanks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning property , will definately be back”
Reviewed April 27, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful property in a good location. 5 minute walk into Windermere . Home away from home . Nice touch with the little welcome pack. Would definately recommend staying here and we will be back . Thanks for a lovely stay Alison .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. Much appreciated and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loolie67
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful four day break with the family and dog. This apartment was spotless, roomy and close to everything, we were provided with sky TV which, having two sons, was an asset. Would definitely stay again.. Every need provided for, thanks Alison,,
The stackhouse family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
Thank you for our feedback. Your comments are very much appreciated, we are delighted that you enjoyed our stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing