We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a special weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked a weekend in Rum Doodle for me and my girlfriend as a romantic weekend away for me to propose at Stickle Tarn, which is one of the many beautiful places surrounding Bowness and Windermere. I booked online and was NOT disappointed! The guest house is beautiful and the service was better than 5 star resorts I've stayed in! There was
nothing better after a drive from County Durham to Windermere than being met with the question, "would you like a glass of wine brought to your room?" We stayed in room 6 (the one with the faces) and it was lovely, the decor was tasteful and well maintained, breakfast served in the room was a real treat.
The staff at Rum Doodle were exceptionally friendly and helpful, it made a special weekend perfect!

Jonny and Sarah

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Manager at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Hi Jonny and Sarah - what a wonderful thing to do! We love Stickle Tarn, it's is certainly is a magical place to propose - we do hope those fond memories live with you for ever. We're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle's Room 6 - we agree that a pleasant glass of wine is just the ticket after a long journey! Hope to see you back again soon. Very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 687 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Myself and my wife have just come back from a Perfect 2 night stay at Rum Doodle. We had looked at loads of hotels in the area online before deciding on the Rum Doodle. All the reviews were so positive and they didnt let me down!

This place is amazing and the owners Emma and Gregor are lovely! Our main contact was with Emma and from the first initial enquiry right to the morning we left she made us feel so welcome. The personal service and personal touches set this place apart from any other we have stayed at in the UK.

When we arrived we were greeted by Emma and Gregor. We were shown round our room by Gregor whilst Emma arranged tea and cake for us. We were told about things to do in the area whilst we sat and had our afternoon tea and we genuinely could not have been made to feel more welcome.

We stopped in the Attic or "The Summit" which is room 9. The room is out of this world. Very Quirky, spacious and with loads of lovely finishing touches. This is the most expensive of the rooms but I still feel it is very reasonable and well worth the cost. We will definitely be picking this room again however all the rooms look lovely and doubt you would be disappointed with any of them.

The breakfast that is served is gorgeous and really set us up for the days exploring the beautiful area.I had the english breakfast each morning and it was definitely the best I have tasted at any hotel or B&B I have stayed in before.

The location of the Rum Doodle is also perfect. it is literally a 10 minute walk by foot to Windermere centre and also to Bowness. We particularly liked Bowness for its restaurants and nice bars and also for the amazing scenery.

I genuinely cannot rate the Rum Doodle highly enough and we will definitely be returning as a couple and also again with friends and family. We could not have picked a more perfect place to spend our weekend in the lakes and we would like to thank Emma and Gregor for such an amazing weekend.

You must visit this place!

Room Tip: "The Summit" or Room 9 was Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ30UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

We love perfect! Thanks so much! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle and we're delighted you enjoyed The Summit - our cosy loft suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Came across this place on trip advisor when I was planning a trip to Cumbria. The name itself was intriguing. So I had a closer look. The description on Trip Advisor and the reviews were enough to make the decision very easy. Book! Done!

The day before we were due to arrive, we got a call from Rum Doodle, just to confirm arrival time etc. Excellent service. I was already feeling very welcome, and I had not left home yet.

Upon arrival we found our hosts to be out, but we found our room as we had been instructed. Small room, but perfectly setup. Loved the decor, cleanliness, quirkiness (a good use for those old jelly moulds as light fittings) We were warm, dry and with plenty of coffee (real coffee) and tea (with tea pot) in our room, we felt right at home.

No sooner had we arrived and checked out our room, than the hosts arrived. Making sure we had everything we needed, providing excellent information about local eateries and distance. We had already reviewed the booklet in the room, but hearing it confirmed verbally is reassuring. Unpacked, settled in, breakfast menu all reveiwed and filled in, we were free to roam Windermere.

Dinner options aplenty within easy walking distance. Why would you not walk in this breathtaking part of England? It was evening, raining and a bit chilly but still the walk was beautiful. Shops and restaurants were busy and well lit, providing lots to look at.

After a very peaceful nights sleep, we woke to go down for breakfast. The breakfast room is beautiful. Lots of interesting artefacts, clean, and I noted that jams were really home made! There was so much attention to detail here, with decor, lighting, music, food, service. It would be hard to stay anywhere else when you visit the lake district.

I would have to put this establishment at the top of my list. So may additional features that all go to make you smile when you realise just what you have stumbled upon. Please if you are in the area, make a point of treating yourself to what I consider to be a gem. Exceeds expectations, without breaking the budget. We shall be back again and again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmuirone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Many thanks for that. We're finding that our Trip Advisor reviews are really helping us grow our business here at Rum Doodle, Windermere. We're so glad you appreciated all the little things that contribute to a bigger picture - and that you enjoyed the beautiful autumn here in the Lake District. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Lake District - stunning beauty, breath-taking vistas, quaint and charming locals, and friendly people. This is what we came to see and discover. We selected the Rum Doodle, actually the Braemount House (hope I spelled it correctly) because of the great TripAdvisor reviews...we were not disappointed.

Unfortunately, we never met the owners as they were away on holiday (hope you enjoyed yours as much as we did ours!). Rosie took terrific care of us, however. We did have difficulty with finding the place based on the directions we had from the Internet. Our one suggestion would be to have a better, more definitive set of directions from the various ways into Windermere. It took us about 45 minutes and many trips around the area before we finally stumbled on the place. If the directions were from the perspective of a total stranger to the area, they would probably be more instructive.

We stayed in The Summit room (#9) with views that just didn't end. The skylights (with darkening shades) make you feel like you can reach out and touch the stars. We had a modern, spotless en suite bathroom with lovely local soaps, a sitting room, and bedroom (mattress was a bit hard for me).

The breakfasts were out of this world. The buffet offered cereals, fruit, yogurt, and Rosie brought the coffee, tea and hot breakfasts. Delicious.

Would we stay here again? Yes, if we stayed in Windermere again...there are so many interesting towns in the Lake District...!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thanks for that lovely review of Rum Doodle, Windermere - we had a great holiday thanks and are delighted you did too! Sorry you experienced difficulty in finding us - we normally send out pretty clear directions with all our direct bookings. It may be that you were following some directions supplied by one of the booking agencies, so we'll check those for clarity. Many of our guests say they appreciate the quiet location of Rum Doodle, just off the main thoroughfare but still within easy walking distance (10mins) of Windermere and Bowness/the lake..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for one night in the jungle room and loved it. We were impressed from the off, greeted with a coffee and cake from the owners friend, she was great and made us feel really welcome in their absence. Loved the room, tastefully decorated, right up my street as they say, beats any other B&B I have stayed in. I'm a bit cautious of these places as they can sometimes look like your nana's house....this however could give any upmarket hotel a run for its money. The location was great, near enough to walk in to either Bowness or WIndermere, but really peaceful and quiet. Good recommendations of eateries, which really helps because there are some awful places to eat if your not familiar with the area, we went to Porto and loved it. Really impressed and would love to return soon. You have a fantastic place with wonderful food and service.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you so much Amanda. It's always a bit nerve racking when we go away on holiday for a few days so we're delighted you loved the decor and the warm welcome here at Rum Doodle. We do try to stand out from the crowd in the best possible way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spur of the moment night away. Arrived to be met by a lovely young lady who was in charge while the owners were away. Got a tour and a complimentary glass of wine and bowl of crisps. Breakfast was good with a buffet and cooked options. Felt very welcomed, all staff were friendly. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We've just got back from our own holiday and are so glad you found our staff attentive and hospitable here at Rum Doodle, Windermere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at Rum Doodle for one night on a brief leisure getaway. The B&B is located midway between Windermere and Bowness, which are the two main centres of Windermere (Bowness is by the lake, Windermere is up the hill). The building is large, and has been fitted out to a very high standard - you notice the quality of the fittings, as well as the cleanliness of the rooms and public areas. The hosts are most welcoming, friendly, and willing to offer tourist advice - there is also plenty of information left in the rooms. There is much to recommend this B&B - not least the well-cooked breakfast - so I would book again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The "small double" room is, as advertised, small but there it is still fitted to a high st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thanks for recommending Rum Doodle, Windermere! Glad your found all our tourist advice useful and hope to see you again soon for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#18 of 20 in Windermere
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 107 in Windermere
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $102 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing