We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry - Good but not as good as it used to be.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I have been staying at Holbeck for over 15 years for special occasions i.e. birthdays, wedding anniversaries etc. We stayed for 2 nights on 16th and 17th December 2013 for my birthday. We booked a few weeks before hand and as usual requested any room in the main house, as they are usually all great. We were allocated room 6, which we couldn’t recall staying in before. The room itself was decorated lovely however there were 3 areas of concern 1) the bed was far too hard. The only position to get comfortable was lying on one’s back. I woke up a few times with pins and needles down my arm, as the mattress was so hard. I mentioned this to reception the following morning who informed me that most of the mattresses had been changed in the last 12 to 18 months, so changing rooms would not help the situation. I requested a second duvet to be placed under the bottom sheet which helped a little on the second night. 2) The second problem was the noise coming from a locked cupboard behind the headboard on the left hand side of the bed. The noise woke me early in the morning between 6am and 7am and again on retiring to the room to get ready for dinner. It sounds like either water pipes or ventilation etc. Thankfully, the noise could not be heard when we retired in the evening around 11.00pm. I would consider explaining this issues to guests in future and offer a room reduction. Some guest may not mind the early morning noise. I didn’t appreciate it. 3) The third but minor issue was with regards to the shower. It was difficult to get the right temperature of water and the shower head was not very powerful. I have long hair and it took a long time to shampoo and condition due to the lack of speed of the water coming out of the showerhead. Everything else was fantastic - food, wine, service, ambiance, spa was out of this world. Gourmet meal with accompanying wines was fabulous. Holbeck - please just consider these small points, as I think I may be trying somewhere else this year! Sorry.

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully. Don't book room 6 unless you like a really hard mattress and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seansid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Don't go. We are always improving bedding and new mattresses. I am very disappointed that my team did not offer to show you around and I have had a word with the team. Please accept our apologies. Please do give us a call when you have a date in mind to return and explain the issues that you had and we can make sure that your next room is more preferable. I would be grateful if you could email me your name, via the Tripadvisor contact email, so that I can make a note in your booking profile.

Yours sincerely

Andrew McPherson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was our 6th stay at the lovely Holbeck Ghyll but our first Christmas and it was everything and more what we hoped it would be.

There was a lovely atmosphere around the place and everything available you could want for a fabulous Christmas in a beautiful Country house hotel.

This is my favourite Hotel in the Lake District and being a fusspot it ticks all the boxes for me - the food the wine the staff the rooms and of course the amazing views.

It is'nt cheap but the best never is!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Recently had short stay here for my Birthday.We chose to stay in one of the lodges having done so previously and it didn't disappoint.
Accommodation of a very high standard with view to die for.
Staff very friendly and welcoming and service excellent.
Food superb with plenty of choice and all cooked to perfection.
Always a pleasure to stay here and I'm sure we will return soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgomurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for one night between Christmas and New Year.

The building has a lot of charm about it, which looks very inviting with it's open fire places and numerous sofas although it does look a little tired.

The view of Windermere from our bedroom window was spectacular although again, the room was a little basic.

All of that said, the food and the service in the restaurant is excellent and is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at Holbeck Ghyll, we will definitely return. The bedrooms are sumptuous, magnificent views over lake and hillsides, (room 4). What can I say about the food and the service. The food is outstanding, the flavours, textures and presentation ten out of ten, equal to any top restaurant in London and better than some. The service throughout the hotel is faultless, from front desk, waiters, waitresses and management. Can not recommend this hidden retreat enough.

Fiona and Max

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaSamuelsRadnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Undeniably expensive, but you get what you pay for! We stayed in Ghyllside, one of the cottages in the hotel grounds. It is beautifully appointed inside with an open fireplace, two double rooms (one en suite) and a single, with a spacious lounge down 3 steps with a hot tub outside (yes, we did use it, even in December!). We took my 91-year old mother, who has some difficulty with steps, but she managed the internal steps quite easily (although the two steps into the cottage were a little high for her). The staff are, as ever, friendly without being familiar, and seemed to be in very good heart, despite having to work over Christmas. The food, as ever, was excellent (and plentiful, judging by the complaint my weighing scales made on my return home!). Well done, Holbeck Ghyll!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Even with a three for two nights' offer the HB is at the limit of our budget, so not cheap by any means. However, it is absolutely worth every penny. It was the only Michelin starred restaurant in the Lakes until L'Eclume came along, but even that would be hard pressed to equal or better the quality of food, imagination, presentation and service. Our visit was faultless throughout. We went in late September and took advantage of the 3 for 2 offer even though it did not officially start until the last day of our stay.
We stayed in the annex, Benjamin Bunny if memory serves, as we take our dog everywhere and this is the only area they are allowed.
The choice at dinner is wide enough for all tastes, and even then the staff are obliging. My wife fancied one dish but without the sauce, prawns etc...no problem and a customised plate of delicious food duly arrived. Nothing is too much trouble.
Yes, £760 for three nights is still expensive, but absolutely worth every penny.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Annex for dog owners has wonderful views of the Lake. Go for one on the top floor at either end (ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,809 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $199 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing