We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,296 results
Traveler rating
822
241
135
60
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
822
241
135
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdamson ginafternoon teamiss pottermichelin starthe main housetower roomhunting lodgehot tubarts and craftspeter rabbitspa treatmentsthe general managertasting menuamuse bouchestunning viewsscallopsturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,204 - 1,209 of 1,296 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We arrived to a very warm welcome and a lovely (unrequested) upgrade to a lake view room. Our dinner was fabulous, wines excellent and the cheeses in front of open fire were a great end to the meal. Breakfast in the bedroom with bay window view of the snowy peaks was perfect. We would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear jackaroony,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at Holbeck Ghyll. Also, what a fantastic picture! Please feel free to join our Facebook page and enter your picture into our competition.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will recommend us to others. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

Well I didn't see the TV show where they visited this place. As an expatriate from Windermere it was a pleasure to stay here whilst visiting family prior to Christmas. delightful arts and crafts Hunting Lodge with impeccable pedigree... one just wants to own it... Staff at all points were very professional... extra marks to the Swedish sommelier and to the Maitre d.
Food utterly fabulous... just delicious. Liked having a hot water bottle popped into the bed...
We stayed in a little lodge so one can have a smoke outside on the patio... Great to see the Union flag flying and someone was very dilligent in gritting the long drive (-13C when we were there).
Top marks....

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2010

Dear AndrewCrown,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Holbeck Ghyll. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and found the food utterly fabulous. Daniel and Stefan are especially delighted that you gave their service extra marks!

All the staff hope to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Andrew McPherson
GENERAL MANAGER

P.S. Matthew and I, the gritting team, are delighted that you appreciated our work. However, I must admit that I was just driving the Range Rover it was Matthew who was doing all the work!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I'd watched the brilliant series 'The Trip' on BBC 2 and in one of the episodes they had lunch at Holbeck Ghyll. Out of all the 6 programmes this Hotel and meal impressed me the most.
So, I decided to go with my husband whilst on a break in Ambleside. We weren't disappointed!
From the moment we entered the Hotel we were treat extremely well and our meal was exceptional and a lovely experience. The price we paid wasn't expensive for the quality / taste and value considering we were in such an exclusive area.
Go On - Try it - you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2010

Dear FranW-haven,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent lunch at Holbeck Ghyll.

We were thrilled to read that you found Holbeck Ghyll to be the most impressive restaurant on BBC 2’s ‘The Trip’. We were even more delighted that we lived up to the expectations you had after watching the programme.

We hope to welcome you again next time you visit the Lake District.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I've seen this hotel over the years when walking in the area, so finally got round to booking a long weekend. In my opinion the Holbeck Ghyll gets it just right, the location, ambience, quality of service, quality of food, attention to detail made it a truly memorable experience! (that and the blizzards that weekend) Heartily recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a special stay or just a truly chilled out weekend

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZincD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2010

Dear ZincD,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Holbeck Ghyll.

How wonderful that you finally got around to visiting us after years of walking in the area. We’re delighted that we lived up to your expectations and that you would recommend us to others.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

What can I say about this hotel? The staff were so friendly and made you feel welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The rooms overlooking Lake Windermere were very well presented with excellent self catering facility if you wanted to make your own lunch. The location is perfect for the lakes and the mountains and we spent a lovely morning walking up a mountain to the snow!

The restaurant was superb and this was my teenage children's first taste of ‘Michelin Star’ food - a great introduction for them and when a 15 year old says 'gorgeous' (totally unprompted) about his food - you know it's good!

The little touches were what made me rate this hotel so highly, the chess board and puzzles dotted around the cozy lounge to keep everyone entertained, the wellingtons for loan if you needed them, and the children’s beds turned down in the evening with colour coordinated hot-water bottles warming their beds, meant that the whole family felt a little special.

Our short family break was very restful for all of us with a resounding – ‘Yes, we are glad we came with you’ from the teenagers.

And…Imagine my surprise to see this hotel featured on an episode of ‘The Trip’ featuring Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon – it was fun showing our family ‘that’s where we sat for breakfast’!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WalkersUnited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2010

Dear WalkersUnited,

We’re so pleased to hear that we made your family getaway special, and that we even managed to impress your teenagers! We were delighted to read that you liked the hot water bottles as they are a new introduction; we’re thrilled to see that they are success.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and please come and visit us again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews