We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Me and my boyfriend loved it here. The B&B is in a perfect location. On arrival we were met by the owner Gregor who offered us a choice of drink and also homemade cake which was lovely. The B&B itself is lovely and cosy. The room was designed brilliantly and was nice and warm on a wintery weekend. We really did not want to leave. The breakfast was unreal lots of choice and to top it off we could eat it in our room looking out on a wonderful view. Thank you we will return in the future

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshire30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much, it does feel very cosy in Rum Doodle at the mo - despite the autumn chill. We're loving the seasonal colours here in the Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 670 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned home from lovely wknd at the rum doodle.
This was booked as a surprise by my boyfriend and we had the Summit room which was amazing I loved our own living room and the bed was extremely comfy.
Breakfast was amazing and I will be recommending the rum doodle to friends and family infact people are already asking about the place from seeing our Facebook photos and commenting how gorgeous the place is. Parking is great too and plenty of room.
Loved the DVD selection which we took advantage of.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktapp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

.. and it was just Rum Doodle dandy to have you visit! Thanks so much, we're delighted you enjoyed your special surprise stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed at the Rum Doodle as a birthday treat for my girlfriend after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were greeted by a warm welcome on arrival and served with a much needed drink and delicious slice of chocolate and beetroot cake! Stylish Room (Number 1) which had everything needed for a comfy stay, but was slightly let down by a bathroom which didn't quite match the style of the room. Only other slight disappointment was the position of the room being on the ground floor which meant you could hear the comings and goings of the other guests. Those slight issues aside we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Breakfast was superb with lots of tasty menu options and quality local ingredients. Rum Doodle made the perfect base for exploring the beautiful lakes and both Bowness and Winderemere were just a short stroll away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We're delighted you enjoyed our unique Rum Doodle style. Sometimes our ground flor rooms can be a little noisy when other guests are coming and going in the hallway, and because we're generally in such a quiet area perhaps it's noticed a little more. We've had other guests tell us that staying elsewhere in Windermere, on the main road for instance, it can be constantly noisy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our Trip was meant to start on the 6th Oct however my Partner fell ill. Emma & Gregor were very helpful in moving us to the next week. We were so glad we managed to get there. Set midway between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere (10-15 mins walk in either direction), this traditional yet quirky house has its own character with each room decorated differently. On arrival you are greeted with Tea and Cake and made to feel most welcome. Whilst sampling the lovely cake you can tap into their local knowledge to know the best places to go.
Breakfast is all locally produced high quality food that all tastes lovely. A real great way to start your days exploring.
All rooms are clean and tidy we had room 1 on the bottom floor. The bed was very comfy and décor was nice. My only issue was the shower was in a recess and due to my height it was a little awkward to get in but by no means impossible. A selection of Tea & Coffee is in the room as well as a B&B guide to the area.- Many of the Restaurants' and bistros were sampled and they were all very nice. I particularly liked Daisy's and The postilion (May be spelt wrong) Great value for 3 courses. An Amazing meal.

Windermere is a truly amazing area- Orrest Head walk is well worth the views.
We also went to Ambleside, Grassmere and Langdale Pikes all very good. I would really recommend climbing Harrison Stickle up to Stikle Tarn.
Just drive to Great Langdale and park opposite Stickle Tarn Tavern- The footpath out the back leads straight up to Stickle Tarn. Tricky climb (For beginners)but with waterfalls all the way down. Breath taking.

All in all we had a fantastic time at Rum Doodle. Next time we go to the Lakes we will definitely be making a stop of there.

Room Tip: All have their own character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We were pleased to re-arrange your stay and so glad you made the most of Rum Doodle and the delights of the Lakes. Room 1's shower is a little tight for the tall, but the superkingsized bed is favoured by many of our long guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

As others have commented, this is an excellent B&B with friendly hosts in a convenient location (but peaceful for a good night's sleep). The decor is usually described as 'quirky' but perhaps 'themed' round a book would be more accurate, Rum Doodle being the name of the book. The breakfast chef delivers a great start to the day. The bedrooms (we visited with family and were in three of them) are beautifully decorated and furnished, but to be picky, we thought that the bathrooms, while perfectly functional, will need an upgrade at some point to match the luxury elsewhere. Speaking as a gardener, I would strongly urge taking advice without delay on the removal of the large conifers at the front of the property before they cause structural problems. As I hope to return at some point, I would not like to find that Rum Doodle had slid down the hill!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriciaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We're so pleased you loved so many of our rooms. Bathroom upgrades are underway and thank you for your valued gardening advice! We too want Rum Doodle to survive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here in the "storm" over the weekend.

Weather wasn't great but that made this B&B all the more cosy. We stayed in Room 6 which was spacious and well-equipped. The bed was really comfy and we appreciated the home-made cookies and tea and coffee facilities.

We ate breakfast in our room and chose the pancakes which were lovely.

All in all a fantastic B&B, exceptionally clean and a generally lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherhoward100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

...so glad you enjoyed watching the "storm" from the comfort of Rum Doodle. We're now enjoying the calm and some wonderful autumn colours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were looking forward to staying at Rum Doodle ever since finding it, and our stay certainly didn't disappoint. We had such a warm welcome with drinks and cake on arrival. The décor is gorgeous and very similar to our own style. We stayed in room 5 (wish) but it had been so hard to choose which room to try first - as we'll definitely be back. We had a very comfortable night's sleep after an evening out in Bowness. The information booklet provided was full of tips, and we were pleased to see some of our own favourites mentioned in it. Thank you for a lovely trip, we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Corner room with 2 windows and lovely four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMorton27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

You are very welcome! Thank you so much, we're delighted you dug the Rum Doodle decor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
713 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#10 of 107 in Windermere
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $102 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing