We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“soup of the day, mmmm”

Brambles Tea Rooms and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“soup of the day, mmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well, we walked from bowness with baby in a pram , and this wonderful little cafe. The lady owner, welcomed us as old friends; they were so helpful. So on to the snack, mmmm the soup of the day, was sweet pumkin and parsnip with a bacon sandwich, a pot of tea.we were shown the magazine and newspapers to pick up if we wanted.Nothing was too much trouble. Value for money all round. They won an award from Trip advisor already; its no wonder. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham160256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    58
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Cute little tearoom with a quick and friendly service. We had two teacakes and milkshakes for an afternoon snack, milkshakes could have been bigger but were tasty all the same. Very pleasant little place :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nic0le_lh_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We went back and will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stumbled upon Brambles on a frosty day in February with our 2 sons and was made to feel at home by the lady owner who handed my sons the dominoes and pointed out the newspapers and magazines for me and my husband. We had cooked full English with tea and toast and it was just perfect and excellent value for money. We even walked from Bowness one day just to go back to Brambles and my sons had the biggest hot chocolates ever with cream and marshmallows on top. Very friendly and outstanding service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

A really lovely cafe with super friendly staff. We often pop in and the standard of service and food is always consistent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackieireton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
249 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“New Years Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

One of only 2 establishments open on new years day afternoon as far as we could see. We had walked into Bowness that morning from Windermere, taken a ferry up to Brockhole, had a walk around then decided to walk back into Windermere for a late lunch. Brambles was quite full, but, luckily enough we managed to get a seat inside and were welcomed by the friendly owners. My husband had a jacket with chilli, I had a toasted sandwich, we both then ordered cakes (thinking they would be small slices, wrong they were massive portions), and, drinks. I must admit my latte was the best I've ever tasted, including the coffee shop chains, I ended up ordering another one. This cafe is well worth visiting, it is clean, friendly, and, very reasonably priced indeed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amberpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brambles Tea Rooms and Cafe also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Brambles Tea Rooms and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing