We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sovereign's choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A sovereign's choice”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have stayed before and always been lucky to have a room with a view of the lake and a little balcony to enjoy the stunning panorama with a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the mountains .the gardens are pretty and the rabbits like them too .Come here for peace a very large bed and bath in room Windermere and dinner ,, food fantastic and staff that give the best of service .Nothing is too much trouble and the wonderful manager is so proud to tell us all we wanted to hear about our amazing Queens visit with her daughter Anne.This hotel gives you luxury and comfort and its got such a lovely friendly atmosphere that you just can't wait to return.Di&St Wigan

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with Lake views lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    155
    51
    33
    19
See reviews for
60
390
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Don't mis this lovely country house hotel: comfy armchairs, great beds, blazing fires and a top class chef. What's not to like! We enjoyed a night of luxury in October and the wet weather didn't seem to matter at all. Our room had breathtaking views over Lake Windermere with a tiny balcony for use in better weather. No wonder Her Majesty came for lunch here in the summer! We were on a deal which made it very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heysham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed. Everything about this hotel is good. Lovely friendly staff always on hand to help. We had a superior room with balcony. Very comfortable. Our evening dinner was perfect. The chef has been at this hotel since 2007 and gives us fine dining at its best!
At breakfast there is also plenty of choice, from fruit salad to full english and lots in between. A perfect stay once again. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the 6 superior rooms have balcony or terrace looking over Lake Windermere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniec1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Quaint hotel with great view of Windermere lake . Our room had a splendid view and even a balcony from which we could sit and enjoy the sunset over lake . The room itself was basic , bathroom had a tub in which you shower- not convenient! Breakfast options include more than just your traditional british breakfast, and quality is very good. Dining room , lounge and living room all face the lake. Hotel is well located between Windermere town centre and roads to grass mere, orrest head , amble side . Parking is more than adequate.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivanesan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My partner and i have just returned from a nights stay at the Miller Howe Hotel in Windermere.On arrival the staff are attentive and show you to your room themselves which was a lovely touch.The room was nicely appointed and really cosy.We had a small balcony which had a great view of the lake and surrounding hills. Like the Molton Brown soaps and shampoo's, gave it a luxury touch.
We didnt have our evening meal at the hotel as we were attending a wedding later on, but if the breakfast is a bench mark then i will garantee it will be excellent.The breakfast menu had a great range of choice and iam sure if you asked for something that wasnt there they would gladly make it for you.This was our first visit to the Miller Howe and definately will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: rooms with the lake view are definately recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Coast
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We dined at Miller Howe after an absence of several years. Put very simply - it was as good as ever, albeit rather quiet, but on a midweek evening out of season, that was not surprising. The lounge was comfortable, and drinks appeared quickly. The staff were charming, and the menu presented major problems because everything was so tempting. The amuse bouche was just that, and the wine list presented ample choice at all price levels - including the truly exotic. The Sancerre and Fleurie we chose were sensibly priced and did not disappoint. I chose scallops followed by lamb and neither could be faulted either in presentation or flavour. However, with the meal priced at £45 for three courses, I was a little surprised to see a £4 supplement for the scallops. Yes, I know they are expensive, and the serving was generous, but still....
Service was efficient and unobtrusive - just as it should be.
Still a great restaurant - perfect for the special occasion, and my three guests were of the same mind.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristoJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel was booked by my friend through Travelzoo.
It was an amazing deal.
Staff excellent and receptive, great room overlooking the lake. Beautiful and stunning view from our room.
The food, both breakfast and dinner (included) were fantastic.
I would definitely book this hotel again, and wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FitforaKing365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,370 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
1,020 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Howe Hotel And Restaurant
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing