We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Hooked

Hooked
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fantastic range of seafood, cooked fresh to order. Menu changes daily depending on what comes in from the local supplier in Fleetwood.
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend in Windermere and we decided to go to Hooked on the Friday night. I recommend booking which we did as it is a busy wee place. Had seen the good reviews on trip advisor so thought we would give it a go. Probably one of the best seafood restaurants I have eaten in. Really delicous but simple food! We had the chowder and tiger prawns to start and both were great. Main courses were really decent sized portions and the fish was cooked to perfection. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suze_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,074
    161
    32
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food is actually amazing”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Popped in there Sunday evening for a meal on our first night visiting. Michael, the owner, was an attentive hand in helping pick the menu - and we weren't disappointed!

The food was beautiful, the calamari rings were cooked to perfection as well as everything else, and the paella was bursting with flavour!

Couldn't recommend this place enough. Not only did we have a lovely meal, we also had a good laugh!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BenMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, can't wait to go back”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited Hooked on an unseasonably freezing cold and snowy March evening, having read some rave reviews on Tripadvisor. Well, we weren't disappointed. We received a warm welcome from the owner, Michael when we arrived. He personally took our orders and advised us on the dishes and wines that were available that evening. All of our choices were available with one exception, but an good alternative was offered, which was greatly enjoyed by the member of our party of four who had ordered it.

I had the mussels for my starter, they were absolutely delicious, and a spoon was provided to eat of the scrummy white wine and onion liquor that they had been cooked in. I didn't leave a drop! My main course was a Cajun blacked marlin fillet, which was about 1 inch thick and cooked to perfection. Its amazing how many restaurants overcook fish until it is ruined, but not this one. My husband had the tiger prawns for his first course and said that they were perfect, and he also had the marlin and loved it.

Every dish that was served to us was just wonderful, the service was impeccable, and the atmosphere and general ambience was just right.

This is a very small restaurant and it is absolutely necessary to book as it is extremely popular. We were quite upset that some customers who had booked tables failed to show up, probably due to the awful weather, but it was such a shame that they didn't have the good manners to let the owner know as he had had to turn away several potential customers as he was fully booked.

I would highly recommend this little restaurant to any fish-lovong Tripadvisors out there. But please note that there weren;'t any non-fish or vegetarian options on the menu. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you love fish/seafood, this is the place for you.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very good quality food, cooked simply but excellently. Good sized portions and starters very reasonably priced - glad we came here. Good wine list.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rcw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I thought I didn't like fish!!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Wow!!! excellent food, excellent service,fantastic wine and superb atmosphere... can't really put anything else.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing