We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wedding we could ask for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best wedding we could ask for!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We got married here on 9th August 2014. We knew we wanted to have our reception at Langdale Chase from the get go as it is in such a beautiful spot. The views are unparalleled. The building itself is beautiful and full of character inside. The staff were wonderful and our day flew by without a hitch. The food was served seamlessly and the room looked gorgeous. Our photographs look stunning with the lake and mountains serving as the perfect back drop. All our guests were amazed at how smoothly the day ran and by how lovely the hotel was. It was honestly the perfect location for our wedding and I couldn't fault it in any way.

Room Tip: Room 20 is beautiful. Make sure you have a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamestownson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review following your Wedding with us last weekend. I am so pleased to read it was everything you imagined, and please be sure to come back and celebrate your Anniversary with us.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    182
    67
    39
    23
See reviews for
266
494
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I grew up in the lake district and used to love visiting the Langdale Chase as a child, always believing it to be a beautiful and quite exclusive hotel. Having recently become engaged, the Langdale Chase was my first choice wedding venue and myself and my fiance were looking to book out the hotel for our wedding so our guests could stay for the weekend and enjoy the hotel also. My fiance was keen for us to book the hotel having only seen the outside (which is beautiful) but fortunately we decided to stay a night there on a last minute trip to the lakes. We were informed we were staying in 'the hotel's best room' (room 20) which is apparently used as the honeymoon suite.

The hotel itself is set in an amazing location with gorgeous grounds and is a beautiful building (except for the hideous PVC windows - how a grade 2 listed building got planning permission for these I don't know) Given the positives, the hotel has the potential to be a world class 5 star hotel but unfortunately falls far short of being the 'luxury retreat' it advertises. From the check-in to the breakfast the hotel fell well below our expectations and hopes and we left extremely disappointed.

My fiance checked us in and said it was 'the worst hotel check-in' he's ever experienced. The lady didn't tell us where the room was, offer to show us or help with luggage at all.
There is no denying the baronial hall is lovely but once you've headed up the stairs to the rooms this is where the hotel's grandeur ends. The corridors are shabby with dated decor, peeling wallpaper and faded pictures of london street scenes rather than of the beautiful Lake District! The 'best room in the hotel' does have fantastic views and a lovely stained glass ceiling but again is very dated and in a poor state of repair with damp patches on the walls, frayed furniture, and a ceiling in the alcove which is falling down. The room also had twin beds pushed together (with a deep crack in the middle) rather than a double bed. For a room that's apparently used as a honeymoon suite I couldn't quite believe this! Don't expect any nice luxury toiletries either - all you'll find is some bottles of half used pink 'hand, hair and body wash'. If I'd seen this room for the first time after marrying I would have cried. Had the hotel been cheap then fair enough but for over £200 a night I would have expected much better. If room 20 is the best room in the hotel I dread to think what the others are like.

I discussed my disappointment with reception and asked for another room but the only one left was a twin room so we stayed put. The receptionist's explanation of the damp patches etc was that 'we had a bad winter' and suggested that as the room was very popular and usually booked there had been no opportunity to maintain it. Perhaps then they should just not book the room until it's properly maintained! She also suggested that pushing twin beds together rather than using a double bed is standard practice in hotels across the country. Well I've never experienced this before and certainly wouldn't expect it in a honeymoon suite!
Nothing else was offered to make up for the disappointing room other than a 'sorry'
Service on the whole was very poor - most of the staff seemed nice but there isn't anywhere near enough of them. When out on the terrace for drinks there is no service there and you have to keep trecking to the bar to order drinks. We saw people staying there for their wedding having to return their own empty glasses to the bar! A bar meal was ok but we had to wait an hour for it to turn up!
There is practically no Wifi either so be warned - the only place it worked I think was the lounge and that was very slow.

Yes, the grounds and view are undeniably lovely but most of the hotel is dated, shabby and neglected in terms of investment. I understand some parts have recently been refurbished but a lot of this looks quite cheap. You can see cost saving measures throughout the whole hotel and for the price of a room here there are far better hotels around locally. It's a shame that the same level of attention given to the grounds isn't given to the hotel. This hotel is missing a trick as it really could be amazing.

For anyone considering a stay I would say - go and have drinks on the terrace, see the view, watch the sunset, but then spend the night in another hotel where the management care about the quality of the rooms, hotel and the service you receive.

We left extremely disappointed and cancelled our appointment with the wedding coordinator. My dream of the Langdale Chase being the perfect wedding venue was unfortunately just that, a dream.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MBW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review, I have taken your comments on board, and I feel that the comments are a little unfair. Firstly with regards to your check in, the lady who checked you in has been nominated for several different customer service awards, and on trip advisor alone receives great praise from many guests. As a matter of course we offer help with luggage and always explain the location of the bedrooms, due to the nature of the building, all of the rooms are located in various areas throughout the hotel.

All bedrooms, corridors and guest areas are always under constant refurbishment, whilst I agree about the ceiling in room 20 has had a little damage done to it we are in the process of repairing it. Room 20 was only refurbished last year, also getting a new carpet and new wardrobe, bedside cabinets and new UPVC windows. Whilst, yes the beds are zip and link beds, this is common practice throughout hotels in the world so that a room can be utilised as both a twin and a double, but the quality of beds we use does not show that they are zipped together. We are only a 3 star hotel, and we provide adequate toiletries for guests, and again as most hotels throughout the world are now starting to use, larger bottles rather than individual ones, as this does our bit to help reduce our carbon footprint, but the quality is still exactly the same.

Your comments regarding the service we provide, I feel to be hurtful, we employ 35 staff, in a 29 bedroomed hotel, this is way above any ratios currently set in hotels in a staff to guest ratio. Upon your initial enquiry when you said you would book a wedding if we discounted your room, you said that you were grateful that the receptionist had gone out of her way to speak to the manager to arrange the best possible rate, and that you were also happy she had organised a late check out. After checking in our assistant manager spent a long time talking with your fiancé about our refurbishment plans although you have stated the receptionist only said sorry, which is not the case. On departure you also commented how nice the staff had been throughout your stay, which is something which has been contradicted in your review.

I feel personally that this hotel is not for you, and I feel judging by your comments you were expecting a typical corporate hotel, offering typical corporate furnishings, and you want your wedding in a typical corporate hotel, which is something we are not and never will be.

With regards to the service for drinks on the terrace, as per nearly all outside dining areas in the country, is self service, and in this vicinity no hotel offers table service outside.

As nearly all of the reviews on this website state, we offer a great and most probably fabulous service, along with great and most probably fabulous bedrooms, but I appreciate that the hotel is not to everyone's taste, but they are entitled to their own opinions, where as the high majority of the reviews on here agree with how the management care about the quality of the rooms, hotel and service we give.

Finally, you will also read on here, that we have provided hundreds of Wedding parties that perfect dream, and I am sorry that you have not allowed us to give you the perfect dream wedding.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

A beautiful setting for an amazing wedding. Rooms were large and spacious to allow groups to get ready together. Food was good and views just stunning. The grounds are lovely and staff helpful. Would recommend a stay in this hotel due to its location. Main hotel a little dated but boathouse and new wing lovely. Enjoy x
June 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateandfemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review following your Wedding with us. We look forward to you hopefully spending your anniversary with us one year.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowness
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Monday 28th July 2014.
What a beautiful day in lots of ways. Spent the day with our little boys and then snuck away to this wonderful hotel for a bit of quiet.
Amazing views, great staff.
Private dining room, bubbles and fantastic food.
Perfect x
Thank you to you all xxx

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinny999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your 7th Wedding Anniversary and I am so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. I remember your wedding like it was yesterday, and we look forward to celebrating more anniversaries with you.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Langdale a number of times and fell in love with this beautiful old building with the finest views in the Lake District. It was an easy choice when it came to a Wedding venue and we were not disappointed. Andrew and his team are unobtrusive but highly efficient. The food is always of a very high standard and the atmosphere in this family run hotel is just perfect to make you feel so special.
Special mention to young Matthew who just helped to make our day even more memorable.
A big thank you to everyone from
Neville and Janice

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 580604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your wedding at the hotel. I will pass on your kind words to the whole team here, especially Matthew who is a credit to the hotel.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful relaxing break at the Langdale Chase a few days ago when the weather was absolutely fantastic. We brought our small dog with us so booked a dog friendly room in the Lake House. The room had french doors onto a small terrace which overlooked the beautiful gardens and Lake Windermere. Our little dog thought it was great to be able to get straight out of the room onto the patio.

We have stayed here a couple of times before but have never been so lucky with the weather.

Andrew and all his staff made us all very welcome and we really enjoyed our stay and hope to be back again soon.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a bit extra for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review following your recent stay at the hotel, and I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We held our wedding and reception at Langdale Chase in February this year and our mum fell in love with the hotel, grounds and location so when it came to arranging her 80th birthday we decided to take her there for the weekend in July.

The family, seven of us, met up for lunch in the conservatory followed by us showing mum her room (No. 26) with amazing views of the lake, which she absolutely loved.

Our evening meal was held in the private dining room, the food was excellent and our French waiter Gabriel made our evening even more special, he was so helpful and charming and we were treated like royalty – especially mum.

We all had a superb time, nothing was too much trouble and mum has never stopped talking about it since.

Our thanks to Andrew, Ben and all the staff for once again making our stay so memorable.
Trevor & Jill

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, and I am so pleased that you all enjoyed the birthday weekend. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing