We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Windermere Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Windermere Suites(Windermere)
$279
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Howbeck(Windermere)
$167
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
$188
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Willowsmere(Windermere)
$133
$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$308
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveler rating
271
331
137
76
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
331
137
76
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself driveshearings hotelsshearings holidaypremier roomcoast countrymeal timeslake districtevening meallounge barreception staffweekend breakthe general managersingle roomorrest headthe ground floorpublic roomsthree courses
Filter
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 876 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Travelled by feeder coach with Shearings to Corley then on to Windermere with a Grand Tourer, we had started from Gt Yarmouth at 08.20 and arrived at the hotel at 18.45 a long journey but quite comfortable with plenty of rest stops. Our driver was very safe with plenty of information.
The hotel was superb, clean and bright with excellent service from everyone. Our room 124 was lovely with good views, (you do need to upgrade). Food was very good with plenty of choice and good helpings. Our waiter was very obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Tea and coffee was provided in the room and replenished every day. All in all a very comfortable hotel and well run. A slight niggle was some times the barman was nowhere to be seen when coming back to the hotel after a day out on our own, when we needed a beer, and we had to wait until he re appeared, with much apologies. That apart we will definitely be going back.
Colin and Anne T.

Room Tip: Always upgrade to a superior room with a scenic view (both are separate upgrades ) 124 is quite large with a large bay window and the bed is comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Colin and Anne,
So pleased to hear your stay with us was so enjoyable, it’s always nice to receive such positive comments regarding our hotel and staff they are always appreciated.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Giles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked as individual travellers Friday to Monday and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Windermere. The meals are above average and the portions just right. Ensure you pay for parking at the hotel, very convenient as the hotel is at the top of a very steep hill. People with bad legs beware! Our room was at the front with amazing views right over to the lake and was spotlessly clean. Our only slight moan would the attitude of the bar staff who seemed thoroughly miserable and guests were a nuisance, especially at coffee time after the evening meal!! Cheer up ladies, at least you have a job in this day and age!!

We would recommend the hotel to anyone who asks and will be visiting again. It is our first experience of Coast and Country and we were delighted with the standard. Don't miss out!

Room Tip: Pay the extra required for a scenic room but don't expect comfy chairs as they are more like dining chairs and not ones to settle down in after a busy day.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time in posting your feedback, I am delighted you would recommend us and you would book again. Sorry you felt the bar staff were not smiley enough, I am surprised because you can read so many other reviews stating how the staff are the hotel’s biggest asset.
I totally agree our scenic view rooms have stunning views looking over Windermere town, Lakeland Fells and Lake Windermere.
It is great you found the Windermere Hotel such a wonderful experience.
Hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Elderly couple, 3 nights WE B&B £99each. Room 45, lower ground floor, 6 doors and 12 steps from reception. But nearer access from bottom of car park. Room average size. Clean, well serviced. Old mattresses but slept well after long walks. Breakfasts well presented and hot. Prunes and grapefruit with cereals but must ask for yoghurt. Excellent coffee. Courteous, efficient, helpful waiter, Janos from Hungary. Helen runs the restaurant with great energy. We appreciated the non-smoking verandah area just outside the main entrance. No need to walk through a cloud of smoke to enter hotel. Left car on carpark all weekend and used the excellent bus network to access our walking tours. The bus station is just 3 mins from the hotel.
We will be going back soon.

Room Tip: Included in report.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Windermere Hotel. Your comments are very positive, and I will ensure all the team get to see them - they deserve this praise, and your waiter Janos and Elaine will also be happy with their special mentions.

Thank you for this wonderful review and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent a wet weekend here at the end of October. However the hotel is very near the bus station and train station so we were able to get a bus to wherever we wanted to go, leaving the car in the hotel car park for which we had paid £5 per day.
We had a superior room, very clean and comfortable.The one thing we found wrong was that we only had one bedside light between our twin beds which could only be operated by one person, not very convenient! The bathroom was modern, functional and also extremely clean. A flat screen tv, 2 comfortable armchairs and tea and coffee making facilities helped us relax. We had a room on the first floor with a view of the lake.
Dinner on the first night was really not up to standard, however after that it was good. I do not have an explanation. Breakfast was good, though it would have been nice to have more variety of fresh fruit.
The staff were all excellent, the waiters were fantastic and could not do enough for you. They would not have been out of place in a 5 star hotel. All the staff were pleasant, polite and helpful.
On Saturday we had some entertainment in the lounge; a lady singer who sang swing type songs to a recorded band accompaniement, very nice.
My one complaint was that having chosen to eat dinner at the offered time of 8.15, there was always one dish that had finished, I do feel that if dinner is available at a certain time every dish too should be available, however I can understand there are maybe some difficulties with this.
We would definately recommend this hotel and we enjoyed our stay even though the weather was disappointing.

Room Tip: The main road runs alongside the front of the hotel, but these are the rooms, potentially with a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Windermere Hotel is indeed an ideal location and I am glad you appreciated the stunning views for your bedroom. Our Saturday night singer is always well received.
I have passed on your kind comments to all the staff.
Thank you for your feedback I am so pleased your stay with us was an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Looking for a base to explore the lake District (Walks/lake cruises/local shopping/scenic drives) - After much deliberation with so many Hotels and B&B's to choose from and reviews to read we opted for this Hotel (Half board) to stay for a week . The Hotel manager (Giles) and his staff were both polite and very helpful (I'm sure Giles doesn't sleep!), food was of a high standard and in general, the decco within the hotel was pleasant to the eye. The room (twinned) a little cramped in the bathroom/toilet area but did not spoil our stay. A great base to visit the lake Distrct from, excellent value for money and will definitley return to/recommend the Windermere hotel.

Room Tip: Just note the main road runs in FRONT of the hotel (Noise?)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Reviewer
So many previous reviewers have mentioned the Windermere Hotel is in a perfect location for enjoying the Lake District and with good service from very helpful staff.
I am glad you chose us and found us excellent value for money and it would be great to see you back with us again very soon.
Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews