We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for 1night this week in a superior room "Ullswater". The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows had seen better days. There was no shower, only a hand held shower over the bath. The whole hotel was far too hot and we had to turn all the heating of in the room and open the patio door to try and cool the room. It was unbearable in the sittings rooms down stairs.

On a positive note the food and service was excellent but I would not stay again due to the uncomfortable bedroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martincpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    153
    51
    32
    19
See reviews for
60
385
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our meal at the Miller Howe was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. The staff were very welcoming to us and the service could not be faulted. We relaxed in a cosy nook by a roaring fire with our drinks while we ordered our dinner. The food was stunning, beautifully presented, wonderful flavour combinations, we loved it. The wine list is very comprehensive and staff were able to recommend a great wines to accompany our meal. We will be back in the summer when we can enjoy the views over Lake Windermere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Lake Windermere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marajotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I took my husband here for a two night weekend break with KGB deals. The hotel is lovely and has obviously been recently refurbished (the skip was in the carpark!)
Its a really lovely old building decorated in keeping with the era it was built with breathtaking views over the lake.
Staff were efficient and friendly from housekeeping to bar and restaurant and in particular the Liverpudlian waitress was very warm and friendly.
The whole place was spotless and the bed was huge and sooo comfortable. If i had one complaint about the room it was that the jacuzzi bath though a nice touch really needed to be able to fit two ;)
As always hotel drinks are expensive and although evening meal was lovely it was, I felt overpriced upto £18 for a starter! Personally i think i would be more inclined to eat in a hotel restaurant if the meal was less than what id pay in a restaurant nearby.
On the whole though a really enjoyable stay and id definately recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: They do charge more for a garden view room. Ours was at the end of building and still had a nice bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrspjontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful veiws of windermere in beautiful surroundings. The missus and i only stayed one night but very much enjoyed our short stay, full english breakfast was very well cooked and presented only dissapointed we didnt get chance to sample a evening meal, maybe next time were in the lakes

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Generally poor. Elements of the food were fine, some were poor. The staff we encountered could barely speak English and were quite rude. Then they added £30 to the bill for no reason. We had to contest it before they realised their mistake and corrected it. All in all an unrewarding experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EDED084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed four nights last week after enjoying our stay a few years ago. Worried that it might not be quite as good as we remembered, but no worries it was equally indulgent! Weather helped, we got some wonderful autumn sunshine and the comfort of the hotel, the food and the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff,(big thank you to Nigel and the chef for our off menu steak!), made for a most marvellous relaxing treat.

Ian and Louise

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianandlouiseatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel and its location are excellent , also the staff and food, but unfortunately we were given one of the side rooms located over the kitchens and laundry. As the weather was bad we thought we would relax and read in our room. The continual motor noise from the washing machines / dryers was awful. We rang down each evening about 9pm and they were switched off, but started again at 8am so no chance of a lay in. We were staying at the hotel on an offer so naturally didn't expect their best room, but this has put us off retuning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisB537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miller Howe Hotel And Restaurant
Miller Howe Hotel & Restaurant Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing