We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome addition to The Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North West England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A welcome addition to The Lakes”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our first time at Rum Doodle last week and we had a great few days! It was our first time away with our 6 month old daughter and Emma and the staff made us feel very welcome. We stayed in Room 9 (The Summit) which was perfect for us three and the separate lounge, hallway and bedroom was great for all our extra stuff. As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfasts are delicious (the pancakes are recommended). Bowness is an easy 10 minute walk away - The Angel Inn (on the way to the lake) is pretty good for food and a drink.The thing we really liked about Rum Doodle was it differed to most other B&B's we've stayed at in the Lakes, which frankly can be quite chintzy and dated. Emma and Gregor have approached the place with a quirky and eclectic style - which may not be everyone's cup of tea - but the reviews on here indicate that many people are looking for something a bit different to the run of the mill b&bs found all over the area. There's a very welcoming atmosphere here, and as a base to stay for travelling around the area we'll definitely be back in the future (the chocolate and ginger cake we had at check-in is worth a return visit alone!). Recommended!

Room Tip: If travelling with a baby or toddler - the Summit room is probably your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ichamoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you with us at Rum Doodle, Windermere. We do hope we stand well apart from the all too common traditional chintzy B&B experience - we aim to be stylishly quirky, high quality and most importantly, welcoming! We do hope to see you again soon. Very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    77
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
510
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a delightful place to stay in! We Arrived a little before 12:30pm a bit early on Saturday to be greeted by Gregor. Straight away we were offered homemade Carrot Cake (amazing), fresh coffee & tea just what was needed after a 3 hour drive. We stayed in the wish room, cosy, great views out of both windows, perfect size, the decor was very tasteful and modern. We each had waffle dressing gown hanging up in the closet for us as well, it was nice to relax in the evening with a DVD from their wide collection in the Lobby, there is something for everyone's taste. After returning back from dinner we had a complementary bottle of wine waiting in our room for us nice end to the evening. Breakfast was excellent each morning with several choices to choose from as well as being able to help ourselves to a range of cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, toast and juices. The staff were very attentive. First morning I had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg,(best I've ever had) I enjoyed the scrambled egg so much the second morning I had scrambled eggs with fruit! Shaun had Cumbrian English cooked breakfast, normally a few hours after breakfast he eats again but this kept him full all day.
We took our bikes without thinking of where we were going to keep them safe, Gregor and Emma were very helpful letting us keep the bikes locked up in their shed also letting us borrowing their locks. This B&B is the perfect base for exploring the Lakes and is approx. 15 min walk from the pier at Bowness on Windermere. I would definitely recommend the Rum Doodle, & we will be back to stay there again.

Thank you Emma and Gregor, we will come back again, best wishes from Caroline and Shaun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Caroline & Shaun, it was a great pleasure to have you stay with us at Rum Doodle, Windermere and see you joyfully heading off on your bikes each morning. We're so envious, as we wanted to be out there doing the same! We're delighted you felt welcome and relaxed here and that you enjoyed the wonderful food - it's what we aim for, country house quality and service without the country house costs! We do hope to see you here again soon. With very best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I would recommend Rum Doodle on the basis of location and quality of breakfast. You can walk either up or down the main road and find quaint little shops and good restaurants. We arrived very early and were welcomed in and given tea and coffee and home baked cake. The dining room is nice and quirky with lots to entertain the eye.
We had room 8 "prong" I think.(my husband had booked as a surprise) he hadn't realised there wasn't a shower and that the bath was in the corner of the room with a mixer shower attachment. The toilet was in a tiny cupboard which stunk - probably because of the 90's carpet in it. The light was dim. And. we both spent the 2nights making a joke of the smell and dingieness. So slightly disappointed with that.. but I understand its taking them time to revamp the place. Saying that it was clean. Apart from that the room was nice. Good bed sheets. Hair dryer ok. Nice tea and homemade cookies.
Breakfast was good. Fresh fruit salad. Cereal. Juice. Yoghurt. Toast. To help yourself to. Then a selection of breakfast meal. We both enjoyed both days.
Overall pretty good apart from bathroom facilities in that particular room.x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waheyitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We're really glad you enjoyed you stay at Rum Doodle, Windermere but are concerned over any confusion about the bathroom arrangement in "Burley," Room 8, our loft four poster room. We do explain clearly on all our information that the room has a corner bath in the actual room with an ensuite toilet. Many people take that room because they love the bath, but we understand others prefer a shower option and we we do offer that in all our other rooms. Apologies if you found the toilet smelly, we were not aware that was a problem during your stay and would have addressed it immediately had you brought it to our attention. Please do come and stay with us again soon, but perhaps you'd find one of our other rooms more suitable. Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed as a stopover enroute to Scotland and would have loved to have stayed longer. Emma is a wonderful and knowledgeable hostess. Our room was small but perfectly formed, clean and we'll decorated. Breakfast was a delight - certainly one of the best we've ever had. Will definitely be returning for another visit and are determined to finish the famous novel then!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We love it when someone comes for a stopover and then wishes they could stay longer at Rum Doodle, Windermere surely that must be one of the best recommendations! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I booked 2 nights at the Rum Doodle for a surprise second anniversary weekend for my husband. Well what can I say words fail me to describe how amazing this B & B is... Emma and Gregor were both very lovely and made sure we were comfortable and happy. Emma even arranged for hand made chocolates to be in our room on arrival as a surprise for my husband. The room which we stayed in "Wish" or Room 5 was incredible the decor is wonderful and a perfect size. Emma had even put homemade chocolate chip cookies in our room on arrival together with a lovely bottle of white wine which was a wonderful surprise.
The location of Rum Doodle was fantastic as in perfect walking distance to both Windermere and Bowness but just far enough away from both to be outside of the hussle and bussle.
The cooked breakfast being served was to die for and Emma and Gregor were both very accommodating especially when asked for a bacon buttie by my husband!
During our stay Emma and Gregor both recommended places to eat for lunch and dinner to which were both amazing.
Both my husband and I would like to say a huge thank you to you both and all your staff for making our anniversary weekend perfect.

Room Tip: Stay in Room 5 "Wish" it has dual aspect windows and a lovely small sofa to cuddle up on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We're absolutely delighted you had such a good anniversary with us at Rum Doodle! Thanks for that lovely review - from beautiful bacon butties to chic chocolates, we aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a marvellous setting. What marvellous hosts with Emma , Gregory and their lovely staff. Myself and wife spent 3 days in 'Constant'......go there, you will understand...we were looked after from arrival till departure. Emma is a mind of fantastic information and even her daily weather forecasts were spot on. Our only complaint was that we were only able to afford to stay for 3 days as opposed to 3 weeks.! Will definitely go again and would whole heartedly recommend. Very well done to all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreacleNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
You deserve a prize for the best review title to date for Rum Doodle, Windermere! Thanks so much for that - please do come again and stay longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

From the minute my boyfriend and I arrived at Rum Doodle we were made to feel welcome and relaxed. A delicious, cooling drink of fresh orange juice on the patio was just the ticket after two tough days of camping. The room we stayed in 'Shute' was very spacious, clean, comfortable and had a pleasant view out the front. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast in the room - what a treat! All in all our stay was wonderful and we'd certainly recommend Rum Doodle to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 6 'Shute'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMunnipenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We love to give a warm welcome here at Rum Doodle, Windermere! Many thanks for you recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 108 in Windermere
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing