We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and harmony”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Birthwaite Cottage

Birthwaite Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birthwaite Cottage
Front of the cottage View of front from halfway up the driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Birthwaite Cottage
Front of the cottage
View of front from halfway up the driveway
Entrance to cottage
The dining area
Light and slate in the dining area
View of the lounge from the dining area
The lounge area
The lounge leading upstairs
The kitchen
The Bedroom
The Bedroom
Wardrobes in Bedroom
Bedroom / Stairs
Bathroom
View from bedroom towards Lake
View from the front of the cottage
View of the cottage from the terrace
The terrace
View from the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Madhumati
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and harmony”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We picked a bad few days weather wise, for a recuperative break as it rained non-stop, however one of the highlights of our visit was staying at Birthwaite Cottage. It was a pleasant 20 minute walk from the railway station, and we found the dreaded driveway, as mentioned in other reviews, was no problem at all. Thanks to other reviews we had remembered to bring a torch but found that one had already been kindly provided, along with an umbrella, by the owners. The first thing that captured our attention on entering the cottage was the beautiful wooden staircase and floor, immaculately polished and clean, as was the whole cottage throughout. The kitchen was perfect and the bathroom was spacious and attractive with a large shower cubicle and power shower. After a day's walking, the quietness, the woodland, the harmony and cleanliness of the cottage created the relaxing, restful break that we needed.

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pidge51
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Birthwaite Cottage was exactly as it looked in all the photos. Getting to it was easy and key collection was just as per instructions. The booking process etc all went extremely smoothly and easily (even via internet from Australia!). The cottage is attached to a larger cottage which obviously has occupants, but we really only saw someone once and didn't feel we or they were intruding on each other. The cottage is situated on a very quiet street so it is wonderfully quiet and peaceful. It is very well equipped and very well presented. It is quite a way from Windermere - we walked it a couple of times but it does take a while even at the fast pace we have, so we also drove in and parked a few times, especially at night. The weather was very dull, rainy and cold for our stay, but the heating works a treat and we were totally warm and comfy in our little haven. There is sooo much to do in this area that it boggles the mind and we managed about 5% of it! There are some stunning walks to be done and info is readily available from the tourist centre in Windermere. The only downer with the cottage is that there was no wifi - a necessity for us on our trip being so far from home and wanting to keep in touch.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: That it was exactly as it appeared.
Liked least: No wifi.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archibald...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every penny.”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Beautifully clean, very comfortable and a lovely experience. The owner of the property a perfect gentleman. Had a 3 day stay with my sister and enjoyed every minute. Windermere village within walking distance, beautiful Bowness on Windermere a few minutes car ride. A visit to Hayes Garden Centre at Ambleside is a must. Try the carvery at the Crown on Bowness front with as much icecream as you can eat.
All in all, an excellent break. For the price, Birthwaite Cottage cannot be beaten. A thank you to the owners daughter for the standard the cottage is kept.

Yvonne and Valerie.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and the cleanliness.
Liked least: Can't think of any.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev V
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“secluded retreet”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The driveway was steep but manageable, our first impression was wow. We had been e-mailed all the details for gaining entrance and once in we were not disappointed. It was spotless and inviting everything you needed. The heating was too warm till we turned it down but we were never cold. we had a private garden and it was quiet on our first night we were sat on the bench outside and a baby deer came up the drive magical! It is easy walking to windermere lake and town. My only moan was there was no remote for the t.v and I would of preferred a bath but the shower was powerfull. would definatly stay again

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: secluded
Liked least: no bath
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arshavi S
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazinggg”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Its a lovely lovely cottage situated in a very quite environment. Near to town center still away from crowd.. Very nice clean and cozy place to stay in. Kitchen was well equipped with everything. Board games and books are placed as well. Owner is helpful with everything as well and not to forget very beautiful terrace and garden in front.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: no wifi :(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven026
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“spotless, cozy home from home.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We wanted somewhere to get away from it all and this fitted the bill. there was everything you needed ,and it was spotless.If you are out late you need a good ,torch, as there is no lighting along the road .Ladies no heels, you will never make it on the drive . Love to stay again .

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sn00py82
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage - perfect for 2.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We decided to go to the Lake District last minute as had holiday to use up & i found Birthwaite Cottage on here and saw that it had good reviews. We weren't disapointed. We stayed at Birthwaite Cottage for 5 nights and had such a lovely few days. The cottage is very roomy and comfortable and in a great location, very quiet and tranquil.

I would definately recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking for a cosy break with your other half. Its only a short walk to Windermere where there are plenty of places to eat and also a mile or so walk to bowness. I would recommend you bring a torch for the walk as the road is pitch black at night!

The Lakes in Autumn is beautiful, we will definately try and make it back next year and hopefully stay at this cottage again.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: no wi-fi and a little spooky in the dark on walk home!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing