We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in the area”
Review of The Hideaway Restaurant - CLOSED

The Hideaway Restaurant
Price range: $45 - $70
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Modern British Food & Elegant Service in a Contemporary Victorian House. Please note the Restaurant is only open for Dinner on Friday & Saturday 13th/14th & 20th/21st February 2015.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the area”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Had a fantastic meal here at the end of a stay in Winderemere. Service was spot on: polite, friendly and very professional. The furniture and decoration within the house has a contemporary feel to it, but lots of original features have been retained (loved the floor in the hallway as you walk in). And the food, outstanding. The duck dish was probably the highlight, but everything we ordered was wonderful, from the beautifully prepared mackerel to the locally sourced cheeses. Nice to see a good, accessible wine list too, with a number of mid-priced options.

This is by far the best restaurant we've been to in a while and having tried a few other recommended places in and around Winderemere (including Hooked and the Drunken Duck), The Hideaway definitely comes out on top.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    11
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fine dining at a surprisingly moderate cost.”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Having visited many highly rated restaurants - L'Enclume, Cartmel; Martin Wishart's, Edinburgh; The Angel at Hetton among them; we were amazed to find food of a similar quality at this boutique hotel for what is a much lower cost.
The staff were friendly but not intrusive, and the atmosphere relaxed.
Can only think the low pricing is owing to the fact that the hotel is relatively new and rather 'tucked away'. Worth finding now before it achieves the recognition it deserves and the prices go up!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boysunltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay - couldn't fault it.”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We had a one night stay here in May 2011 for my husbands 40th Birthday. The weather was awful but it didn't matter as this hotel was just perfect so we weren't bothered about venturing out anyway! It was beautifully decorated and furnished to a very high standard, extremely clean, excellent staff who made you feel relaxed and in good hands. We also booked a table in the evening at the restaurant which I highly recommend. The food was great - hats off to the chef! In the restaurant we also got a pre starter and a pre dessert, which was a complete surprise to us but an excellent finishing touch! It's a shame we only booked one night. We will definitly return again.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank 186411Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from The Hideaway lovely rooms professional staff clean food very good. What sets The Hideaway apart than many B&Bs is the little extra touches such as newspapers outside you room every morning the afternoon tea and the fact it has a lounge, will return. a special mention for the waiter who was just excellent in all ways a credit to The Hideaway.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrpegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Having lived in Windermere for 14 years, we have only just visited The Hideaway for dinner. We have friends who have visited previously, and this is one of their favourite local restaurants. We accompanied them last night for a double anniversary and birthday celebration, and the experience certainly lived up to our high expectations.
The hotel is in a lovely quiet, tucked away spot and quite easy to miss, if you don't know it's there. All the staff are friendly and welcoming. It's not a big restaurant - probably no more than 30 covers and so it has an intimate, cosy feel.
The food was delectable. The appetiser was a cauliflower and sweet raisin soup, with home made bread rolls, the size of dough balls. Exquisite!. The two girls had a smoked haddock scotch egg, which looked fantastic and went down a treat and then they both had locally sourced lamb which was polished off with every mouthful being a treat. Us guys both had Cumbria Fellbred sirloin of beef, which was tender and delicious. There was a dessert appetiser of yoghurt, rhubarb and Grasmere gingerbread, and then this was followed by cheese for me and local ice cream for my wife. The house red - a Merlot was smooth and quaffable and then the whole bill was a pleasant surprise, being really good value for money.
We will definitely return and urge anyone resident or visiting to seek out this friendly place where the quality of the food will match very high expectations.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaddadLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hideaway Restaurant also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing