We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2012/13”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langdale Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Beautiful location, welcoming and helpful staff. Food very good and gala meals well planned.

Lovely old building with the usual limitations attendant upon being listed. Huge room that would benefit from a table for the tea tray - this was on a window sill and had to be moved to access it at night. Some larger drawer space would have been nice, eespecially for longer stays.

Watching the cleaning team in action was like watching the A team - efficient, organised and courteous.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay with us for New Year and especially your kind words regarding the Housekeeping team who are meticulous in all aspects of their work. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to the hotel very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have visited Langdale Chase on numerous occasions as wedding guests, but this was our first overnight stay at the hotel. First impressions were excellent! The staff on reception were lovely, very helpful and the complimentary wifi was a definite bonus. The hotel itself is a lovely blend of very very old and new(ish) the main hall is breathtakingly beautiful and the piano lounge with its roaring fire is where we spent most of the afternoon - enjoying a lovely bottle of wine and a delicious cheeseboard.

Having nibbled on cheese during the afternoon we decided against a meal in the restarant and just opted for a bar mean - which was presented beautiful and tasted lovely.

The hotel was very quiet, with an abundance of staff who managed to give the right level of attentiveness without being overbearing!

Our room was upgraded as it was our anniversary (very nice touch) and we ended up staying in room number 1, which I believe is the best room in the hotel. It was HUGE!! Beautiful features, stunning views of the lake, spacious bathroom and a separate living room area. The weather during our stay was diabolical and we had terrible storms during the night, but the central heating was efficient and the extra heaters were appreciated.

Breakfast was lovely the following morning, and the lady on reception during check out was also lovely - all the staff had been told it was our anniversary and made a point of congratulating us, which was a wonderful touch.

I cannot wait to go back and stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for Room Number 1 if its available - overlooking the lake - breathtaking views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntoniaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you ever so much for you lovely kind words regarding your recent stay with us, , I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the fabulous room number 1, one of my many favourites throughout the hotel and was delighted to read that the staff were so efficient and looked after you so well. We are really looking forward to your return very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Langdale Chase Hotel is an ornate building nestled in a superb spot adjacent to Lake Windermere. The position alongside Lake Windermere I am sure should make the hotel highly desirable, the numbers however during our recent visit might indicate an underlying problem. It may also of course been due to the fact that it was a wintery night in January! This wonderful ornate building is very tired. Our visit comprised of one night with dinner and breakfast for a total cost (exclusive of drinks) of £250. Our room selection was 'super deluxe', and for this we were offered a large room encompassing a very roomy bathroom and a little seating area with a TV, with excellent views of the lake. The bed was very comfortable, but I am afraid to say that the bed 'backs' were stained and very unsightly. Sadly, in addition, our superb view was furnished with a window which didn't shut properly, leaving a gaping hole for the elements to enter at their desire! The radiator was positioned underneath this window, and as such the room was not as warm as it could have been. There were also many areas demonstrating what appeared to be 'building maintenance issues'. On a more positive note, dinner was VERY good. The courses were served promptly and in a very pleasant manner; the choices were fairly limited but good, and the wine list appeared to suit most tastes (and most pockets). I am also pleased to say that all of the hotel staff were consistently pleasant throughout our stay. Would I recommend this place? For drinks and/or dining - certainly yes (please can you look at the wobbly seats in the main dining room though)! Have a wander around too - there are some quite stunning features to enjoy. Not for an overnight stay again for us though I'm afraid (if our room experience reflects other bedrooms). I think a few pound notes could be spent in one or two areas. None-the-less, on the whole we enjoyed our break. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rach075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your review, and I have to say that I disagree with your comments about having an underlying problem, we maintain all of our rooms to a very high standard, 3 of which have just completely been refurbished with a further 3 more for the next couple of weeks. We have also just had the worst snow to hit the area for more than 10 years along with temperatures barely rising above freezing during the day and obviously this has a detrimental effect on all bookings and certainly puts people off visiting Cumbria, especially when the media keep on telling you not to travel unless it is absolutely necessary. These are the reasons why the whole area is struggling at present. Whilst many hotels lay off all the staff during the quieter months, we keep on our 3o+ members of staff to enable us to keep up to date with all of the maintenance issues around the hotel.

I am sorry to read that you would not stay with us again, but our prices are very competitive and in some cases cheaper than out lesser competitors.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A very nice weekend break, albeit we couldn't get there for the first night due to sever snow!
Most reviews are about the location and the hotel itself, which are excellent.
However, what made it for us was the staff - we've stayed at many different hotels and eaten in some fantastic restaurants, however I don't think we have ever been anywhere where the staff have been SO helpful and nice. Absolutely fantastic!
We will definitely be returning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wizzoo_adw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent stay and I must I was delighted to read your comments regarding the staff and how well they looked after you. All of the team here look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We found Langdale after a long weekend of driving around the Lakes looking for the perfect wedding location. My now husband is from Keswick so him and his family know the area well, and we wanted a wedding which reflected the Lakes. Langdale was the only hotel that managed to combine the perfect lake-side setting with stunning views, a private get away for us and our guests and a truly special building for our ceremony.

We chose to book the hotel exclusively as several of the hotels we'd visited had weddings on while we were looking around and we didn't like the idea of members of the public wandering around our wedding on our special day. We didn't have the biggest wedding budget, but fortunately Langdale's manageable size sleeping around 50 guests made the perfect exclusive wedding experience without breaking the bank!

The food was amazing and the staff were incredible. Unfortunately we picked the wettest weekend recorded in the country last year and had arranged a BBQ, however the chefs were happy to brave the elements and unphased held the BBQ on the veranda, passing the food in through the window. We had organised rowing boats to be moored on Langdale's private jetty, which ended up being cancelled as the jetty was underwater. Still our wedding co-ordinator Andrew and his staff had thought of a solution for everything before it had happened, clearly a result of their extensive experience organising weddings. What could have been a disaster turned out to be a resounding success, our guests all had a wonderful time and everyone enjoyed their stay and the beautiful surroundings.

Thank you Langdale Chase for helping us make the happiest day of our life come true!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

I am so pleased to read your recent review following your wedding with us and was delighted to read that you had such a fabulous Wedding day. To read that myself and my team have made your day so special makes all of our hard work seem worthwhile and please do not forget to come back and celebrate your Anniversary with us.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Been several times now, however, each time I go I seem to have the same feeling for The Langdale Chase which is sitting like a Regal Swan on the shores of Lake Winderemere. The rooms are beautiful up stairs and down stairs. Always service with big smiles. Breakfast and evening meals more than excellent. Dog friendly too, ample walks and views to exhaust any dog and their owner or couple, or over seas visitors too.
One very big treat at The Langdale Chase are their "Afternoon Teas" they also provide gluten free sandwiches, cakes, sweets for your guests, family and friends, they was no probelm for them to provide afternoon tea (ordered on Friday at 11am for 3pm service the same afternoon for 10 people including "2 x gluten free" presented attentively through out) Every member of our family enjoyed their yummy teas in front of a blazing log fire in the piano room. What a lovely memory until the next time. Well worth a visit whilst visiting the Lakes, you are very welcome for a good look around with out any pressure. Enjoy a drink at the bar or coffee or both and a sandwich or bar snack Just enjoy the experience an swap the coffee shops for the Langdale Chase Experience.

Room Tip: All rooms with a wonderful view especially their executive suites The lodge adjacent to the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

What a great review and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. Our afternoon tea, is something which our Chef’s are especially proud of in which we offer a round of fresh sandwiches followed by a great selection of fresh cakes and scones. The team here at the Langdale Chase are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Two of our friends had stayed at this hotel and recommended it to us. We’d see the TV programme featuring it, so decided to put ourselves on the emailing list (Sign up on their Special Offers web page). An offer turned up in September which was for three nights for the price of two with two night’s dinners included, so we booked the first week in October. The weather was wonderful for the four days we were there and we started off with lunch on the patio.

The room we were given had the unusual feature of the washbowl being outside the en-suite bathroom. I think this was so they could maximise the views over Lake Windermere through the windows on two sides. As long as the washbowl isn’t in the corridor I don’t mind, but for my wife this was a showstopper. The staff were very accommodating and took my wife on a tour of other available rooms in the hotel. Inevitably, the room she liked best was an upgrade, but with truly spectacular views. The extra charge was very reasonable so we took up the offer. All our clothes and bags were re-located without any bother to ourselves.

The staff (from all four corners of the UK) were all very courteous and helpful throughout our stay and the food was good. I had buffet breakfasts of cereal, fresh fruit and toast and my wife had cooked breakfasts which were served at the table. Some of the furniture looked a little worn, but generally the hotel is well looked after.

The hotel is just off the main Windermere to Ambleside road so the traffic is audible at the back of the hotel during the day. Our room faced the front, so it wasn’t a problem.

We had a ‘plumbing malfunction’ in out bathroom on the third day. While maintenance were sorting it out, the door to the next suite (fortunately unoccupied) was opened so we could use its bathroom. (I think it’s when something goes wrong you see how good an organisation is, and this hotel performed in a textbook manner).

Room Tip: You must specify a room with a lake view otherwise you'll have missed the best thing about this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobinLLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewTighe, General Manager at Langdale Chase Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your recent review and I am pleased that the staff looked after you so royally on your recent visit. The 3 for 2 offer which we have in place off season is a really fabulous offer and is well worth taking us up on. Please be sure to keep checking on the special offers and come back and visit us soon.

Andrew Tighe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Chase Hotel

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $157 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langdale Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langdale Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langdale Chase
Langdale Chase Hotel Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing