We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

What can I say? Me and my girlfriend had extremely high expectations for our stay here and they were not only met but exeeded in every way. The reception, the room and the food oh my god the food!! A big bill in the end, yes, but worth every penny. Easily.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyperenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Hyperenou,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
I have passed on your comments to the team who are all pleased we managed to exceed your expectations!
With kind regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    216
    117
    51
    27
See reviews for
144
827
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left our stay at Holbeck was complete relaxation. All the staff were friendly and very professional in everything they did. Nothing was too much trouble. Marvellous. As for the food what can I say but "absolutely delicious". This was one of our main reasons for going to experience fine dining and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the Main House, due to the fact that if it should rain, we wouldn't have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaddleworthSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Saddleworth,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here on a gourmet getaway package and as this was a wedding gift we were looking forward to it.
The hotel reception were very good and we went to our room. The views from there were fantastic and a major attraction for the hotel, great decor inside and a beautifull furnature set and bed but the bathroom did let the the room down with a small bath and tacky shower room. We had a nice half bottle of champagne on arrival and had a cream tea on overlooking the lake. Service in the afternoon was slow and we had to ask for the wine twice which seemed to bother the waitress.
Part of the package was a shoulder and back massage which was one of the highlights of the weekend and relaxing.
We decided to head for the room and get ready for the pre dinner drinks which would have been ok if there had been any hot water! I aksed reception why and they said they would send someone over but waited 20 mins and it eventually came on but intermittent so cut the shower short.
Pre dinner drinks were at 8pm and we enjoyed sitting out on the terrace in the enjoying a G&T and hordervs and was a great way to start the dining experiance.
We were escorted to the table at 8.30 and had a dedicated wine waiter and the hotel had a very extensive wine collection. The food was amazing and set at a good pace enabling you to enjoy the experiance. We had one of the best meals we have had and we do dine out alot, really good service and great ambiance throughout all the way to the coffee again outside on the terrace.
Had a bit of trouble sleeping that night as there was a constant banging through the night sounded like tumble dryer but was too tired to investigate.
Breakfast next day was a let down after the meal the night before and was below the standard I would expect from a Travel Lodge hotel which was a shame.
We went for a walk after and it is a short walk to the lake. When we got back we decided to shower and spend the day around the lake. Yet again no hot water! so no shower. When I checked out and complained about the water I was told "cold showers are good for you" Hmmm thanks for the advice but that should be my decision and not the answer I was looking for.
In summary a good hotel with a fantastic resturant but let down by a dated hotel and poor service during the day however worth a stay if only for the food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeulyat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Sir

We are all glad that you had a great stay with us. I have passed you comments onto the team who are all delighted. However, with regards to your breakfast, obviously this is a disappointing comment. I have discussed this with our chef and we are looking at upgrading the experience. We did have an issue with the boiler locking out, which was attended to when you called down – however, the response from my team, even if said tongue-in-cheek, was not appropriate. They quite clearly read the situation wrong. I can assure everyone that this issue is now fixed.

With all good wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Hopefully my spelling is correct but I believe my title says it all. For two stressed out canadians this was a wonderful experience. If i closed my eyes and described my ideal English Inn this locale would spring to mind. Location was perfect, food superb and the staff professional, attentive and responsive. To paraphrase an expression "I shall return"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Terry91,
What a fantastic title! thank you so much for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Uk and back to Holbeck Ghyll.
With kind regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here courtesy of a birthday present from my Mum who babysat our 7 year old.

What an amazing weekend! We only stayed one night but the hotel was a delight from start to finish. The suprise of the fantastic view on arrival. The more than courteous welcome. The lodge room with fresh milk, orange juice, filter coffee and damson gin. The lovely (new) magazines. Easy listening cds. Beautiful balcony, amazing view. Comfortable chairs in the room. Lovely large bathroom. Comfortable big bed.

The gourmet dinner was a delight as was the main hotel with the lounges and the bar. Dinner was unhurried but attentive.

Can't wait to stay again as the little touches in the room make this a desirable place to stay.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are private with a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascalsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aintree
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My friend and I spent a memorable 5 days in the lake district, which we alreay adore, however our first stay at the Holbeck Ghyll, which was really something very special and elevated the whole trip to another level.
The location of the hotel is stunning, easy to get too from the motorway and country roads and with its magnificant views looking over Lake Windermere, you much try at least once
From the time we arrived to the time we relucantly left we were both treated like Royalty and nothing was too much trouble, from all of the staff. It was like being at home with servants looking after you.
A special thanks has to go to Andrew McPherson (General Manager) who's hospitality was outstanding,. Andrew was very approachable, his sense of humour and absolute proffessionalism is a credit to both him and the hotel
Our room was lovely, very clean and tidy with complimentary toiletries in the spacious bath room and tea and coffee facilities. Added to that we had great views overlooking the Cumbrian countryside.
There is a spa on site but we never endulged, but it looked very nice.
The resturant was fab... no excellent with food that was just outstanding with a service to match. We ate there twice during our stay so we could sample more of the menu (always good to treat yourself)
I cannot think of anything we did not enjoy about our stay, in fact for such a high class hotel it was nice to see staff with a sense of humour and an ability to make you feel welome and relaxed.
We would recommend this little jewel to anyone, you will have a ball

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philomenars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Front Office Manager at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Philomena,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
I have passed on your kind words to all our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards,
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed in a lodge room. The view was sensational, housekeeping was well done cheerful and competent, and the room had some very nice touches. They actually provided milk in the room to go with the morning coffee. The shower and bath were both superb, and the attmosphere was quite relaxing. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable. The sole negative is that one does not have temperature control of one's own room as you should, and they had it set too hot the entire weekend-----and I actually like it hotter than almost anyone.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NJ-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll Country House, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear NJ-Eric,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Holbeck Ghyll. The housekeeping staff are delighted that you found their service cheerful and competent. Thank you for your comments regarding the temperature control. Andrew, the General Manager, has advised that all rooms do have individual heating controls on the radiators.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
4.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
6.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbeck Ghyll Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbeck Ghyll Country House

Property: Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Address: Holbeck Ghyll, Windermere LA23 1LU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbeck Ghyll Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious country house hotel is set in eighteen acres of private woodland and gardens, in England's picturesque Lake District. Holbeck Ghyll offers 23 individually designed en-suite rooms, most with spectacular views over Lake Windermere. The Health Spa offers a range of treatments, sauna, steam room. Food is an integral part of any guests stay, and the Restaurant, which retained a Michelin Star for 14 consecutive years, will not disappoint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holbeck Ghyll Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Hotel Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country Hotel
Holbeck Ghyll Country Windermere
Holbeck Ghyll Country House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing