We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just enjoyed a two night break at this lovely b&b. The decor was gorgeous and really quirky and our room was very clean and comfortable with a gorgeous bath in the corner. We had a very warm welcome from the owner and the staff were very nice and helpful. Last but not least the food was amazing, huge choice at breakfast and an endless supply of tea and coffee. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately return, thankyou!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sahbear196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

...and it was wonderful to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle! This summer's a scorcher and Rum Doodle's feeling dandy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 669 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I took my fiancé to Windermere as a suprise to celebrate his 40th birthday. I chose the Rum Doodle over at least 30 other B&B's and was not disapointed.
When We arrived on Friday 19th July 2013, Emma and Gregor greeted us and served us some fabulous home made carrot cake and coffee after showing us our room (what a lovely couple they are) . We stayed in room 6 (Shute) on our first night which was amazing. The decor was gorgeous especially the wallpaper with faces on and we loved the 4 poster bed. It was my fiance's birthday the following day and Emma and Gregor served us breakfast in our room which was Delicious. I can honestly say the full english is probably the best breakfast i've ever tasted ! Emma and Gregor even went to the trouble of putting a candle in my fiance's breakfast and sang happy birthday to him (nice touch).
We stayed in room 8 (Burley) on the second night which was my favourite out of the two. It has recently been refurbished and the photos honestly don't do it justice. It was absolutely amazing ! I'd asked for bubbly, chocolates and balloons to be put in the room for when we got back from a walk into Bowness, nothing was too much trouble. The highlight of the afternoon was sipping the bubbly in the gorgeous roll tap bath which was big enough for two !
So much effort has gone into the design of these rooms, right down to the very last detail. Each one being totally individual. I wish we could have stayed longer and spent a night in each one ! Emma and Gregor should be very proud ! I would definitely recommend the Rum Doodle and am looking forward to visiting again.
Lastly I would like to thank Emma ang Gregor for making my fiance's 40th a birthday to remember. Oh and thank you for the sting relief lotion Gregor, it did the trick and I no longer have 2 elbows !

Room Tip: I recommend room 8 the Burley suite
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you so much for those really kind words! We're delighted you enjoyed the Rum Doodle decor in both Room 6 and the newly refurbished Room 8. We love a good celebration and you guys certainly did it in style - we were happy to provide the bubbles and chocolate to help things along! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hi, i stayed here with my now fiance in May 2013. We arrived on the Friday evening and we were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming Emma, she advised us all the places to go to that evening and were not to go too, which is always good!! I stayed with the plan to get engaged so ahead of the trip i had asked to have a bouquet of flowers delivered to our room for the Saturday after 5pm (when the deed was done) and upon arrival my fiance was greeted by the most amazing flowers.. And everything was just perfect!!! The hotel was beautifully decorated, the room we stayed in 'the shute' was stunning with exceptional views of the hills of Windermere and the breakfasts were special.. Definitely want to go back as soon as possible, cannot wait in fact!! 5 stars..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Congratulations!!! It makes us so happy and proud that so many of our wonderful guests choose a stay at Rum Doodle to help "pop the question." Very best wishes for your future together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just got home from staying at rum doodle and although tired from journey had to go on here to write about our fantastic weekend stay at rum doodle. From the minute we arrived it was special, on arrival we were greeted with a lovely warm welcome from Emma, pot of tea and delicious home made carrot cake. We stayed on top floor in the burley room, omg!!!!!! Absolutely amazing, my partner arranged for rose petals on the bed, chocolates and champagne as I sat in the sunken bath that is in the room, unbelievably romantic. Breakfast was the tastiest we have had the blueberry pancakes were to die for and the cooked breakfast truly brilliant, choice was fabulous, overall the nicest B and B we have been and can not wait to return and will defiantly have to be the burley room fell in love with it!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margi190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

We're delighted you enjoyed the new look Room 8 "Burley" - our loft sanctuary, with Edwardian bath, here at Rum Doodle. It's currently our favourite room and a source of great comfort to many a weary traveller! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is one of the best B&B's I have stayed in, and it is superbly run by Emma & Gregor who are both extremely nice, friendly & helpful. The breakfasts are to die for and served at reasonable times (not too early). We were warmly greeted upon arrival by Gregor and offered assistance with our luggage, then shown to our room & offered tea/coffee and cake. Gregor then asked he could help in any way with our stay and offered suggestions for restaurants etc. The room was clean & the bed was very comfortable, the room facilities included tea & coffee making facilities and lovely cookies and equipped with a LCD TV & an iPod dock.

Gregor also accommodated us with another night due to car trouble, which couldn't be fixed until the Monday morning of our weekend stay.

Without doubt will be returning to the Rum Doodle on our next visit to the Lakes. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Room 6 or Loft Room are the best rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sund01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

We're delighted you kept smiling all weekend, despite your car problems! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle, many thanks for your wonderful comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My mum and dad deserved a break and so we booked them into this B & B after reading the reviews. It was amazing from start to finish! Welcomed with coffee & cake! The breakfasts were lovely and the breakfast room was bright and comfortable. The room they stayed in was beautiful. The decor was amazing and very well thought out even the smallest details!
Location was great, lovely walks and great pubs close by. Evening meals were in local restaurants, lots to chose from. Will they be back.......of course! Will they recommend.....totally!

Room Tip: Any room would be amazing!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We're so pleased your lovely Mum and Dad enjoyed Rum Doodle, so much! Thanks for booking them in - and we hope to have you all back sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were warmly greeted by Emma and taken to our room 'Summit'. Great rooftop views and lovely touches made this room special for the last day of our honeymoon. We had our own bathrobes and had some interesting books in our room. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. Great location for Bowness on Windermere, shops and eateries are a short walk away. The breakfast was delicious, with a good selection of hot food choices, lovely fruit platter and real ground coffee. The breakfast room, like the entire B and B is wonderfully quirky, with amazing attention to detail. There is so much to look at without it being at all cluttered. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Manager at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle on the last day of your honeymoon! We're delighted you enjoyed our quirky vintage style so much - you'll just have to stay longer the next time you visit! Wishing you the very best of luck in your new married life! Emma & Gregor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#10 of 107 in Windermere
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $116 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing