We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A weekend treat”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We got a discounted B&B deal through Voyage Prive, and even then it was bit more than we usually pay for weekend stays. The hotel is a delight. We visited Blackwell (arts and crafts house)on the way and this set us up to enjoy the lovely arts and crafts furnishings and decoration. We had a room with an amazing lake view in the main house. The room was a real period piece with a wonderfully comfortable bed and the cleanest brightest bathroom ever. Even the tea-making tray is an exercise in working out everything that a customer might enjoy. The staff are delightful - determined that you will enjoy your stay with them. We had a pleasant surprise on arrival - told that our package include an hour's spa treatment! The dinner menu was too fancy for us (why don't smart hotels have a 'plain eater's' option?) so we went down to Bowness for another great meal at the Golden Fortune chinese retaurant. Breakfast was delicious. My wife had a super spa treatment (Fell-walker's Life Saver!) while I idled away an hour in the sauna, steam room and coffee lounge. Some nice touches like a whole set of leaflets on local walks printed by the hotel. If only all hotels could be as good as this..... .

Room Tip: We had room 3 - one of the pleasantest rooms ever. Go for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobnShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Glad you liked us and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your visit to the lakes and hope to see you again soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    214
    116
    47
    24
See reviews for
143
817
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Holbeck Ghyll on a Friday in the lodge (Squirrel Nutkin; all named after Beatrix Potter characters) which is a separate building a short walk from the main house. The room was very nice and spacious with a beautiful view of the lake. The hotel is extremely nice and welcoming with an entrance hallway, two sitting rooms with open fires and a wood panelled dinning room. We booked dinner for 8.30pm and arrived at 8pm for canapés and a glass of champagne in one of the sitting rooms. Your dinner request and wine choices are chosen here then they lead you through to the dinning room. The food and the wine choice (assisted by the sommelier) were excellent. Petit fours were served with coffee in the sitting room were you can relax and chat. My only grumble regarding the food would be the small supplement of £3 for scallops as a starter. When i am paying £380 for room and dinner, why am i asked to pay an extra £3; i mean, come on, whats that about. Just increase the overall price and remove the indignity of the extra charge from the menu; just seemed a little petty to me. That said i had a wonderful time, thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdexholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are delighted you enjoyed yourselves and I have taken your point on board regarding the supplements. Each week we discuss the guest feedback and yours will be a hotly debated point.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you back again with us soon.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hollbeck Ghyll is one of a kind. I stayed there during a long weekend and had a great time. The view of the mountains is simply spectacular. The restaurant and the wine list are impressive. Many of the furniture inside has been restored to perfection. Elia Shreiber, the housekeeping manager was outstanding. Elia herself is a reflection of the high level of service at this unforgettable property. Hope to return one day and bring the family along.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectular views and outstanding decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiliyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
You are right; Elia is a pillar of the South Lake Housekeeping Community and the back bone of our clean and sparkling hotel - you can imagine how hard her and the whole team work given that it is sometimes raining, often muddy and we are dog -friendly! However, this never gets them down - always there with a smile and a doggy towel!

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review!

With al good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was a wedding present and with such a high reputation we were expecting big things. The staff at reception were not as friendly as I'd hoped when we arrived after a *very* long journey; a smile and a hand getting in would have been much appreciated. Our room had a fantastic view of the lake - that cannot be faulted, and the room itself was comfortable.
Dinner was lovely. I had called in with dietary requirements that were noted and yet I still had a fantastic meal at the end of it. The staff again generally were not as warming as I feel they should have been, although we had no complaints about the service itself.
Breakfast the next morning took a little long to arrive but was cooked well. Our final disappointment was with the lunch - the same menu as dinner the evening before but less extensive.
Overall, a nice break but were it not for the food I would not have been very pleased with this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Lakeside room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderin_around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations. My team and I have had a long discussion about how we could have met your expectations and we all send our apologies; you should have been helped with your luggage even though you were staying in one of our lodges.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the food though, especially as you had special dietary requests. I am delighted that my kitchen and waiting team managed to satisfy you in this respect - similarly with breakfast.

Your sincerely

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Maybe we were expecting too much of this hotel but we were genuinely disappointed. It is difficult to put a finger on what was wrong; most of it was due to minor irritations. The staff were pleasant, the room comfortable with a pleasant view, but the whole place felt a little tired. The food was ok but it took too long for items at the breakfast buffet to be replaced on our third morning. . I should have asked for what I wanted to be replenished but by that time I really could not be bothered. Also got cold mushrooms at breakfast - an elementary error. Afternoon tea was a huge disappointment - almost niggardly in quantity and it cost £36 for two. Finally, the bill for our stay was incorrect. It is disappointing to have to make these comments as we had high hopes of having a lovely time but it just fell short for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Willows6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelbo_11, Owner at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Each week my team and I discuss, in detail, the good feedback and areas where we can improve. Your review reminds us that we can always get better in all areas.

I have spoken at length with my team regarding breakfast and they join me in sending our apologies.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garforth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Holbeck Ghyll was booked as an overnight stay on the way to a week in Scotland and what a treat it was. Room 5 was beautifully decorated and had panoramic views of the lake and rolling fields and grazing sheep. The downstairs reception room and restaurant were tasteful and elegant with an impressive wine list and the food was exquisite.
The breakfast was excellent and we finished our stay with a sauna and massage. The perfect start to our honeymoon, we will be back and highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: The views from room 5 are second to none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from our first stay at Holbeck Ghyll and it's not often I say this but it scored a resounding 10 out of 10. Arriving pm Friday, we enjoyed the Gourmet menu and superb wines recommended by Stefan the Sommelier. We stayed in Ghyllside cottage which was spacious, very comfortable , had a real log and hot tub.
Up early the next dat we were greeted by a superb view of the lake and the opportunity to walk our dog to Troutbeck . Spa treatments in the afternoon were luxurious.
All four guests in our party agreed that the food was superb but above all the hotel staff were attentive without being intrusive. They had the perfect balance of formality, genuine friendliness and attention to detail.
Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Nice change to opt for a cottage if there is a group of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,034 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing