We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have just returned from yet another wonderful stay at the Langdale Chase. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and had a great time. We have never stayed in the main house, as yet, as my husband loves the lake views from the rooms in the Lake House, 88 is now his favourite. The food was as good as ever and the weather was kind to us this time. Looking forward to our next stay - can't come soon enough

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review following your Birthday stay with us, I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us in the Lakehouse and we look forward to seeing you at the hotel in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    181
    65
    36
    23
See reviews for
260
489
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed at the THE LANGDALE CHASE hotel for my birthday over the last weekend, this being the fourth time we have stayed there, yet again we where not disappointed, a excellent hotel, and in room 88 a view not to be beaten anywhere, as ever all the staff where always polite and helpful, food very good, rooms nice and clean and hopefully we will visit again later in the year.

Room Tip: Most rooms in the newly renovated boat house are large with excellent views of the lake. we have sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David63wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your most recent stay at the hotel. As ever it was a pleasure to have you and your wife at the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

we decided to hold our wedding ceremony at the langdale as previously stayed here overnight and decided nthis was our place to marry . the hotel has such beautiful interior design and the grounds are perfect for the wedding photos, We arrived on the monday and married on the tue 22nd april 2014 and left to go on honeymoon on the wed. The staff were dedicated freindly and very proffesional throughout our stay and as the bride i had nothing to plan or worry about, the food was delightful and my mother has a food allergy which generally causes lots of problems for family meals but not the langdale chefs they ensured all food was appropiate and nothing was too much trouble to alter menus. The rooms are yes pricey but have to seriously disgree with some reviews given as we have stayed all over england in manor houses and the prices have all been the same range but not as in good condition as the langdale chase. we were made to feel special for the full tree days stay and were very sad to leave ,Reading some rather rude reviews we never experienced any negative care and the breakfast was a never ending supply to our table and was unlimited maybe this was due to the nature of the wedding service , but we all enjoyed every aspect .thank you immensely to all the stafff involved even to the magic person lighting the log fires for us in the evening and the candle fairies lighting all the romantic candles. WE shall definatly be returning with our family and certainly on our own for our anniversary , My advice pay the extra and DONT compare or stay in a travel lodge as this hotel portrays class.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms 1,2 7.9 and 20 as the bridal suite , 1,2 can double up as large family room which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review, following your recent stay with us. Your kind words mean so much to us all here at the hotel, and I am so pleased that we made your day so magical. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Called in with mum for lunch. The only thing it has going for it is the view. For a hotel of this stature, the service, quality of food, and facilities were below what I would expect. Won't be calling back.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank DebsT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your visit to the hotel, and I am sorry to learn that you will not return, I only wish that you had spoken to a member of management whilst in the hotel to express your disappointment, and we could have rectified your problems,

I feel slating the service and food a little harsh, especially considering the positive feedback we always receive and have on Trip Advisor, and I am a little bemused in stating that the facilities were poor!

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Cost us £180/night, but believe me your better of at travel lodge! What a joke!

1. Charged us £10/night for the use of a cheap cot
2. Wine was served warm. Ran out of gin/vodka seriously?
3. Shower didn't work
4. Be warned if you want breakfast they ran out of continental food before 8am, 2 days running. Complained to management, their solution was to go down earlier!?!

There are far better places to stay around here. Please don't waste your money

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for your review, firstly if such a bad experience was had at the hotel, why has it taken you 6 months to actually review the hotel. Our breakfast service does not start until 8am, so by saying we have ran out of items before 8am, is simply not true. I must say I am just a little bit suspicious about this review.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 550 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I called in on a glorious hot day in April.

We chose to sit on the terrace in the sun, looking over the lake to the distant hills still dusted with snow. There can be few better views.

Afternoon tea for two, delicious, sandwiches, cakes, their special recipe scones with cream and jam, tea and champagne- a memorable experience.

Cheaper and because of the surroundings better than other places, but far superior. Afternoon tea for two with champagne £40- a really special treat, beautifully enhanced by the weather.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review following your visit to the hotel for afternoon tea on the terrace. Langdale Chase afternnon tea is always a special occasion and made even more special by the sunshine and the great views from our terrace.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon,

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

For years my husband and I have been visiting Langdale Chase for a walk around the beautiful gardens and taking in the spectacular scenery. When my husband finally popped the question, we couldn't wait to go and enquire about having our wedding there.

It was winter when we first went inside, outside it was cold and very rainy. The interior is very traditional with oak panelled walls and it was lovely and cozy with the log fires burning. The venue was just what we were looking for, a nice and relaxed atmosphere, surrounded by the most stunning views (even when it is lashing down with rain!) We were greeted by a very smiley and friendly Clare Noblett, who was more than happy to show us around. She informed us that they are very flexible when it comes to weddings - whatever we wanted, we could have basically, and for a reasonable price too.

Andrew, the General Manager was one of our wedding co-ordinators. He was a star and a really big help, nothing was ever too much trouble. Each time we visited the hotel in the run up to the wedding, he made sure he sat down with us and had a chat, even if he was always rushed off his feet.

We got married on Sunday 13th April at this wonderful venue, exchanging our vows at the top of the stairs in the Baronial Hall. The hotel looked beautiful and the food was gorgeous. For our wedding breakfast we gave our guests a choice of 3 starters, mains and desserts. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food and the service was excellent.

We "took over" the hotel for 24 hours, allowing many of our guests to stay over (after a great disco in the Baronial Hall.) On the morning of the wedding me and my Bridesmaids got ready in Room 20 which is very spacious with a separate sitting room and a beautiful stained glass ceiling. All rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished and have a lot of character.

Thank you to Andrew, Ben and the rest of the team who made our special day so perfect. There is nowhere else in the world we would have rather been married, and we could not fault anything at all. You are a credit to the hotel and we look forward to seeing you all again when we return for our first anniversary!

Mr & Mrs Mitchell :)

Room Tip: Room 20 is enormous with a beautiful stained glass ceiling. The Lake House is quite new and an annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Mr and Mrs Mitchell,

I am so pleased that you had such a memorable wedding day, and that the whole team looked after you. I will pas on all of your kind words to the whole team here and we all look forwards to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Property: Langdale Chase Hotel
Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing