We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best wedding ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best wedding ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

We had our wedding at the hotel in June 2010. We could not fault the service. The staff were ultra efficient, organised and friendly which meant that we didn't have to worry about anything at all on our special day. Everything was just done as we wanted and sometimes even without us having to tell them!

The hotel is charming and beautiful and the gardens lovely but the views of the lake are amazing. We will have some spectacular shots I am sure when our photographs are ready. Many of the rooms in the hotel have lake views and each room has it's own charm and characteristics. The Lake House rooms are gorgeous, but our favourite is the Boat House which we stayed in for our wedding night which is over the water.

All our guests complimented on how great the food was and was impressed that they could choose their own menu choice rather than just one set wedding breakfast menu like they do in most venues. Sticky toffee pudding was delicious!

Although we might be biased, it is the best wedding at the best venue we have ever been to!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappystarWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    181
    65
    36
    23
See reviews for
260
489
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

We had our wedding at the Langdale Chase in June 2010 and from the first moment we visited the hotel the staff were fantastic!! Andrew, Claire, Amy and Faye have all been first class in helping us create our perfect wedding!!
Words cannot describe how much everyone enjoyed the day and night at the hotel.
Everthing from the service to the setting of the hotel is truly amazing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireMrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

We got married at the Langdale Chase Hotel on the 29th May in a ceremony shared by our family and close friends in the beautiful baronial hall.In the months before we had visited several hotels/country houses in Windermere searching for the ultimate wedding venue but none of them compared to our first impressions when we saw this one with its stunning location right on the lakes edge.Following a look around this impressive hotel with its extensive grounds needless to say we were hooked! One of the most important factors for us was to have a lovely backdrop for our wedding photos and i dont believe you will find anywhere better in the area for this thanks to the beautiful gardens and superb lake views,there is even a jetty at the lake edge and a quaint love seat perfect for those important photos.However if it does decide to rain on the day(which it did on ours!!) there is plenty of opportunity for beautiful shots inside too.The hotel feels wonderfully old and has a very relaxed cosy feel to it.There is a separate building called the lake house which is where we stayed which is more modern and we were extremely happy with our room,it was a good size with a fantastic bathroom and an unbeatable view.However one of the best things about Langdale Chase is the staff in particular Amy and Andrew who we met several times in the run up to the wedding.They are so friendly and made us feel so welcome each time.They are clearly very experienced in running weddings with doing so many but we felt they genuinely cared about our big day and treat it with the individual importance it deserved.Andrew was in charge on the day of our wedding and he really helped put us at ease while making sure everything ran like clockwork while Amy in particular did an absolutely fantastic job decorating the oak room for our meal it was EXACTLY how we imagined it would look.The staff certainly made sure we had the perfect day we wanted,nothing was too much trouble for them and they were on hand at all times without being obtrusive.With regards to the food it was delicious and neither us or any of our guests could fault it at all,in fact all our guests absolutely loved everything about the day and were very impressed.To summarise if you are looking for a wedding venue in the lake district look no more pick this gem, you will not be dissapointed.
Thank you all for giving us our perfect wedding day

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustWed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

This review is my personal one and I will be honest about our wedding event stay.

The hotel was the location for my sons wedding reception and stay over the Friday 18th, Sat 19th & Sun 20th June 2010.

For anyone that knows of Langdale you will know that its got a great reputation for location, elegance and quality of food, accomodation & service. I wouldnt deny any of this and the few "niggles" or recomendations really can be seen below.

We hired the whole hotel from Friday thro to Sunday 12 noon so the wedding party had a complete run of it. The location is unbeatable right on the Lake, the grounds are superb, the interior of the hotel are all Oak panels, staircases and smell of history. It cant be beaten.

Only the restuarant has a/c and with the rooms getting lots of sun they can get very hot, some fans may be available if you ask or just draw the curtains.

The rooms are all different types and sizes, some four posters, some with large balconies overlooking the lake or the grounds. Most are decorated in that traditional oldie world country English style, with creaking floors and dark wood furniture, completely in keeping with this type of building. All are en-suite with various formats of bathrooms, most with showers but some only with hand-held showers. Jacussi's, corner-baths and standard baths are all wonderful. The beds are very comfy and there's TV (Freeview not Sat) in all rooms plus tea/coffee facilities. In all everything you could wish for and if you stay ask for rooms that overlook the lake in the main building, youll not regret the views. They do have a newer block of about 6 or 8 rooms, which again are superb but slightly more modern / boutique types, all very nice but a walk back to the main building through the grounds, no problems though.

The main building has many smaller rooms used for just sitting and a great piano room, plus the main balconed hall was superb for dancing & disco.

The restuarant, set up for our wedding seats about 80 and was again, 1st class. The service, food and ambiance superb.

The bar area, outdoor seating and other areas all match up to Langdales reputation...just watch out for the midges / horseflys in summer whilst sitting drinking outside....they bite and I recommend using a spray.....with hindsight!!

So, you can see that I really cant fault Langdale at all....... yes, we did have a few "niggles" which we will take up with the hotel directly, more recommendations that anything else.

The staff are a mixture of English & non English, all speak English well and do their jobs well. The management have been there a long time and know what they are doing. They are happy to effect whatever you want and will advise if they feel it appropriate. Again, I will make recommendations to them about a couple of things, but certainly we had no major problems with any of them.

If I was to mark Langdale out of 100 it would certainly get 97.

If you want this type of hotel, in a great (unbeatable, I think) location then book today...........not cheap and only offically 3 stars I think, but worth it.

I'm happy to answer emails if anyone needs questions answering.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikNak82
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Just a quick message to Faye, Clare and all the team at Langdale Chase....

We can't really even begin to put into words how fantastically, amazing our day was.

From the first day we walked into the hotel 18 months before the big day, throughout all the planning and especially for the 2 days that our guests joined us in the Lake District, the service, help and advise offered was second to none.

The team far exceeded our every expectation in envisaging our ideas and turning them into reality, with exceptional coordination leaving us to enjoy our time at Langdale completely carefree in the run up to the nuptuals.

Guests were astounded and delighted at such a unique venue, and well coordinated day, words such as "magical", "beautiful", "picturesque" and "perfect" have been flying around for months, and we're still made up to see family and friends light up whenever they look back on our wedding.

So thank you all for giving us the most perfect day, it was everything we imagined, plus a whole lot more!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikNak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

Andrew Amy and all the staff at the Hotel are fantastic and really offer a huge kindness and love in their hospitality. I got married in the hotel and it was an absolute dream come true. Every little detail was catered for and all the staff went out of their way to make the day special. nothing was too much trouble. The food was fantastic. I would adbolutely recommend Langdale Chase Hotel as a wedding venue, the hotel is magnificent, the area and views are stunning and the staff are now life long friends.
Thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We recently celebrated our wedding day at the Langdale Chase hotel along with 68 close family and friends, i really do not know where to start with the comments about the hotel and the service we received not only on the day but also during the 12 months of planning leading up to the event. My Husband and I tied the knot on Sunday 7th March, the weather could not have been any more perfect if a little bit cold, this allowed us to make the most of the stunning scenary outside for our photographs. In the event of the weather being wet there are certainly lots of options for photographs in doors especially in the Baronial hall where there is a stunning stained glass window with the beautiful oak staircase, this is also a stunning entrance for any bride to make to the Civil service. I would like to say a big thank you to each and every member of staff that helped make our day perfect, they were on hand for anything however big or small although we did feel that they were not intrusive to us or our guests which certainly makes you feel relaxed. The food was amazing and any changes we requested were accomodated, we chose a Lemon Meringue for dessert which was not within the Wedding breakfast choice although the hotel were more than happy to allow us to make the change. My Husband and I visited this hotel on numerous occasions leading up to the wedding and can honestly say that we feel at home each time, may be this is because of the personal touch you receive from the staff. If you are reading this review and considering booking Langdale Chase for your wedding i would not hesitate at the opportunity,not only did our guests enjoy the scenary and the ambiance but has a bride i felt that the planning and the wedding day ran smoothly due to the experiance of the staff which are like a little family.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoxStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing