We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 day shearings holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed July 21, 2013

our room needed an update especially the bathroom although clean and tidy, behind radiator was thick with dust bad housekeeping yet the rest of our front bedroom was clean..ish and tidy. needs more drawers. however with all that said we had a good stay, staff friendly and couldn't do enough for you.food excellent and plenty. would tell anyone to stay at windemere as the location is perfect. Lift is so slow.

Room Tip: higher floor you have an excellent view over towards the lake traffic not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calvolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, Front Office Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the hotel.
I cant agree more that the views from the hotel are stunning and the hotel is a great base for exploring the Lake District.
I apologise for the lack of attention to some areas and will investigate with our Housekeeper.

Regards

Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 835 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent service from all staff, especially dining room staff and management. Food was excellent so compliments to kitchen staff as well. As for our room very tidy and well kept by housekeeping staff.

On a whole the Hotel was very good and we were happy with the room we had as a disabled person my wife and I were shown your 1 and only disabled bedroom room and we felt this had two drawbacks , that being two single beds and a narrow shower. We felt that a hotel the size of The Windermere needed more tha 1 disabled bedroom room on ground floor, it needed about 4 -5 disabled bedrooms

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are cool in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennethR175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, Front Office Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel so positively.
It is great to read of your satisfaction and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope for the 5 star review next time!

Regards

Joann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent a marvellous weekend here. Superb room overlooking the lake. Although the hotel is situated at the top of the village there is a bus from the station directly opposite.
THE FOOD WAS SUPERB,the best we have had in any Shearings hotel and we have been to several.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_W190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for sharing your recent holiday experience at the Windermere Hotel
And I am delighted to read you had a marvellous weekend break and you appreciated our ideal location opposite the main rail and bus stations. I will pass on to the Kitchen team your very complimentary comments about how much you enjoyed the food.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest Regards

Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Windermere hotel is right at the top of Windermere shopping centre, with great views over the lake from the 2nd and 3rd floor, its right outside the railway station . Hotel is clean and the food was good also the staff very friendly and helpfull.The only fault was the post code for sat-navs is wrong they say the hotel is on Kendal road but its not, Kendal road is about 2 miles away the hotel is the road to Kendal from Windermere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derekjanice56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Reviewer

I totally agree the hotel is perfectly located up high overlooking Windermere and our scenic front bedrooms are always popular because of their stunning views of Lake Windermere and the fells.
It is always great to read that you found everything clean and you enjoyed the food.
I will ensure the staff know how much you appreciated them.
Now you know where we are you will not need the sat-nav next time you visit.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night break at this hotel and found every thing really good.

The staff are all lovely and we had no problems.

The only reason why I have not given The Windermere hotel 5 stars is because I didn't like the small lift but even then that was a bonus as I walked up and down two flights of stairs so got some exercise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imelda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer

I am so glad you had a really good holiday experience with us, and will pass on to the staff your kind words.
On your next stay at the Windermere I will put you on the ground floor so we get 5 stars!
Thank you for lovely review and hope to see you both again soon.
Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice location in Windermere.This is not by the lake,but a mile down a steep hill.Room (premium)not bad.Food a bit hit and miss.Overall good value.Entertainment good,except most people never bothered,and seemed to go to bed early!A shame as they missed some good stuff.They have a strange way of charging for drinks.If you dont use your card,and get a tab,you have to pay at the table.This upset a few people,because if you upgraded your food to the a la carte,it was charged to your room.i suggest register your card on arrival,no problems.Get the bus to and from Bowness(the lake).It runs from the station ,just across the road.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are always nicer,if a little pricy.but you do get a better tv and bathroom condiments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulT12-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for your review.
I am delighted you found our Premiere rooms to your liking and you enjoyed our relaxed style entertainment package.
Our room account charging system is a standard practice in most hotels, we advise all guests on arrival to open a room account by registering their payment card. This system to my knowledge has not upset anyone.
I am glad you found the hotel in an ideal location and good value.
Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

the food was well below average the restaurant staff could barely speak English and the female bar staff did not seem to know what they were doing as we were charged different prices every tine we ordered drinks.we were given 8pm for dinner fri and sat but did not eat until 8.30

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mavisboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.
I regret that you experienced a disappointing stay with us. We do get a lot of high praise regarding our staff and the service they provide, however please accept my apologies if this time was a miss.

Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Craig Manor Hotel
Craig Manor Hotel
#19 of 20 in Windermere
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#18 of 20 in Windermere
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $97 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing