We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What more can I say...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wow! What more can I say...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I booked 2 nights at the Rum Doodle for a surprise second anniversary weekend for my husband. Well what can I say words fail me to describe how amazing this B & B is... Emma and Gregor were both very lovely and made sure we were comfortable and happy. Emma even arranged for hand made chocolates to be in our room on arrival as a surprise for my husband. The room which we stayed in "Wish" or Room 5 was incredible the decor is wonderful and a perfect size. Emma had even put homemade chocolate chip cookies in our room on arrival together with a lovely bottle of white wine which was a wonderful surprise.
The location of Rum Doodle was fantastic as in perfect walking distance to both Windermere and Bowness but just far enough away from both to be outside of the hussle and bussle.
The cooked breakfast being served was to die for and Emma and Gregor were both very accommodating especially when asked for a bacon buttie by my husband!
During our stay Emma and Gregor both recommended places to eat for lunch and dinner to which were both amazing.
Both my husband and I would like to say a huge thank you to you both and all your staff for making our anniversary weekend perfect.

Room Tip: Stay in Room 5 "Wish" it has dual aspect windows and a lovely small sofa to cuddle up on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We're absolutely delighted you had such a good anniversary with us at Rum Doodle! Thanks for that lovely review - from beautiful bacon butties to chic chocolates, we aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    77
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
502
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a marvellous setting. What marvellous hosts with Emma , Gregory and their lovely staff. Myself and wife spent 3 days in 'Constant'......go there, you will understand...we were looked after from arrival till departure. Emma is a mind of fantastic information and even her daily weather forecasts were spot on. Our only complaint was that we were only able to afford to stay for 3 days as opposed to 3 weeks.! Will definitely go again and would whole heartedly recommend. Very well done to all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreacleNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
You deserve a prize for the best review title to date for Rum Doodle, Windermere! Thanks so much for that - please do come again and stay longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

From the minute my boyfriend and I arrived at Rum Doodle we were made to feel welcome and relaxed. A delicious, cooling drink of fresh orange juice on the patio was just the ticket after two tough days of camping. The room we stayed in 'Shute' was very spacious, clean, comfortable and had a pleasant view out the front. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast in the room - what a treat! All in all our stay was wonderful and we'd certainly recommend Rum Doodle to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room 6 'Shute'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMunnipenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We love to give a warm welcome here at Rum Doodle, Windermere! Many thanks for you recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed for 3 nights in September for my birthday, and honestly couldn't have imagined a more wonderful stay. The B&B has the most amazing style, yet still feels homely and the hosts Emma & Gregor both making us feel very welcome,Emma even providing a candle in my breakfast on the morning of my birthday!
Great location, a quick walk down-hill to Bowness and slightly up-hill towards Windermere, we were central yet far enough away to enjoy the peace of being in the lakes.
Brilliant stay with great weather, and perfect for my partner to propose :-) we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheridan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Congratulations! We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay here at Rum Doodle, Windermere - enjoy those wonderful memories and come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in the Summit room (at the top with the extra living room/suite area) for a weekend. Got into Windermere later than expected in the evening after a hassled trip down to be met by Gregor who brought two very welcomed large glasses of wine and some crisps to our room! Room very nice , though i soon found out the hard way that the ceilings are low in this room!! Very comfortable bed, quiet and very clean Nice modern furnishings,nothing floral and twee about this place! Best breakfast i've had from a B&B (and pretty much Hotels as well) - plenty to eat and drink, with a wonderful choice including pancakes,smoked salmon,honey and nut porridge, as well as the traditional cooked breakfast.

Location great as well, easily walking distance to Windermere town centre. Parking on site. Staff all very friendly and helpful.
Definitely a nice place to stay, would happily go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stickybun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you! We're really pleased you enjoyed the loft suite here at Rum Doodle, Windermere. Yes, if you are tall you need to watch those ceiling beams in our two loft rooms. Try Room 6 the next time you come - it' has a large four poster bed and high ceilings! Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Me and my partner enjoyed our stay here.Emma and Gregor excellent hosts.The room was perfect,clean,tranquil and quirky.. The breakfasts are a must have.Location is nice and quite,lovely walk into Bowness.Glad we chose to stay here....will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxijynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Looking forwards to having you back again! Many of our guests remark on how peaceful it is here at Rum Doodle, Windermere yet the lake, shops and restaurants are all within an easy stroll of our front door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We only stayed one night but it was perfect in every way you cant fault anything. Emma was very welcoming and friendly. The decor was very tasteful and modern and the breakfast was excellent. My husband had the full english breakfast and I had blueberry pancakes with fruit compote and both were scrumptious. To top it off breakfast was enjoyed in our own room. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55vik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregor S, Owner at Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We're so pleased you enjoyed your one night with us at Rum Doodle - hope to have you back again to enjoy a longer stay sometime soon! Best wishes, Emma & Gregor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#7 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing