We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the Windermere Hotel as part of a short break.
The hotel is very well postioned, directly opposite the train station, bus station and TIC, there is also a small supermarket there too. It is also very good for access to other places we visited such as Ulswater, Keswick and Kendal.
We were all very impressed with the accommodation which was clean and comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the meals were excellent with good choices.
We would certainly stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Windermere Hotel and your kind words about the hotel and staff, we pride ourselves on our location, attention to detail and friendly staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
There are newer reviews for The Windermere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 783 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had very enjoyable break at the Windermere Hotel. Our room was small but well appointed. The hotel was very good,well decorated and with excellent staff. The food was really excellent and our waiter Janos was outstanding. Brilliant value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, Front Office Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel so positively.Our kitchen staff and particularly Janos are very pleased to be noted and praised so highly.We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel for your next holiday.
Kind Regards
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break, the receptionist was overly efficious and very patronising. we arrived at 2pm, check in time is 3pm, we were checked in at 2pm but told to come back at 3 for our room key. our room was cold despite the heater being on full, main problem being the window would not close, all night in sub zero temperatures for the duration of our stay we endured an icy blast. Expect to be kept awake by banging doors as there are lots of them, Our bathroom was spacious but mouldy and while our meals ( we were on half board) offered a fair choice they have the most odd ordering system - you get the menu, they take it away, they then come and ask what you would like for your starter, only when you have finnished this do they ask what you would like for your main course, then after that ask what you would like for dessert - so take a notebook and pen if you do not have a good memory, I noticed even when people asked what the choices were the menu was not brought back, the waiter / waitress would just say. the cleanliness of our room was disappointing huge cobwebs dangled above the bed and in the corners of the room and the radiator was dribbled with brown stuff. We have stayed at other hotels in this group and had a great time, sadly we will not be returning to this one or recommending it to our friends.

Room Tip: go to another hotel, but if you do stay here, if the staff are disrespectful, complain, you shouldn...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loislaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, Front Office Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear reviewer
Our check in time is from 3pm daily. We do take details before this time to reduce any possible waiting times. If rooms are ready beforehand we do give the keys out before this time. I was saddened to read that your room was not to our normal standards, I apologise for the issues with your room and assure you that had you informed reception I would have addressed these issues. Our Restaurant has often been praised highly by other reviews, I am sure that the Restaurant staff would bring a menu back to the table to remind you of your options if requested.
I hope you reconsider returning to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break at this Hotel. It was only booked a couple of weeks ago, and was brilliant value for money. We stayed on a Dinner, B & B basis, and the food was really good. This together with very efficient, friendly restaurant service was a pleasant and unexpected surprise. As mentioned we only booked the break a couple of weeks ago, and this may have been the reason we were given the bedroom (48) - although it was clean, and had all the facilities a Standard Room should have, it was quite small, and the decor was very tired. In addition, although the bathroom did have a shower sited over the bath, it was difficult to use, because in addition to a bath handle, here was also a very large saftey handle placed verticle on the tiles above the bath, which stuck out into the space, where you needed to stand to shower - resulting in being pinned in the corner of the bath whilst showering, and making it difficult to wash hair etc. However, it was still an excellent break and good value for money, and would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 48 if you like using a shower.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rupertina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our snowy weather and I shall pass on your appreciation to Andy and the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel for your next stay.


Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days at the end of February. Super hotel, staff and food. We really enjoyed our stay, all the staff were smart, polite, happy and helpful. Our coach driver, Andy, was always happy, whatever the weather (snowing), and very helpful. Should you stay in room 203 and have trouble with the shower, put the showerhead in the bath and run till hot, then use as usual. According to a guest, room 23 is very cold, even with the heating on, they asked to be moved, and were.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlepBenfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your glowing review of the hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our snowy weather and I shall pass on your appreciation to Andy and the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel for your next stay.

Kind Regards
Giles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

just returned from 3day break to celebrate our wedding anniversary.we were given room 211 which on entering was very cold.we hiked thermostat up and un packed.an hour later radiator was still stone cold so phoned reception to be told they would sort out a heater for us !! we then went down to see this lady to ask for another room as we didnt want a single heater to heat room and the bathroom.she wasnt very proffesional in her manner and told us there were no doubles left so we would have to have a twin (anniversary remember).with no other choice of room we then re packed moved down corridor and un packed again.at least this room was warm.but all this was not a good start to our wekend and we didnt get the type of room we booked.apart from this the hotel and food was good (just needs to be served hotter).but overall we were disappointed as we had really looked forward to our break.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank sandie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, Front Office Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear reviewer

I am sorry we were unable to offer an alternative double room and I apologise again for the inconvenience it caused you. Our plumber is investigating the cause of the problem with the radiator.
I am glad you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and hope to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Joanna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a Shearings Coach break.
Did not expect top quality at the price.
Very pleasantly surprised.
Hotel quite recently refurnished, the room was clean, we'll presented, with good facilities.
Overall atmosphere, reception, bar, etc, again good.
The table d'hôtel evening meals and breakfast also good quality well presented with efficient service.
No complaints sums it all up.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor for excellent view over the town towards the Langdale Pikes.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dagsdecision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, Front Office Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing us so positively.
Indeed the prices and promotions on offer are great value and not to be missed. I look forward to your call for your next holiday at the hotel.

Regards

Joanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $127 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing