We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, fantastic views, great food, service not acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just had a wonderful meal, however the service was unacceptable. First because we wished to sit outside on the patio and had booked dinner the server was anything but understanding and really quite rude. We had about 4 different servers, asked for water with our meal which took over 1/2 hour to get, soup did not arrive at all, asked for one Baileys liquor, brought us two and initially did not know what this was. Never came to inquire how our meal was or I we'd like anything else, didn't bring the bill we had to go up and find a server to pay. This is not acceptable in this type of restaurant and very disappointing. We made the best of it as it was a beautiful night and the food was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BlueRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, we have a wonderful outside seating area at the hotel which is used constantly especially during the run of good weather we are having at present. We constantly receive great praise regarding the high calibre members of staff we have and the great service we offer and the other reviews on this website prove this. As for the bill not being brought to you, with outside seating as in the vast majority of establishments should you wish to order or indeed pay your bill this is placed at the bar, for the simple reason that you are not to feel rushed by the staff just placing a bill on your table when you are not ready for it and you can pay and leave when you are ready not when we are ready. I am pleased to read though that you have enjoyed your meal.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had afternoon tea this afternoon sunday 14 july,, service very good, receptionists very good and the food very good, stunning views across the lake and although it was 26 degrees there was a nice breeze,(we ate outside) and the building has plenty of character, well worth another visit although prices are on the high side

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellclimber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. All of our prices are priced extremely competitively and well below our lesser competitors.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great views and old character hotel, grounds excellent. Staff nice yet receptionists were by far the best. When you pay this price you expect everything to be at a certain level. But sausages were raw, totally under cooked, beans were in pot and I had 7 beans the rest sauce again not hard to get right. Had to ask 3 times for toast I had finished mine and my wifes was cold as she waited for toast. But apart from breki it was good and never said as I dont exoect to pay this price and get this breakfasr service. I reguarly stay at rothay garden hotel now that is excellent all round.

Room Tip: Excellent views with beautifel gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ravsy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, and the staff which we have are of exceptionally high calibre and have been with us for a considerable length of time. With regards to your breakfast we have recently been awarded a breakfast award from Visit England, we do serve the beans in a pot as it allows a guest to either pour it over the breakfast or keep it separate which a lot of guests do prefer to do. Apologies for the wait in your toast, but I am pleased to read that all in all your stay was good, however to mention other hotels that you have stayed in is slightly unfair.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had lunch at the Langdale Chase several times before choosing it as the venue for a family party weekend to celebrate our Golden Wedding. Thirty family and friends gathered for our special occasion. During a cruise on the lake from their private jetty the staff served sparkling wine and canapes. The evening dinner was enjoyed by everyone and no effort was too great to satisfy the baby and two toddlers.
We have been around the world and traveled widely but never found a more pleasant welcome or more courteous service.
The rooms were considered delightful by all in the party and the views from them confirmed the 'Best Views in Britain ' award was well deserved. The antique furniture and original carved woodwork, along with the friendly attitude of the staff, help create the atmosphere of being a 'private country house guest' in this amazing building.
A garden walk along the lake front topped off a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely kind review and I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your special Anniversary treat at the hotel and you were well looked after by all of the team at the hotel. Please be sure to call in very soon to say hello and you will be sure to receive a warm welcome.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Revisiting the Hotel where we had our honeymoon some 40 odd years ago was not a disappointment. The location is stunning and the hotel is great. You feel like a guest in a country house. The grounds are beautiful and we were so lucky with 2 perfect days, with sunsets to die for. The breakfast was excellent and the staff only too willing to cook anything to your liking. The evening meals were also 5 star. We look forward to our next visit, which we hope will be sooner than the last!

Room Tip: Superior rooms with views over the Lake, or our preferenceis the Boathouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBuckels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words regarding the hotel. we are set in a truly magnificent location with staff to match and we all look forward to your return very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have been invited to a wedding being held here August 2013 so decided to have a trip out for the day and check it out. We have been to the Lakes many many times and often have lunch or tea at their hotels but we didn't even know this gem of a hotel existed. As you drive through the gates you cannot help but be amazed at the splendour of the hotel and the breath-taking views of the lake. We were in awe of the views as we sat outside having lunch on a glorious sunny day. There was a wedding taking place and it was wonderful to be able to sit on the terrace and watch the proceedings. We all agreed what a beautiful wedding venue the hotel made. The wedding on the day didn't interfere at all with the staff ensuring you got the best of attention. The whole place is so peaceful and quiet even though everyone is going about their business. This hotel seems to be managed by someone who knows their job and pays attention to detail as the staff - although quite young - appear to be well trained, very friendly and polite. We plan to return next month to take some photographs as the lakeside scenery, the well maintained grounds and the interior of the hotel being so beautifully furnished that one is spoilt for choice. A photographer's dream. All in all we had a wonderful experience and can't wait for the wedding next year when we will staying for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your kind words regarding not only the hidden gem of a hotel but also the staff who are an asset to the hotel, but also your kind words regarding the immaculately well kept grounds. the whole team work hard to ensure all guests have a memorable visit, and we will be sure to look after you all very well when you return for the wedding next year.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here following a wedding at the hotel. The hotel is set in a superb location, and the room had a balcony overlooking the lake. The extensive ground were immaculately kept. The room was spacious, with comfortable bedding. The interior of the hotel, whilst a little worn in places, was warm and welcoming, and the food tasty & plentiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for you recent review and I am pleased to read the nice comments regarding your recent stay for a friends wedding. Hopefully we will see you back at the hotel one day.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $157 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing