We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed at the Holbeck Ghyll for a wonderful romantic weekend, could not have wished for a better weekend.
The hotel is situated in the most beautiful location in the Lake District, with breathtaking views, wonderful friendly staff who catered to our every need. Definitely helped make the weekend so relaxing :)
The hotel itself is exquisite, for people who appreciate the finer things in life this is by far one of the best we have ever stayed in!
Thank you to all the staff who made our weekend so memorable, see you again in a few months :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShezzaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

Dear ShezzaP,

Thank you for taking the time to review Holbeck Ghyll on Trip Advisor. The staff are all delighted to read about your relaxing, memorable weekend.

We’ll see you in a few months!

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed here on the 21st February for one night & had a wonderful time,all the staff are very professional & friendly & nothing is too much trouble.
The room (Tower Room) was large & very well presented & clean,nice touches are the decanter of Damson Gin,chocolates and personal handwritten note from the Manager welcoming us & wishing me a happy birthday
The meal in the restaurant was very good, again excellent service and food cooked to perfection - mains of Duck for me & Beef for my wife, make sure you leave room for desserts as these were as good as other similar hotels we have been too.
As mentioned in another review it was nice to have the hot water bottle in the bed & the bed was very comfortable.(glad to hear the headboard issue is being remedied)
The weather was a bit misty but the view from our room & the lounges would be perfect on another day but that is a good excuse for us to return
You cannot go wrong booking a night or few at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

Dear jonnyboy67,

We are delighted to read about what a wonderful time you had whilst staying with us. We are thrilled that you liked the damson gin, chocolates and hot water bottle and hope you enjoyed your birthday.

Please come and visit us again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Just got back from a three night stay in the Lake District...our first trip to the Lakes and definitely the first of many. The stunning local scenery made for some breathtaking walks, but without a doubt , what made our long weekend was our stay at Holbeck Ghyll. There really are no words to describe just how wonderful our stay was. To Andrew and the whole team - thank you , thank you, thank you !
It is so rare to find a hotel where every member of staff takes such great pleasure in providing excellent service. They all seem to truly love their jobs. From the welcome we got on our arrival, to the advice on local activities, to the service and food in the restaurant and lounges, to the best cosmopolitans I have ever tasted (!!), we were utterly spoilt by the team at HG. And I must not forget Jane and Anna - you have the magic touch, we loved our spa treatments ! . The hotel itself is just as it should be - perfectly homely. Log fires and little touches like a hot water bottle being placed in our bed at night just added to the homely feeling of this hotel. We really didnt want to leave !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue95_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

Dear Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a glowing review about your recent experience at Holbeck Ghyll. All the staff are delighted to read about how much you enjoyed your stay and their service.

We hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

we stayed here friday night of valentines wknd. the stay was honestly faultless. gorgeously comfortable ye olde country house that has been turned into a small hotel, around 20 bedrooms i think, super characterful, thankfully the bathrooms arent ye olde, ours was ultra modern with lovely and plentiful toiletries. bottle of champers and flowers in the room which my partner hadnt asked for - think this is standard. we had a standard double room which had a huge terrace, whole place has stunning views over windermere. different lounges, some with roaring fires to chill and have a drink and read. lovely. service all round was friendly, down to earth and super attentive without being irritating at all. food was excellent, every course, we had dinner and breakfast, awesome wine list too. quality fresh ingredients, resto has a michelin star and has kept it for 10 yrs. we used the sauna and steam room in the spa, smallish but ultra modern too, nice touch, no one there so wasnt cramped. i had a massage which was one of the best ive had, its espa. they take you to a lovely little room after to chill with fab views out again, where u can read mags and and they make u a drink etc, v nice. turn down service. beautiful grounds too, we borrowed wellies from the hotel, they have several pairs, and walked through the woods by the stream right down to lake windermere. theres a tennis court aswell for summer. everythings done excellently, cant fault the place, will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NATALIECheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Dear Sir,

I am delighted to read this review and I have pinned it to our staff notice board, it has done wonders to raise morale after the poor review below.

We are all glad that you were looked after and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The flowers and champagne were something we did especially for valentines as a thank you for coming to stay with us!

Do come back and see us soon!

With all good wishes,

Andrew McPherson
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My partner and I spent valentines weekend at what promised to be a wonderfully relaxing weekend hotel. However, I am disappointed to say my weekend was ruined by some of the pretentious waiters, average yet overpriced food and reheated/stale breakfast.
The hotel prides itself on its food, however, the atmosphere is stifling and artificial, and the food is nothing more than bland food under a gourmet banner. However, to keep up the reputation, one of the waiters was rude and patronising. Not the place for a relaxing, romantic meal.
The views are without a doubt stunning, the spa and spa staff are fantastic. It has to be said that not all of the staff ruined my weekend, as a few of them were very charming indeed. However, as a few of them went out of their way to be rude on the first night, it was difficult to enjoy much of an expensive break.

I would recommend staying somewhere where you are able to relax and enjoy the beauty of the Lakes.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Weekendermmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Dear Sir,

I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Holbeck Ghyll. The fact that you found one of my staff to appear condescending is of great concern to me. If possible, please do get in contact with me and you will be able to help me understand which particular member of the team let us all down.

It should be mentioned, however, that we do have a dress code in the evenings, in particular we ask that diners do not wear trainers or t-shirts. In our experience, we have found that many ladies do enjoy looking their best for the evening, ( especially on Valentines) and we feel that it is only fair that gentlemen put in the same amount of effort. This said, I still remain apologetic if one if my staff handled this sensitive subject with you with less than the upmost tact and diplomacy.

Andrew McPherson
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Dear Sirs

We have just returned from our first visit to Holbeck Ghyll and would like to share with others our experience. We do so partly because the Holbeck Ghyll is really so good and partly to offset some of the negative comments that have been posted about the hotel.From the moment that we arrived until our departure this morning we found everything about the hotel both charming and professional. We travel extensively both in this country and abroad and it is rare to find a hotel that successfully combines such attention to detail and real personal warmth like Holbeck Ghyll. The food and restaurant experience was definitely deserving of the Michelin star. This place is the real deal and for those few that seem not to appreciate it that is fine, please keep away and leave it to those with some taste.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casablancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time write about your experience at Holbeck Ghyll. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much and that you felt compelled to leave such a strong review. Reviews like yours are brilliant for staff morale!

We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Holbeck Ghyll was originally a hunting box of Lord Lonsdale (the yellow earl and creator of the Lonsdale belt for boxing). If it was not designed by the architect Charles Rennie Macintosh then it must have been by one of his disciples. From the moment you walk through the door, stained glass, ornate door finger plates, wood carvings and piercings on the stair banister greet you. Watch out for the original bell pushes and electric wall sockets with two tiny holes for the plugs. The attention to detail reflects Macintosh's total design philosophy of not only creating the architecture of a building but also the internal detail.
And attention to detail is still a watchword at Holbeck Ghyll. The hotel is being upgraded under the direction of its new-ish manager Andrew McPherson (late of Swinton Park in Yorkshire). Michelin star chef David McLauchlin and his brigade are on song with modern but not way out cooking. The restaurant staff under food and beverage manager Daniel Jonberger are unobtrusively attentive. Daniel (who is part swedish but has perfect english) quaintly addresses all women as My Lady.
The views from the two lounges and the restaurant over Lake Windermere in all weathers are stunning.
Room 20, the tower room, has a jacuzzi type double ended bath - perfect for the start of a romantic evening. The hotel has 25 bedrooms some in the main house and others nearby in the grounds. The hotel also boasts a spa

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raeside_auld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2011

Dear Mr Raeside Auld,

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review of Holbeck Ghyll. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $215 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing