We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, lovely service, lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hooked

Hooked
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fantastic range of seafood, cooked fresh to order. Menu changes daily depending on what comes in from the local supplier in Fleetwood.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely service, lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

After looking at reviews on here our expectations were high.

I originally emailed for a booking as I saw that it books up early. Michael (the owner) tried calling me a few times to arrange my booking but I was busy, the fact he tried calling more than once would have you believe that they need the custom. However, you'd be wrong. They were fully booked when we arrived, so thank you Michael for your persistence! :)

Now, the food was lovely, we shared muscles to start, then I had sea bass whilst my fiancée had hake. Washed down with a lovely white wine (the wine list is superb!). & to finish we shared a cheese board & I had a delicious vintage port.

We weren't rushed in the slightest, could have stayed there all night, but we wanted to go & watch the football!

Thank you for a great evening Michael (& your staff). We will definitely recommend to friends & family.

Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelC84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,032
    157
    30
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Had the best ever fish meal, beautiful taste and cooked to perfection. Staff so helpful and polite. Definitely need to book. Wish we had a restaurant like this by us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

First time can't fault it. Second time felt rushed. Although it wasn't that busy. Same menu although it we went for the second meal nearly a year later. Missed my partners drink and brought mine only. Waited about 10 minutes before we had to comment. Food was cooked well but nothing new or exciting to offer. For a menu that relies on daily fish I expected more. Shame, but we won't be back!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank million_don_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Visited Hooked on Tuesday and wasn't disappointed one bit amazing service very friendly and the food totally out of this world I fully recommend this restaurant to everybody I will be returning back very soon

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DazandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty gluten free food, warm welcome too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I had spotted 'Hooked' on trip advisor whilst researching our weekend away in Windermere, without realising just how close to the town centre it was.
We drove by and called to see if they had a table free that evening & luckily for us, they fit us in.
Note I say fit us in - not squeezed - as we were there quite early and it was quiet, yet passers by we're being turned away. This showed us that the kitchen staff weren't being overloaded with orders and were giving all their attention to the ones they had, and it sure did show in the quality of the food! It was great not to feel rushed.
Being coeliac, I was reassured by the friendly owner that I could have almost anything on the menu made gluten free for me.
The food was tasty, plentiful and hot. The wine was delicious and cold.
Well worth booking, but not so much if you're vegetarian - I didn't see anything on the menu that wasn't seafood (except desserts. If you're veggie, just go for the desserts and wine anyway)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat-Whatserface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing