We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab-u-lous!!”
Review of Hooked

Hooked
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fantastic range of seafood, cooked fresh to order. Menu changes daily depending on what comes in from the local supplier in Fleetwood.
Newton by the Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab-u-lous!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were over in the lakes for a long weekend to celebrate a double birthday and choose Hooked as reccommended by a friend. I have to say the food, the drink, the service, the atmosphere and the company were brill!!! There were six in our party and only two made it to pud. Done I need to say more.......!!!!!!!!
Looking forward to returning:)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,067
    160
    31
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What an amazing restaurant!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have been visiting the Lake DIstrict for years and normally eat at the one of the vast array of country pubs. We were recommended to 'Hooked' by a friend and thankfully we took his advice! The fish we ate at Hooked was of the best we have ever sampled. It was all superbly cooked, was incredibly fresh and the ambience was in keeping with the food. We will definitely be back again in the near future and would have no hesitation in recommended this restaurant to others.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brisk and Friendly”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A small concern that was just what I needed to avoid the rather expensive venues offering a Saturday evening meal elsewhere in the town. Fish freshly cooked and a fascinating display of old photos of the Lake and surrounding environs. The food was tasty too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Seafood Restaurant”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

When we stayed in Windermere. The landlady of B&B recommended this restaurant to us. We ordered razor clams and mussels as the starters. The razor clams were so big and so delicious. All the food were very very fresh. The decor may be a little bit simple. But don't be put off. It worths to visit. Definitely will go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank May911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastically fresh seafood, brilliant service!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

When we ate at Hooked, the food could only be described as exquisite, full of flavour and accompanied by some lovely fresh vegetables. The portion sizes for all three courses were ample, and there was also a good selection of wine (which went down a treat), and other drinks. Our starter arrived within 10 minutes of ordering, perfectly cooked, and each subsequent course was delivered just as efficiently.
The service we received was absolutely fantastic; we were greeted as we walked through the door by the owner of the restaurant, who was very chatty and down-to-earth - he asked us questions about our stay in the Lakes and seemed genuinely interested in our answers. All staff were very attentive to our needs.
We were so impressed with Hooked on Saturday night that we booked to dine there the next night as well!
The restaurant is humble in its exterior appearance, and inside it is lovely and quaint, exactly what we wanted to find in a restaurant when we visited Windermere.
Overall, an amazing restaurant in every aspect; 5 stars is not enough.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 27Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooked also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hooked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing