We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here just after Christmas for two nights. The hotel is very comfortable and is 'arts and crafts' in design, so our room which overlooked the Lake was quite small and lacked sufficient wardrobe space. The staff are very competant and friendly although we found the Eastern European waiter very difficult to understand.
The quality of the food was excellent, but some may find the presentation a little OTT. The decor in the dining room is not particularly appealing, and the furniture is well past it's sell by date.
The weather was atrocious, so we did appreciate the comfort of the lounges and in particular the open fires.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a view of the Lake and is quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear jong,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are always looking for feedback from our guests and have taken notes about the wardrobe space, we have recently refurbished two rooms and are looking forward to updating our other rooms.
The lounges and cosy logs fires are always a warm welcome after time in the Lake District rain.
With best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

For my 50th my wife booked us in for the "Gourmet Weekend". Right from the journey up the wooded drive, to check-in, to our room, to the service and, most of all, to the food everything was first class. The views from the dining room are absolutely gorgeous and even more so from the lodge room we stayed in. The service at dinner was attentive and informative and the waiters and sommeliers made time to explain the wine choices with each course.

We will certainly return and wholeheartedly recommend Holbeck Ghyll Gourmet Weekend for that special occasion.

Room Tip: Suites are worth the money for the space and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear SuffolkTed,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We thoroughly enjoy hosting our Gourmet weekends and plan two a year.
Best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for my special 40th....everything was brilliant. food service rooms everything fab. Emails get answered asap.
Breakfast fab what else can i say......but can't wait to go back...thanks for fab stay xxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiehosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear angiehosk,
Thank you Angie, I am so pleased we helped you celebrate your birthday.
We look forward to welcoming you back,
Best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife and I had one night here with dinner in the first week of January.
Booking: We had been due to go just for dinner but due to a problem with accommodation elsewhere we ended up booking a night's accommodation. When I phoned to book the prices I was initially offered were higher than those being shown on the website, but after discussion with the manager we were offered a Lake view room at the price displayed on the website (£245) which seemed a fair compromise (although we'd wanted just a classic room).
Welcome: Carparking a little bit limited (mainly because someone was taking up three spaces with their Ferrari - honestly!) but there's an overflow carpark a little lower down the hill. Welcome very friendly and we were given a quick tour before being taken up to our room which was nice.
Room: Really nice. Comfortable - slightly chintzy for my taste but I felt immediately at home. Ipod dock stereo which always pleases me! DVD player with DVDs to borrow at reception. Nice Damson gin as a welcome.
Meal: Great dinner - we had standard a la carte included in room rate. Amuse-bouche - butternut squash with gruyere cheese, starter - pork belly with scottish langoustine and pea foam - this was on a mild curry sauce which I was slightly in two minds about but overall I think it worked exceptionally well and the pork belly was to die for melt-in-the-mouth. main - veal with - you know I don't remember, and I think this was the only disappointment, immaculately cooked veal, fantastic jus, but nothing really whizz-bang about it. Pudding - fantastic - my wife had the mango parcels with nougat glace and couldn't stop going on about it. I had chocolate 4 ways (bitter torte, layered mouse, delice and mini hot souffle) with orange sorbet - properly amazing food. Wine - good choice by the glass.
Breakfast - also good - not overloaded.
Negatives?: Hard to find - but in a hotel of this standard in every other area I would like to see home-cooked biscuits in the rooms, and home-made jam at breakfast. Picky!?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethehills74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear lovethehills74,
Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor for us all to read.
We had a slight problem with our online sites and therefore would of course anything that was advertised, adding an upgrade which I hope you enjoyed the view. The rooms in the main house are more traditional and in keeping with the country house feel, we do have slightly more modern rooms which are in the lodge but still with those amazing views.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We arrived on the friday around 3 and were quickly given a tour of hotel and then taken to our room which was around 50m from main hotel in roon 4 the lodge. The room was big and had outstanding view of the lake. The damson gin was a nice touch.
We went to afternoon tea and met some of our fellow guests a lot already new each other and return each year. Dinner was outstanding as was the service, at a standard I expect.
On Christmas eve we had our first breakfast egg benedict WOW!! But we learnt quickly if we want to enjoy main evening meal watch what we eat the rest of the day because there was plenty of opportunity. Christmas day was brilliant as was the dinner even sprouts were great. I would return without hesitation but not on Christmas for no other reason that I like my family around me.
I found nothing to criticise and highly recommend the food and hotel.

Room Tip: lodge 4 especially in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscarben34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear oscarben34,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.
We hope to welcome you back soon,
Best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a couple of days holiday still to go after New Year, so we booked in last minute and aren't we glad we did. Beautiful setting, very friendly staff, upgraded to a room with a balcony, superb food and drink......what more need we add. Couldn't think of anywhere better to buck us up before going back to work. We will be back!! Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DnLlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear DnLlancs,
What a great way to start the New Year!
We hope to see you soon,
Kind regards,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here on the Gourmet package. On arrival we had a bottle of champagne and afternoon tea. The room was excellent despite being one of the smaller ones. We had a large patio with views of the lake. Dinner in the evening was the best i've had (and we have eaten in several Michelin Star restaurants) and we were dining for over 3 hours! Despite the hotel being very busy, service was excellent. The following day my fiance had a Spa treatment which just finished off our stay. Although the hotel is expensive, you get what you pay for and i could not fault it. The little things made a big difference. For example, complimentary drinks and turning down the bed/preparing the room when you return in the evening. I would love to stay here again, especially in Summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillbillypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Dear hillbillypete ,
Thank you for your comments. It is so lovely to read such fantastic comments.
I hope to welocome you back to enjoy the sunshine during the summer months.
Best wishes,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,841 reviews
1 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range: $205 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing