We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
$189
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Windermere Suites(Windermere)
$277
$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
$132
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$371
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
399
176
65
35
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
399
176
65
35
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjohn toveyarts craftsafternoon teaamuse bouchea lake view roommolton brown toiletriessmall balconytravelzoo dealwine listvenisonlake districtoverlooking windermerepetit foursturn down servicedinner bed and breakfaststunning viewsevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 694 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here midweek to do some walking and enjoy some good food. Both objectives met. Anywhere in the Lakes is good for walking but you do really need to take a car as it is not easy to walk directly from the hotel. However, it is otherwise nicely situated away from the main centres of Windermere and Bowness with great views across the lake. For some reason I was expecting a rather pretentious place but it was really just a very nice hotel with good food. The communal areas were comfortable with a mix of traditional and modern parts. We had our own area in the dining room and were well looked after by the staff. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and all served at the table - no having to help yourself. We had afternoon tea - not the full version, but scones one day and ginger cakes the next - both very good. The food in the evening was very good rather than outstanding but the little amuse-bouches soups were great. We had the Rosthwaite room which was very comfortable and had a view across the lake and over to the Langdales. I notice someone had problems with the heating - in coldest January we turned the radiator off but were still hot during the night - not sure where the heat was coming from but perhaps a thinner duvet and the odd sheet or blanket might be an idea. We enjoyed our stay and would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeridianManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our walking group of 17 stayed for two nights in January. Everything was right - friendly and helpful staff, day rooms with open fires, wonderful views of Windermere, bedrooms and of course the food. We all enjoyed the hospitality of Miller Howe and hope to return.

Room Tip: Troutbeck & Windermere are the bestrooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

last stayed here 4 yrs ago, returned this weekend and it is still excellent and the downstairs areas have had some very nice improvements. we stayed in the windermere suite, an excellent room with fantastic facilities, gorgeous biscuits and unlike other hotels provide enough tea, coffee etc for more than the usual one cup each and a great lake view. all the staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is of a very high standard. I cannot fault this hotel and look forward to a return here very soon. well done to all at the miller howe.

Room Tip: lake view a must
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dartist161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Miller Howe from 12th to 13th January 2014. We got a brilliant deal off Travelzoo which was £159 for 3 course dinner for 2 and full breakfast, and the room for 1 night.

We were put in the Troutbeck room, which was pretty special, massive and overlooking the lake. The staff initially on check in seemed slightly snooty/chilly, but I think they're just very efficient. It would have been nicer to have a warmer, more personal service generally I think. I have to say (as a male couple) it was a little disconcerting on check in to be asked "is it just the one room?" (despite the booking for just the one room) by the man checking us in, but that oversight was soon forgotten about.

No complaints about the room at all; lovely bathroom, powerful shower, Molton Brown goodies, delicious cookies for with tea, amazingly comfortable bed, everything worked perfectly.

The dinner was superb; we had appetisers in the lounge area first with drinks, then we were seated in the modern dining room. The duck main was I had was probably the best duck I've ever had. Scallops were great too. Top pick dessert would have to be "yoghurt", vanilla with ginger parkin and baked figs - amazing. Service was excellent from the two young girls waiting on - special mention needs to go to them. They served us at breakfast also and they were lovely throughout. Friendly and charming, and happy to recommend menu choices. I hope this gets back to them both!

We'd both return to stay at Miller Howe again, but I don't think we'd be paying full whack. With a deal it's brilliant value, but if you fancy a treat then it is worth the money also.

Room Tip: Troutbeck was great, right overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLuxeTravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at the Miller Howe from 23rd Dec to 27th December over Christmas. Had a lovely Lake view room, very comfortable bed, and lovely food.
Staff are excellent, the Restaurant staff can't do enough for you, very nice and attentive. Chef and his brigade serve lovely food well cooked and presented. Although Chef needs to give a little more thought to Christmas Day Lunch !! Nigels Quiz on Christmas Night was fun, and the whole experience was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews