We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfully quirky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were warmly greeted by Emma and taken to our room 'Summit'. Great rooftop views and lovely touches made this room special for the last day of our honeymoon. We had our own bathrobes and had some interesting books in our room. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. Great location for Bowness on Windermere, shops and eateries are a short walk away. The breakfast was delicious, with a good selection of hot food choices, lovely fruit platter and real ground coffee. The breakfast room, like the entire B and B is wonderfully quirky, with amazing attention to detail. There is so much to look at without it being at all cluttered. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Manager at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle on the last day of your honeymoon! We're delighted you enjoyed our quirky vintage style so much - you'll just have to stay longer the next time you visit! Wishing you the very best of luck in your new married life! Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    77
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
502
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Rum Doodle during May. We were greeted by the lovely Emma who continued to look after us all week and provide us which lots of ideas and places to visit/ shop/ eat!!! breakfast was to die for! The room was lovely especially liked the wall paper! Location was ideal. We would recommend Rum Doodle to everyone
Thank you Emma for being the perfect hostess! See you again!
Sarah and Rachel xxx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
...and you were fab too! Thanks so much for that lovely review of Rum Doodle, Windermere! Our wallpaper is a great talking point and the newly refurbished Room 8 makes the most of two fantastic papers we recently discovered. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We came at the weekend to celebrate my partners birthday and the welcome we had was amazing!!! We stayed in room 9, "the summit" and the room itself was stunning!! The be was really comfortable, and the separate lounge area was filled with such special quirks and details that we were really comfortable!! The extensive DVD collection available downstairs made out stay even better, and the breakfast was fantastic!!! We will definitely be back and telling all our friends!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiechang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Praise indeed! Thank you so much for thet kind review of Rum Doodle! It gives us so much pleasure to know that our guests can really relax and enjoy this very special place. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My boyfriend booked us in for the weekend to celebrate my birthday and for a relaxing weekend after a hard few weeks. I loved every second of it, relaxing and calming and the extra touches made it just fantastic. Greeted with tea and home made cake and made to feel very welcome. Room was fantastic ( room 6 Shute) all the extra effort to details were fantastic. Breakfast was taken in our room with a gorgeous view and the breakfast was pretty special too. I had the pancakes on the second day and they were truly delicious. Perfectly located with a short walk to both Windermere and Bowness. We had a fabulous weekend thank you so much, you truly have a very special place and we can't wait to come back and stay again soon.

Room Tip: Room 6 Shute, extremely comfortable bed and the choice to have breakfast served in your room at a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We love to be fantastic and unique here at Rum Doodle! Our newly reburbished Room 8, with the roll top bath in the bedroom is going down a treat too - so perhaps worth a try for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked this B&B last minute on the evening of our stay but were still treated to a warm welcome and drink and cake on arrival. The hosts were friendly, the rooms quirky and comfy and breakfast tasty. More interesting than your average B&B and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
...and we must have you back at Rum Doodle, Windermere! We're delighted your last minute stay was so appreciated. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We received a very friendly welcoming from the owners who were very helpful in providing information about the area. The room was quiet and bed was comfortable. The location was very convient. Breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for the Rum Doodle recommendation - we're always pleased to do our visitor guide bit when we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I only stayed here for one night, although we wished it had been longer. Rum Doodle is a beautiful B&B nestled in a quiet part of Windermere but close enough to walk to the village centres of Windermere and Bowness, as well as other nearby sights.
We had a warm welcome of tea and cake on arrival and were shown to our quaint but perfectly formed room.
Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious and the owner Emma was friendly, accommodating and happy to give us some handy tips of what to see around the area.
The B&B is excellent value for money and I would definitely stay here again given the opportunity and would highly recommend it to others visiting the Lakes District.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We wished it had been longer too! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle and we are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us so much! Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing