We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice of Heaven...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Heaven...”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Lake District - stunning beauty, breath-taking vistas, quaint and charming locals, and friendly people. This is what we came to see and discover. We selected the Rum Doodle, actually the Braemount House (hope I spelled it correctly) because of the great TripAdvisor reviews...we were not disappointed.

Unfortunately, we never met the owners as they were away on holiday (hope you enjoyed yours as much as we did ours!). Rosie took terrific care of us, however. We did have difficulty with finding the place based on the directions we had from the Internet. Our one suggestion would be to have a better, more definitive set of directions from the various ways into Windermere. It took us about 45 minutes and many trips around the area before we finally stumbled on the place. If the directions were from the perspective of a total stranger to the area, they would probably be more instructive.

We stayed in The Summit room (#9) with views that just didn't end. The skylights (with darkening shades) make you feel like you can reach out and touch the stars. We had a modern, spotless en suite bathroom with lovely local soaps, a sitting room, and bedroom (mattress was a bit hard for me).

The breakfasts were out of this world. The buffet offered cereals, fruit, yogurt, and Rosie brought the coffee, tea and hot breakfasts. Delicious.

Would we stay here again? Yes, if we stayed in Windermere again...there are so many interesting towns in the Lake District...!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for that lovely review of Rum Doodle, Windermere - we had a great holiday thanks and are delighted you did too! Sorry you experienced difficulty in finding us - we normally send out pretty clear directions with all our direct bookings. It may be that you were following some directions supplied by one of the booking agencies, so we'll check those for clarity. Many of our guests say they appreciate the quiet location of Rum Doodle, just off the main thoroughfare but still within easy walking distance (10mins) of Windermere and Bowness/the lake..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    77
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
510
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the jungle room and loved it. We were impressed from the off, greeted with a coffee and cake from the owners friend, she was great and made us feel really welcome in their absence. Loved the room, tastefully decorated, right up my street as they say, beats any other B&B I have stayed in. I'm a bit cautious of these places as they can sometimes look like your nana's house....this however could give any upmarket hotel a run for its money. The location was great, near enough to walk in to either Bowness or WIndermere, but really peaceful and quiet. Good recommendations of eateries, which really helps because there are some awful places to eat if your not familiar with the area, we went to Porto and loved it. Really impressed and would love to return soon. You have a fantastic place with wonderful food and service.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much Amanda. It's always a bit nerve racking when we go away on holiday for a few days so we're delighted you loved the decor and the warm welcome here at Rum Doodle. We do try to stand out from the crowd in the best possible way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spur of the moment night away. Arrived to be met by a lovely young lady who was in charge while the owners were away. Got a tour and a complimentary glass of wine and bowl of crisps. Breakfast was good with a buffet and cooked options. Felt very welcomed, all staff were friendly. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We've just got back from our own holiday and are so glad you found our staff attentive and hospitable here at Rum Doodle, Windermere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at Rum Doodle for one night on a brief leisure getaway. The B&B is located midway between Windermere and Bowness, which are the two main centres of Windermere (Bowness is by the lake, Windermere is up the hill). The building is large, and has been fitted out to a very high standard - you notice the quality of the fittings, as well as the cleanliness of the rooms and public areas. The hosts are most welcoming, friendly, and willing to offer tourist advice - there is also plenty of information left in the rooms. There is much to recommend this B&B - not least the well-cooked breakfast - so I would book again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The "small double" room is, as advertised, small but there it is still fitted to a high st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for recommending Rum Doodle, Windermere! Glad your found all our tourist advice useful and hope to see you again soon for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

As part of my UK 2012 holiday my niece & I decided to take a few days away from London, her choice was to stay at a B&B in Windermere, The Lake District. I found the Rum Doodle online and thought it looked nice, fun and quirky, with a good location between the villages. We stayed in Room 1 “Binder” which was easily turned to a “twin” room. We arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted by Emma who showed us around, served us coffee/tea and a lovely cake and she shared a lot of knowledge of the area…very helpful as we had never been here before.

The breakfast was GREAT! I was on a smoked salmon kick on this holiday and the dish did not disappoint. Even being on the 1st floor near the dining room we were not distracted by noise, no more than in a regular house. They have a great written guide for the area, including walking trails and local restaurants. Since we did not have a car it was important to find a place close to both the town of Bowness & Windermere – The Rum Doodle is a 10 minute walk to each. Since these areas are not huge on night life we also took advantage of the provided DVD collection…some good titles that kept us entertained.

I would definitely recommend the Rum Doodle to someone traveling to The Lake District.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Were really pleased you felt you made a good choice with Rum Doodle Windermere. Room1, Binder, can be made up as a twin beds or a superkingsize bed and we've recently redecorated it, so we think it's looking pretty good too! Our smoked salmon comes from the Cartmel Valley Smokehouse, which is fast gaining a reputation for some great products - so we're delighted it was such a hit with you! Very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in the final base camp, otherwise known as room 8 which,at 23 and a half feet above ground level, was both roomy and comfortable.The porters were both friendly and obliging having no difficulty in delivering the wine from the base station. The breakfast prepared by a much improved Mr Pong was equally impressive. We would have no hesitation in recommending this B and B and are intending to arrange a further expedition early next year.
Norris and Julie Oyston, County Durham.

Room Tip: Please read The Ascent of Rum Doodle to get the most out of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Norris & Julie, we're delighted your expedition to scale the heady heights of Rum Doodle (Alt. 23.5 ft ) was such an enjoyable success. The ever-keen porters were more than pleased to cart the said rucksacks of quality wine up the craggy incline to your lofty perch in final base camp (Room 8). We're pleased to report that all returned safely with most bones intact (the frostbite thankfully didn't require surgery) Mr Pong in the kitchen was particularly taken with your gusto in ordering the stewed climbing boots for breakfast and is already marinating a fresh batch in anticipation of your next expedition. Agreed, reading The Ascent of Rum Doodle will really enhance your stay! With thanks and very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Looking for a romantic break in the Lakes, my husband and I decided to try a guest house instead of the usual hotel offerings. We happened across the website for Rum Doodle and as previous reviewers have described, the decor makes the guest house stand out from the crowd. But don't be fooled Rum Doodle is not a matter of style over substance this guest house is visually stunning, but every other aspect from the service upon arrival, we had the chocolate brownies, to the fabulous breakfast brought to us in our room was by far and away exceptional. (We also enjoyed a nice bottle of wine for booking on line) Grigor and Emma have gone to great lengths to provide thoughtful extras to make your stay enjoyable. I even considered taking sugar in my tea just so I could use the beautiful sugar tongs! (The more you look the more you find but I won’t spoil the surprise by listing them all, what would be the fun in that!) We stayed in room 6 which is the one with the faces on the wall, quirky and stylish with mirrored furniture which you can enjoy without the worry of having to clean all the fingerprints you would get if you had these at home. I was a little anxious about whether staying in a guest house would feel intrusive compared to the anonymity of a hotel but I needn’t have worried, and to be honest it felt like a boutique hotel to me.
We also made use of the advice in the visitor’s guide and booked a special birthday meal at one of the recommended restaurants, Cedar Manor. Again, personal service, exceptional food and extremely good value for money. The meal was certainly fine dining as described but the atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed. The happy birthday confetti was a nice touch too.
All in all a terrific stay don’t hesitate book your visit you won’t be disappointed. Oh and the lakes are beautiful if you can drag yourself out of your 4 poster!
Many Thanks Doreen & Michael

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Doreen & Michael - many thanks for that warm review, we're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle's Room 6, Shute, so much. We've recently found some fantastic new wine from False Bay in South Africa which comes complimentary with direct bookings - a very big cheers from us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing