We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel many times up until two years ago. We had a dog then and he loved this environment . Beautiful gardens, walks and views second to none. The Hotel when you arrive projects class. The balcony as you walk into the Hotel and to your room is beautiful and a bit like a Downton Abbey Set in a Film. The rooms are a pleasure to be in, and as I say the views of the Lakes from your window are first class. The place make you relax and wind down. Maintenance in the rooms are first class and well looked after during your stay. The Dining Room overlooks a Grand Panoramic Garden and Lake Windermere and hills. The Staff all over the Hotel give excellent service and the Breakfast, Dinner and Tea Menu are unbeatable. If you want or need to treat yourself have a break here! I wish I could afford it now but when you retire you have to go easy!!

Room Tip: Lake view over Windermere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review and your kind words regarding your recent stay. All of the team here at the hotel work extremely hard to ensure all guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 4th and 5th for our son's wedding. Our room in the lake house was huge and very nice indeed. Check in was painless and we were soon enjoying the facility. For a wedding this place is perfect (it might be different on a wet February day, after all it is the Lake district). The staff have everything down to a tee, rooms were set up and furniture moved around as if by invisible porters. The wedding ceremony took place in the hall where there was seating for guests. The room was cleared within minutes of the ceremony ending as we trooped out into the lovely grounds for photos. If our weekend was an example of the professionalism and organisation of the Langdale staff then there is no possible cause for complaint. Bar and restaurant staff were quick and efficient at all times. Foodwise everything was delicious, especially the sausages at breakfast. Bar prices are in keeping with other establishments like this but the room rates are good value considering the location and ambience. It would be difficult to improve on the Langdale Chase as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay for your Son's wedding last weekend. I am so pleased to read that all the team here at the hotel looked after you so well and next time you are in the area please be sure to call in and say hello.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

An absolutely wonderful experience to stay at this classic English Hotel.Views of Lake Windermere and the beautiful hotel gardens made our four day stay a memorable event.The hotel staff were very attentive and friendly and dining was a highlight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boatie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and your lovely words following your recent stay. Hopefully one day we will be welcoming you back to the hotel.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked the whole hotel for our daughters wedding from 2nd-4th August. All of our 100+ guests were made to feel welcomed and special by not only Andrew but all of the hotel's professional staff members.
The food was outstanding, the service impeccable and nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and most had fantastic views of the well kept grounds and the lake.
The hotel became our home for the weekend! Amazing!
Some of our guests intend to book the hotel for their own wedding's in the future.
We will definately be coming back, without the 100 guests!

Kevin & Tracey Hoyland

Room Tip: Lake House Rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H0yser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am so pleased we made the weekend and special as you had imagined. I will be pass on your extremely favourable comments to all the team members and hopefully soon we will welcome you back to the hotel for many more special occasions.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just had a fabulous lunch at the Langdale Chase. Windermere.
The fish of the day was Turbot. It was so tasty and what a large portion.No skimping there.
The views were fantastic, the service was friendly and professional and we shall certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us here at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Room 82 The Lake House. Upon arrival wow ab fab location and room size. We had a very nice time staying here the staff are most helpful and the setting is to die for however a few issues make it not quite a 4 star in our eyes.
The breakfast is very nice and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. However the windows in the dining room are very dirty and cob webs hang above you as you eat. The cleaning staff are not so good in the rooms either with dirty windows, dusty wonky table lamp shades either side of the bed. On two occasions out of tree I had to ask for milk pots and biscuits as they were forgotten about and an extra loo roll would not go a miss as we ran out twice and given that the Lake House is away from the main building it is not so easy to pop to reception for more. The loo seat needs throwing away and replacing asap as it has seen better days and the TV is wonky which a previous customer from 2012 has commented on trip advisor and nothing has been done about it. Ii these small things were corrected and more attention to detail was given across the whole of Langdale Chase it would make this hotel perfect and the rating would be a 5 star in our opinion. It is sad to see the house does not match the perfection of the gardens and grounds and that the owner is relaying on the views and locations when he could in fact make this hotel outstanding if some cash was spent and a decent cleaning team installed as a matter of urgency.
I would still like to thank the staff for making us very welcome and our stay very pleasurable and think the feedback we are giving here will only help The Langdale Chase going forward and wish the staff and the owner all the success in the future
Denise and Stephen Bell

Room Tip: Room 82 The Lake House - views out of this world and nice large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisies99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay with us. First and foremost I would just like to clarify that we are not a 4 star hotel, we are only a star hotel. With regards to the windows in the restaurant, they are cleaned on a regular basis, however we have experienced some very bad weather recently, and the huge panoramic windows which offer great views onto Windermere are sadly subject to the West prevailing wind and after a couple of bad storms sadly left the windows a little dirty, which I can add that we have rectified this problem now.

Our housekeepers are meticulous in all aspects of their work and we constantly receive praise regarding their work and effort. The TV, as stated and as you have said was noted in 2012 and nothing has been done about it, is on a tilt and turn bracket so the guest can have it however they feel most comfortable. We are not relying on our views and all rooms are subject to annual refurbishment and we are constantly putting money into the hotel to ensure that all areas of the hotel, bedrooms and public areas are kept up to a very high standard which we set ourselves, and feel deeply saddened to think that we need to replace our housekeeping team, all of which have been with us for over 5 years and in my opinion and along with the majority of reviews on this site also agree do a sterling job.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I attended a friends wedding at the Langdale Chase in September. We were very impressed by the food and service we received - I'd forgotten my cufflinks and the girl on reception quickly provided a par - but the thing that sets this place apart is its setting on the lakeside. The view up Windermere is stunning, and the grounds of the hotel add to grand impression.

The room we had, sadly without a view of the lake, was functional but a little tired. As is common in older hotel there were only two plug sockets, which was a bit of a pain.

The wedding went perfectly and included just about the grandest dancefloor I have ever seen!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view - more expensive but its what sets this hotel apart. A view of the carpark was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rundle1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your friends wedding and I am so pleased that we could accommodate you with regards to the cufflinks. I am in agreement with you that the dancefloor is grandest ever seen.
Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,787 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $109 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing