We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We have wanted to stay and dine here for some time. The wait was rewarded. It's reputation was justified. Superb location, staff very friendly and efficient, room very good. Dinner was excellent - the Michelin star is well deserved. Food well presented and interesting - superb cooking. Breakfast could have been improved with a better fruit salad and a fruit compote; and our dirty plates could have ben cleared. Otherwise this is one of the best hotels and dining in the Lakes.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WestLakesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Good point about the fruit salad; something that my team and I will improve. However, I am cross about the plates...they should have been cleared; a strong word has been had with my restaurant team! However, I was glad that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Holbeck Ghyll in the very near future. Thank you for also taking the time to post such a great review.

With all good wishes

Andrew and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    206
    110
    45
    22
See reviews for
138
795
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Polite, relaxed, friendly service and a very pleasant room followed by a superb meal with an excellent wine. What more can you want? Perhaps the option of a trickle of whiskey on one's porridge next morning?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cratcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
What a great review; perhaps the best I have ever read on us! Delighted that you like us and the quirks. Come back and see us again soon, in the meanwhile, keep a wee dram close early in the morning!

Best wishes from us all.

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I arrived at Holbeck Ghyll on 11th Feb, for a 2-night stay. It was a for a special birthday, and my husband had arranged for champagne and flowers to be in the room when we arrived. We were delighted to be offered an upgrade at no extra cost, and were thrilled with our room, which was now a suite. On the second night we had the gourmet dinner and went with the sommelier's wine recommendation for each course. It was nothing short of excellent. The real surprise was the dessert - the chef had piped 'HAPPY BIRTHDAY' on my dessert plate in chocolate fondant! (how did he know? - excellent communication between the staff, I suspect). Anyway, it was a lovely surprise to finish an outstanding meal.

Although this hotel is not cheap, the seamless service, attention to detail and ability to listen and act on customers views makes it an outstanding establishment. This is not the first, and will certainly not be the last time that we stay at Holbeck Ghyll. This place is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eclecticdiner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Glad we got it so right...and that you enjoyed your birthday surprise. Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you very much for such a positive one. We all hope that you come back soon; keep an eye on our website for some great special offer as well.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had a wonderful lunch today. The service was first class and the staff were very friendly. We had fantastic food and managed 3 courses. Pleasantly full. We had a very clear day and fantastic views. A place to visit. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and taking the time to write such a positive on. We are all glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you return to see us very soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
674 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,502 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Visited with my wife for a romantic night. The place is in a beautiful setting and we stayed in room 4 in the lodge, one of the lower rooms. The views are stunning looking over the Lake. The hotel is east to access and has a small bar area with very pleasant sitting areas dotted around. The room was very comfortable but ---- there was an inter connecting door with the next room. This was not an issue at first but when the occupants of that room, 5 I think, started to smoke, the smell drifted straight into our room. This was not only unacceptable but uncomfortable! We did make a call to reception and eventually the smell went, however a better seal on the door would be more useful. Given that the comfort levels in the rooms are good. What must also be said is that the food here is fantastic! The sommelier is excellent and the wine list vast, in fact all the staff are great and friendly. The breakfast lacked something but all in all my experience was good. We tried this place as we are regulars of a Hotel near by The Gilpin Lodge but feel that it did fall short of expectations. If I returned it would be in a different room. I would advise this doesn't stop anyone going but make sure you choose the room well. When Hotels charge such high rates the full experience should match!

Room Tip: Insist on a non connecting room if you don't smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MULCASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for your honest review; your comments regarding the smoke have been taken on board and we are improving the seals between the rooms. Please accept my apologies for the other guests who broke our house rules; it is very clear it is a non-smoking hotel.

We do hope to see you back with us and we will make sure that you get a room that you will approve of.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend in January for my husband's birthday. Overall it was a good stay but I cant say on my next trip to the Lakes i would book here again. I booked this hotel as it had great reviews, took dogs in the lodges and had a michelin star. We booked the Ultimate Winter Weekend package at 410.00 per night which included the room, dinner, B&B and a few extras such as spa treatment each, hot choc each day etc.

When I booked over the telephone I explained that I didn't want a room with a connecting door because they are always noisier rooms. I was directed to book a room and when I got there, found it had a connecting door. The reception were very pleasant and went to see what other rooms were available. They rang the room and started by saying the cottage next door was free but would cost, I think an extra 40.00 per night. After this they added that the connecting room next door was empty for the next two nights.....I said I was happy to stay in the room then, but the first impression I got was even though it was their mistake, they wanted me to pay extra for another room....I just didn't expect this standard of hotel to say that.

The room had a lovely view, it was very clean and bed comfortable with a good size bathroom and decent shower, but for the price, it just didn't have anything to wow me or give it the edge over other hotels. For e.g the biscuits in the rooms were just the average hotel pre packaged, again with a good restaurant and plenty of local suppliers I would have expected something 'handbaked'. On the second day we had UHT milk cartons not fresh milk....none of it says 'special'. As we had our pets with us they had a note in the room saying please use the pet throw and towel, and complimentary dog treats but there was no throw and dog treats in our room....I didn't mention it as it seemed petty. I must say there were complimentary Damson Gin and chocs in the room which were lovely but the other things took the shine off them.

The spa was great but I guess my biggest gripe was the restaurant. Breakfast was really lovely. The dinner was good but I've had much nicer in Michelin star restaurants. On the Saturday night, my husband's birthday they showed us to a table in the bay window. The curtains were drawn but there was a terrible draught coming from underneath the window seat..as soon as I sat down I noticed it and asked to sit at another table. The said they knew it was draughty and midweek they don't sit people there but on a weekend when they are busy they have to use it. They moved me to the only other table they said was available which was another window seat with another draught. I sat quietly but said I wasn't happy. They then came back and said they had another table I could sit at and this was fine. They resolved the situation, and the staff were very attentive, but it is a Michelin star restaurant and they shouldn't be expecting customers to be uncomfortable during their meal. It was my husbands birthday and it put a damper on things....I was a resident at their hotel, paying 410.00 per night but by doing that It felt that I wasn't important enough.

The staff were very polite and attentive throughout our stay, and don't get me wrong its not a bad hotel but I guess my expectations were raised by the price I was paying and the other great reviews but for me the reality was it just didn't quite meet it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AgaSagaNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I was very sorry to read about your poor levels of service that you encountered; we should have been much more gracious in admitting our mistake. I am also so sorry about the missing dog treat and throw - there is no excuse for this and I have spoken at length with my housekeeping team, who send their apologies. With regards to the draught, we have now fixed this and it should not affect anyone else; I am just sorry that it affected your stay.

I would be very happy to liaise with you directly or by my email at the hotel; that way I can amend your note to ensure that when you are planning a return to the Lakes we are in a much better position to meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Couldnt fault the food. Me and my boyfriend had dinner here and enjoyed every course. It says 3 courses but you also get tea/coffe and chocolates etc, in the lounge area. The scallops and sea bass were the tastiest I have ever had and the service top notch. Well worth a trip if you are in the lakes.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nhartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#9 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing