We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakes District charm and quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lakes District charm and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had one night at this lovely B&B, but could easily have stayed longer if we had more time. Our hosts, Emma and Gregor, were charming and very friendly and helpful with things to do and see in the district. We were given a neat room complete with 4 poster bed, a nicely refurbished bathroom with shower over bath, and heated towel rail (great for clothes drying). Next morning we were treated to a magnificent chef prepared breakfast - delicious! The property is walking distance to the main street for shops and restaurants, which is very convenient.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for those kind words, we're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at Rum Doodle, Windermere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    74
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
493
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King's Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a warm, friendly, superbly well run B&B situated within easy walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness. Emma and Gregor truly are the best of hosts; from the warm welcome to the cheery farewells, nothing was too much trouble for them throughout our stay. As soon as you arrive, you can see the love, care and attention they put into the place throughout and that’s what makes this B&B stand out.



We booked the Shute room for three nights with our 2 year old daughter, a large airy room with very comfortable four poster bed and a breakfast table situated in the large bay window. We were delighted to find a selection of children’s books and a place setting with kiddie tableware. With so many places claiming to be child friendly, it was an absolute breath of fresh air to find Emma and Gregor truly were, as they welcomed our little one with open arms and ensured she felt as welcome as we certainly did.



With tea and homemade cake in the afternoon and a complimentary bottle of very nice house red, we felt really spoilt! Breakfast was superb with a wide array of dishes available. My wife alternated between the banana and blueberry pancakes and the banana and almond porridge and enjoyed both equally. After tasting the full English on the first day, I stuck with that for the duration – extremely tasty and well cooked with a perfectly poached egg on each occasion!



As you can pretty much guess, we had a fantastic stay at Rum Doodle and wish we’d been able to stay for longer; it really was a home from home. Thank you Emma and Gregor for making it a lovely stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adethomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
When you want the perfect poached egg, search no further than Rum Doodle, Windermere! It was a real plasure to see your smiling faces each morning - we're delighted you enjoyed the room so much. We have limited availablity for children, but that means they get extra special attention when they are our guests. With very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at Rum Doodle mid week. Had the warmest welcome from the owners and we had a wonderful stay. The breakfasts are amazing and the pancakes are hevenly. We would stay again without a doubt.
The little touches really elevate this place above other bed and breakfasts that we have stayed at like home made cake on arrival.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liamtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you! We agree it is the small touches that mean so much more at Rum Doodle, Windermere! A warm welcome is what we hope for when we travel, so it's the least we can do to make sure our guests always receive one here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Rum Doodle is a wonderful Hotel in Windermere. We have stayed here many times over the past 2 years and each visit is always made special by the hosts Emma & Gregor. They look after you so well, you will feel like you are at a spa, it is that good. Nothing is too much trouble. I celebrated my 60th birthday here in April and the little touches they provided made it so memorable, I will never forget it. The breakfasts are "to die for" and I recommend trying the black pudding. Hadn't used to be a big fan of black pudding but this delicacy changed my mind.
A BIG thank you to Rum Doodle, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
As ever it was our pleasure to have you stay - and even better that you had a terrific Rum Doodle birthday! You recommendation means a huge amount to us, your smiles are simply infectious and we can't wait to have you back! Very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Second Stay at the Rum Doodle (March 2013)
Fantastic little B&B and warm welcome from the owners who couldn't be more helpful.
We stayed the March weekend with all the snow, but this didn't deter from the experience at the B&B.
Quirky, Fun and you are well looked after here!

The breakfasts are brilliant too.

Hope to visit again soon

Room Tip: The Rum Doodle has various themed rooms and having stayed in 2 different ones. The top floor with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IbizaAndy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We're delighted you liked Rum Doodle in the snow! Spring is finally here - now the sun is shinning and the food is just as good as ever! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a lovely trip to the lakes and spent a night here at rum doodle. Owners Greg and Emma were lovely and very welcoming. House and food were excellent, it was great having a choice for breakfast and all of the options were very appealing! House was beautiful and kept so well, decor was very tasteful and reflected a trendy style.

Room Tip: Attic room had quite a noisey water system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nriley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed your birthday here at Rum Doodle so much! Apologies, if you found the attic water system a little intrusive - there's a pump which kicks in to give good water pressure to the shower when it is switched on, so it's not a constant noise. We will try to muffle the pump more, but unforntuately it's the only way to guarantee a good shower in our loft suite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

From the minute you walk up the steps to the front entrance of the property and ring on the bell, you are greeted by a warm welcome and sense of homeliness. The hosts are wonderful: helpful yet un-intrusive. The house itself is a concoction of eclectic furnishings: from a moustache-shaped front door mat to a quirky hat display that creates the lighting in the hallway, to a range of individually decorated bedrooms, each with their own character. The food is divine, we have never tasted such quality in such a relaxed atmosphere. The location couldn't be better, equidistant from Windermere and Bowness and just a short drive, bus or boat trip to Ambleside. We also drove to Keswick and Grasmere with ease. If you are looking for a relaxed break, in a property that offers atmosphere, comfort and luxury, a class above the standard B&B, you will struggle to pick fault with this guesthouse. A truly wonderful stay - thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandv13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much! We do try to be a class above the average B&B here at Rum Doodle - we're so glad our efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#7 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing