We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed with our two children for four nights in a two bedroom cottage (Shieling). The service was top notch and the food was really excellent. The sommelier (Stefan) knows his stuff and recommended a great chateau cheval blanc 1995 when we wanted to splash out.

The children had a great time playing croquet and running around the grounds. The nanny service (Jo) was fantastic and our kids loved her. The weather was fantastic which helped to make the stunning views over lake Windermere even more memorable.

We would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
...then we hope that you do some day! Thank you for taking the time to log on and write such a lovely review. We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you will come back and visit again very soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    214
    116
    47
    24
See reviews for
143
817
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our son bought us afternoon tea with champagne for an anniversary present. We had this on the patio overlooking Lake Windermere and the views were spectacular.
Service was first class. The staff were all very relaxed but also very attentive and professional.
We were also blessed with excellent weather which helped enormously.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give our afternoon tea such a lovely review. You are right - the terrace when the sun shines is the bast place to be in the lakes!

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Miss Potter suite for 2 nights beginning 3rd July for our wedding anniversary. The main building is very elegant in an Arts and Crafts manner , very much in the spirit of a gentleman's sporting lodge . It reminded me of a small version of Cragside in Northumberland and it's relatively small size is part of its appeal , giving it a charm missing from larger hotels. This Miss Potter suite is located in a lodge 2 minutes walk from the main building . The suite is large , light and decorated in tasteful manner. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom well equipped . All 3 rooms and the private terrace. had stunning views of the lake and surrounding hills.
The afternoon tea on the first day was pleasant but nothing exceptional . Nothing wrong with it but paled in comparison to the other meals we enjoyed at the hotel. We both considered it to be light on sandwiches with perhaps too much of the cakes, compared to Betty's or Slattery for example. I realise that afternoon tea is , by definition, for people who have already eaten lunch but for some people . especially when you have been travelling, it is the only meal eaten in the middle of the day and the option of more of the savoury items would be beneficial.

We had dinner at the hotel on the first evening , enjoying the gourmet tasting menu. This was the best meal we have ever eaten. My wife has a disdain for pretentious food and restaurants but she loved this place , both the elegance of the dining room and the imaginative but not overly fussy food , especially the rhubarb dish.

Breakfast was again excellent with a variety of fresh fruit available to offset the well cooked and generously proportioned full english. On both mornings we enjoyed a leisurely post breakfast pot of tea next to the open fire in the main lounge. This is a lovely place to relax reading the newspapers and also the best spot to pick up a Wifi signal.

The staff were polite and professional but friendly and not overly fawning The young French waiter, who was celebrating his 20th birthday, was particuarly knowledgeable when guiding us through the cheese selection and his enthusiasm was endearing. A young lady with dark hair and glasses was smiley and incredibly cheerful even early in the morning and had a lovely engaging manner.

Staying at Holbeck is cerainly not cheap but we felt the prices charged were entirely justifiable given the quality of experience provided. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed the Miss Potter Suite. We have taken your comments on board regarding your afternoon tea and I know that our Kitchen Team is working on improving that area of our offering. I am also glad that you found my team engaging; I have pinned your tripadvisor report to the staff room wall!
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we all look forward to welcoming you back again.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stunning lake views, pristinely kept gardens, the staff couldn't do enough, and the room was the best Iv stayed in. The complimentary refreshments in the room was always topped up through out the day.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your very complimentary review. I have posted your review on our staff notice board for all to see. It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to log on and post such a great review. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to take my mother in law and her well behaved dog. She is not that fit so we needed somewhere she could relax and stay behind if she felt like it .
We wanted Michelin starred food and a stunning view! We were not disappointed! This hotel has the flexibility to book suites or self contained cottages,we booked a cottage with a hot tub on the DB&B basis which was fabulous . It meant we had a kitchen,living room ,utility as well as our own bedrooms and bathrooms,plus an enclosed garden with a stunning view and hot tub .We could make drinks when we wanted and the dog loved being with us !
The food was exceptional as was the service; my mother in law has a severe fish allergy and there were delighted to provide different canapés and menu to suit ..
They were very friendly towards the dog,including leaving a dog blanket with his own treats . We were very lucky with the weather ,but there is lots to see and do even if the weather is wet which it often is .

Room Tip: If a couple ask for the Beatrix Potter Suite ! The views and hot tub are amazing ! Ask for any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowsonfordllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
So glad that you and your owners enjoyed your visit to us and that the team looked after you; they do love dogs - i make sure of it! Give them a lick from me for taking the time to write a review. Let me know when you are coming up next time and I will show you where the rabbits are and how to rush around like a mad thing.

Woofs, sniffs and licks,

Daisy the Golden Retriever
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for my birthday with a one night dinner, bed and breakfast package. Service on arrival was excellent, friendly and informative and then we were taken to our room and shown around. We had a lovely view over the front of the hotel towards Lake Windermere. The room was large, spacious and homely with a complimentary bottle of damson gin finishing it off nicely (it was fantastic homemade damson gin!). The food was unbelievably good with a good selection on the menu. Canapés and a cocktail in the lounge started the meal off brilliantly. I had rabbit followed by veal then the cheese selection whereas my wife had ham hock, best end of lamb and an assortment of lemon desserts. The sommelier and waiting staff were excellent and friendly, we barely even noticed they were there whilst never running short of wine or being left with finished plates. It was extremely pleasant to just sit back, relax and enjoy a nice few plates of food. We finished off with a coffee and an assortment of sweets back in the lounge.

My one disappointment was the price of the drinks. They were extremely expensive, more so than other restaurants of the same kind that we have visited (including those in London). I do not understand why the prices need to be that high.

Breakfast was equally as good, with the same quality of food and the same level of service from the staff. We finished off our visit with a stroll around the grounds on a gorgeous summer morning. This is a cracking hotel in a beautiful location and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room. The views are unbelievable. We were in room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your great review. It was very objective and certainly put us in a very good light. I have posted a copy on our staff notice board for all to see. I do take your point about high drinks prices and we are reviewing them as we speak. Hopefully, this won't put you off returning and we all look forward to seeing you again.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best UK hotels that we've stayed in. The staff are really welcoming and friendly, our room was beautiful and in keeping with the period of the building and the views over Windermere are stunning. We also had a an excellent meal in the evening, again with friendly and relaxed staff in attendance. This place is well worth a visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for your excellent scores. We are all so delighted and I have put it on our staff noticeboard to help boost our morale.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbeck Ghyll soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,034 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing