We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GILES - Great food at windermere hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“GILES - Great food at windermere hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Arrived at this Shearings Hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the modern feel of this hotel which does normally cater for the older person. Staff were extremely helpful and the rooms, televisions, tea making facilities were excellent. After a bad experience with the food in a Shearings Hotel in the Isle of Wight earlier this year we were well pleased when the food was really good and the waiting staff very efficient. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends. Giles was ace on the reception.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be good. Lift was working fine to upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annedelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Reviewer

What a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday at Windermere Hotel. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and it’s great that you would recommend us to family and friends. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff with pride, and thank you for my special mention.
Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    286
    111
    52
    37
See reviews for
73
460
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have stayed at a number of Shearings hotels over the last 8 years and all have been very good value. The Windermere was better than we expected. We had booked a standard room. We have had their best rooms in previous places, and these really are very good. However, we had booked a week's stay here (rather than 4 nights as usual) so we thought we'd save money for other things. Our room was adequate and the bed comfortable. The room was quiet with a rural view up a hill. What impressed us was the very nice public areas and restaurant and the incredible dinners. Although the menu gave a limited choice, the dishes were perfection - very high-class meals, all very well presented. Restaurant service was extremely efficient and courteous. In fact all the staff were helpful and courteous. The bar staff really knew their jobs. The women bar staff in particular had a thorough knowledge of the beers and wines and could mix a great Pimms. WiFi was available using Sky's "The Cloud" and this worked well on our iPad, but only in one half of the bar and in Reception. (The iPad seems to need a strong signal - I suspect other devices may access the signal in other rooms too.) There was enough car parking free-of-charge - good, as we didn't pay for a reserved place. All very good value and very central to all the main attractions. Other over-60s may wish to know that the train station opposite the hotel has a main bus stop area too. The 599 open-top service goes to all the main towns around and is free to bus-pass holders. This not only saved on fuel, but saved us the bother of finding scarce and expensive parking in many smaller places like Ambleside. The 599 goes every 20 minutes. Also by the station is "Lakeland", as in the shop with the catalogue. Worth a look, and has a very nice coffee shop. Not to be missed (if you're fit) is a walk that starts next to the hotel and goes up to Orrest Head. (Do it before dinner rather than after!)

Room Tip: Go for their best rooms (see web) - they are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It’s great to hear you thought your stay at the Windermere Hotel was very good value for money and we exceeded your expectations. I have passed on your brilliant comments regarding the service you received throughout your stay to everyone concerned.

I agree our Stunning Location is great for everyone with reserved parking at the hotel, and just across the road from the hotel there are buses going all over the Lake District and bike hire too.

It was a pleasure to read your very positive review and thank you for taking the time to post it, we are looking forward to you visiting us again soon.

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great food,lovely polite staff and a great ambience.Dont believe the poor reviews,this is a little gem of a place and not to be missed.We would definately revisit this hotel its ashame they couldnt fix the weather as a bit of sunshine would have made it perfect

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millymolly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

I agree this summer has been one of wettest for a few years, which has made the Lakeland Fells the greenest ever and the rain has kept all of the lakes full.

I am pleased the service you received from us put some sunshine into your stay, on your next visit I will make sure the sun shines for you!.

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings. We found this hotel to be friendly, clean and comfortable. Meals were generally fine, with a choice of 3 starters, main courses and desserts. Not exciting food, and a tendency towards being a little bland, but filling. Soup had a very strange consistency, but the bakewell tart was thoroughly enjoyed by my husband. We had a Premier room, which was very nicely decorated and a good size, but was let down by a few points. The mattress did not seem to be of a very good quality ( I assume it was new), the plug for the kettle and hairdrier was tucked at the back of the dressing table- very difficult to get at if you had problem with bending! The bathroom was large and had a separtae shower cubicle, but had a very tatty waste bin and toilet brush holder which were out of place against the rest of the shining chrome fittings. Also, the towel rail was high up on the wall above the toilet.Only minor things, but did let down an otherwise tastefully refurbished room. Our driver was excellent, with a good knowledge of the area, and we found the staff to be very helpful and attentive. We did ask if the duvet in our room could be changed for a sheet and blanket, as we found the duvet to be too heavy for our liking, and this was sorted out for us immediately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50plus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review.

Our new summer menu gives lots of choice with table d’hôte included for our half board guests with the option to have a discounted supplements from the a la carte menu.

It’s great that you chose a Premier view room which as you state has the bonus of being the largest in the hotel with separate bath and shower, not forgetting those amazing views.

Our tour drivers in my opinion are the best, I am glad you went home full of Lake District National Park knowledge.

The team as ever will be delighted that you mentioned their great service.

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

For three nights DBB my wife and I each paid £129 plus £18 for room with view.
Our window overlooked the carpark, the town and the distant lake.
Our room (212) was rather small, with no room for an armchair.
Perhaps the superior rooms have one.
We were delighted with this, our fourth visit to the hotel.
All staff were most helpful.
The waiters, mostly Spanish and Hungarian, were pleasant and obliging.
We had some interesting conversations with János in particular.
There was a good choice of dishes for dinner.
Our room was well serviced every day.
Shower and bath worked well.
Good reception on TV. WiFi worked well.
We parked in front of the hotel for three days and used the excellent bus service to access our walks on the fells. The bus station is just across the road next to the railway station.
We are already planning another visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer



Thank you for your very complementary review of our hotel, staff and service provided and indeed our ideal and stunning location, which I agree our 3 night DBB weekend breaks are great value.

Superior and premier rooms are the largest rooms in the hotel and do have two chairs with a scenic view as well, you can sit in the window and enjoy the beautiful scenery you have just climbed……

I have passed on your lovely comments to the staff and Janos was overjoyed that you gave him a special mention.


It’s wonderful that you have already stayed with us 4 times and already planning your next visit.

See you again soon

Kindest Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is over priced and the staff are un-helpful and rude! We had come from the daffodil hotel and spa and their was a massive difference their was a funny smell all round the hotel and the staff at breakfast were un helpful and rude will not be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Chiltsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer

As you stayed with us last September and we didn’t receive comments regarding smells or unhelpful staff at the time, it surprises me that you did not bring this to my attention before now. However I must apologise for your stay not meeting your expectations, it is also unfair comparing us with a Spa hotel like Daffodil.

Kind Regards

Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Third time we have stayed at this hotel, value for money is excellent,the food is of a high quality and good choice on the table d,hote, for extra you can select a substantial additional choice.
The staff are excellent,where do you get them from ??, they cannot do enough for you and are ALWAYS polite and courteous.

In the evening there was a lady singer to entertain the guests.

Good car parking, a must in the lakes, is available and is free, unique in the lake district.

Little brickbat, our room 221, a little cramped and could do with a redecorate and some TLC.

Overall, fantastic value for money,you can do a 2, 3, 0r more nightly package which includes dinner bed and breakfast, great value.

We will be back.

Thanks to all the staff, they are excellent.

Ken Dorward

Room Tip: Pay the extra and upgrade to a front facing room, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth_dorward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gunner196440, General Manager at The Windermere Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Mr Dorward

I am so pleased you keep coming back to stay with us. Your review clearly tells me that we are getting it right and you feel it‘s value for money.

It’s great that you identified the staff being excellent, they all work hard and it’s great they get the acknowledgement.

I agree room 221 is not one of our largest rooms, perhaps I could convince to try one of our Premier or Superior rooms on your next stay with us.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Giles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Property: The Windermere Hotel
Address: Kendal Road, Windermere LA23 1AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windermere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windermere has been called the ‘Gateway to the Lakes.’ With mountains, moors, lakes and tarns it is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the splendour of the English countryside, right in the heart of the Lake District. The Windermere Hotel occupies an excellent location at the head of the village of Windermere itself. Built from traditional Lakeland slate, our hotel is listed by English Heritage, and is one of the oldest hotels in Windermere having opened back in 1847 to coincide with the construction of the local railway. The hotel’s location is ideal for exploring the local villages of Bowness and Windermere, as well as the beautiful Lake District scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Windermere
Windermere The Hotel
Windermere Hotel Windermere
The Windermere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing