We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can stop looking now this is the one to book!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can stop looking now this is the one to book!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Looking for a romantic break in the Lakes, my husband and I decided to try a guest house instead of the usual hotel offerings. We happened across the website for Rum Doodle and as previous reviewers have described, the decor makes the guest house stand out from the crowd. But don't be fooled Rum Doodle is not a matter of style over substance this guest house is visually stunning, but every other aspect from the service upon arrival, we had the chocolate brownies, to the fabulous breakfast brought to us in our room was by far and away exceptional. (We also enjoyed a nice bottle of wine for booking on line) Grigor and Emma have gone to great lengths to provide thoughtful extras to make your stay enjoyable. I even considered taking sugar in my tea just so I could use the beautiful sugar tongs! (The more you look the more you find but I won’t spoil the surprise by listing them all, what would be the fun in that!) We stayed in room 6 which is the one with the faces on the wall, quirky and stylish with mirrored furniture which you can enjoy without the worry of having to clean all the fingerprints you would get if you had these at home. I was a little anxious about whether staying in a guest house would feel intrusive compared to the anonymity of a hotel but I needn’t have worried, and to be honest it felt like a boutique hotel to me.
We also made use of the advice in the visitor’s guide and booked a special birthday meal at one of the recommended restaurants, Cedar Manor. Again, personal service, exceptional food and extremely good value for money. The meal was certainly fine dining as described but the atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed. The happy birthday confetti was a nice touch too.
All in all a terrific stay don’t hesitate book your visit you won’t be disappointed. Oh and the lakes are beautiful if you can drag yourself out of your 4 poster!
Many Thanks Doreen & Michael

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Doreen & Michael - many thanks for that warm review, we're delighted you enjoyed Rum Doodle's Room 6, Shute, so much. We've recently found some fantastic new wine from False Bay in South Africa which comes complimentary with direct bookings - a very big cheers from us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    77
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
505
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Rum Doodle is stylish yet homely, with lots of attention to detail from the decor to the home made biscuits, we stayed in room no.9 - the summit where the views were gorgeous as was the room itself. Nothing is too much for the staff with all our needs catered for and the B&B is a stroll away from everything. I can't recommend Rum Doodle enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi N&C - thanks so much for that lovely recommendation - it was great to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle, Windermere and we hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my hubby have just spent a lovely weekend in windermere at the rum doodle for our 10 year wedding anniversary. It took hours of looking at numerous b&bs before this one leapt off the page at us.We aren't a couple who like twee and flowers , so the photographs of the interior looked like just the place for us... We were greeted at the door by Emma and immediatley offered afternoon tea complete with a yummy offering of chocolate and ginger cake- splendid. We booked in room 2 "the jungle" which was perfect to mark our anniversary as it has lots of vintage maps on the wall and vintage travel type accessories (we went backpacking for a year on our honeymoon, so extremely apt furnishings!). We were given a complimentary bottle of pinot upon arrival for booking direct and this was just the perfect drink to relax and unwind before hitting bowness!! The experience of being able to eat our breakfast in our room was a real treat.. never have I stayed anywhere before where this has happened!!
The breakfasts here are second to none and I can honestly say the salmon was undoubtedly the best I have ever had!!.We both had the cumbrian breakfast on the first day and were so full afterwards that we didn't have lunch till 3:30 and that was only because we were being greedy (there really wasn't any need for any lunch!!)A testimony to how good the breakfast is, is that me and my hubby actually got up for it!!! A first in any establishment, especially after sampling the one and only nightclub in bowness the night before nad being in such a comfy bed!!!
Rum Doodle is a really unique experience. The hosts are very friendly and knowledgable. The decor is charming and well thought out and the food is equisite
This place is probably the only place in the UK where me and my hubby have felt like we have been somewhere very special;
Rum Doodle has had such an effect that my hubby has purchased his first 8 vintage maps as he is apparently making us a decoupage map hallway!!!!!- it'll keep him out of mischief, so thanks for the inspiration!
Thanks Muchly
Karen and Bri

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kareny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Karen & Bri - oodles of thanks from Rum Doodle! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our vintage decor such a terrific inspiration. We've recently discovered Cartmel Valley Smoke House which we think supplies the best smoked salmon to be had by a long way. Come back soon for more R&R and our award winning breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

After a very hectic fortnight, my wife and I chose here for 2 days relaxation after our wedding. We were in the suite at the very top and it was fantastic. The bedroom is in the eaves and really well executed. The little lounge with sofa is great to curl up on. As soon as we arrived we opened our champagne, put on a DVD and chilled out for the first time in ages. Breakfast was great both days and everyone very friendly. We've stayed in about 5 b&bs in Windermere and this is our favourite. The separate sitting room in the suite meant we could chill out and relax properly . We would definitely choose this room again as its so nice and very quiet.

Thank you for a great start to married life.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Wow! Thank you so much! We're really pleased that we were able to offer you peace and relaxation. All at Rum Doodle wish you the very best of luck in your new married life!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our first time at Rum Doodle last week and we had a great few days! It was our first time away with our 6 month old daughter and Emma and the staff made us feel very welcome. We stayed in Room 9 (The Summit) which was perfect for us three and the separate lounge, hallway and bedroom was great for all our extra stuff. As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfasts are delicious (the pancakes are recommended). Bowness is an easy 10 minute walk away - The Angel Inn (on the way to the lake) is pretty good for food and a drink.The thing we really liked about Rum Doodle was it differed to most other B&B's we've stayed at in the Lakes, which frankly can be quite chintzy and dated. Emma and Gregor have approached the place with a quirky and eclectic style - which may not be everyone's cup of tea - but the reviews on here indicate that many people are looking for something a bit different to the run of the mill b&bs found all over the area. There's a very welcoming atmosphere here, and as a base to stay for travelling around the area we'll definitely be back in the future (the chocolate and ginger cake we had at check-in is worth a return visit alone!). Recommended!

Room Tip: If travelling with a baby or toddler - the Summit room is probably your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ichamoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you with us at Rum Doodle, Windermere. We do hope we stand well apart from the all too common traditional chintzy B&B experience - we aim to be stylishly quirky, high quality and most importantly, welcoming! We do hope to see you again soon. Very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a delightful place to stay in! We Arrived a little before 12:30pm a bit early on Saturday to be greeted by Gregor. Straight away we were offered homemade Carrot Cake (amazing), fresh coffee & tea just what was needed after a 3 hour drive. We stayed in the wish room, cosy, great views out of both windows, perfect size, the decor was very tasteful and modern. We each had waffle dressing gown hanging up in the closet for us as well, it was nice to relax in the evening with a DVD from their wide collection in the Lobby, there is something for everyone's taste. After returning back from dinner we had a complementary bottle of wine waiting in our room for us nice end to the evening. Breakfast was excellent each morning with several choices to choose from as well as being able to help ourselves to a range of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, toast and juices. The staff were very attentive. First morning I had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg,(best I've ever had) I enjoyed the scrambled egg so much the second morning I had scrambled eggs with fruit! Shaun had Cumbrian English cooked breakfast, normally a few hours after breakfast he eats again but this kept him full all day.
We took our bikes without thinking of where we were going to keep them safe, Gregor and Emma were very helpful letting us keep the bikes locked up in their shed also letting us borrowing their locks. This B&B is the perfect base for exploring the Lakes and is approx. 15 min walk from the pier at Bowness on Windermere. I would definitely recommend the Rum Doodle, & we will be back to stay there again.

Thank you Emma and Gregor, we will come back again, best wishes from Caroline and Shaun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Caroline & Shaun, it was a great pleasure to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle, Windermere and see you joyfully heading off on your bikes each morning. We're so envious, as we wanted to be out there doing the same! We're delighted you felt welcome and relaxed here and that you enjoyed the wonderful food - it's what we aim for, country house quality and service without the country house costs! We do hope to see you here again soon. With very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I would recommend Rum Doodle on the basis of location and quality of breakfast. You can walk either up or down the main road and find quaint little shops and good restaurants. We arrived very early and were welcomed in and given tea and coffee and home baked cake. The dining room is nice and quirky with lots to entertain the eye.
We had room 8 "prong" I think.(my husband had booked as a surprise) he hadn't realised there wasn't a shower and that the bath was in the corner of the room with a mixer shower attachment. The toilet was in a tiny cupboard which stunk - probably because of the 90's carpet in it. The light was dim. And. we both spent the 2nights making a joke of the smell and dingieness. So slightly disappointed with that.. but I understand its taking them time to revamp the place. Saying that it was clean. Apart from that the room was nice. Good bed sheets. Hair dryer ok. Nice tea and homemade cookies.
Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit salad. Cereal. Juice. Yoghurt. Toast. To help yourself to. Then a selection of breakfast meal. We both enjoyed both days.
Overall pretty good apart from bathroom facilities in that particular room.x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waheyitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We're really glad you enjoyed you stay at Rum Doodle, Windermere but are concerned over any confusion about the bathroom arrangement in "Burley," Room 8, our loft four poster room. We do explain clearly on all our information that the room has a corner bath in the actual room with an ensuite toilet. Many people take that room because they love the bath, but we understand others prefer a shower option and we we do offer that in all our other rooms. Apologies if you found the toilet smelly, we were not aware that was a problem during your stay and would have addressed it immediately had you brought it to our attention. Please do come and stay with us again soon, but perhaps you'd find one of our other rooms more suitable. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing