We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, West Lothian
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, October 2011 with my 18 month old daughter and my girlfriend. Very nice B&B and Emma could not have been more helpful. Cake and coffee on arrival and fresh biscuits in the room- lovely.

Very good breakfast and really enjoyed the smoked haddock and poached eggs. Nice to see home made jams and sauces at the breakfast table. Stayed in room 9 and only word of warning would be to to watch out for the beams!

More a 9 out of 10 than a 4 out of 5. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shug45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    74
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
491
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I wanted a short break to de-stress and relax. As soon as we arrived at this beautifully presented guest house we were given a warm welcome by the owner. We had the deluxe double room which is a converted attic space which had it's own bathroom. We also had a small but cosy sitting room to ourselves. After a long and tiring day at work we were very appreciative of the glass of wine and kettle chips offered to us when we went up to our room on that first night. The furnishings were comfortable and stylish and we slept well both nights. A real highlight of our stay was the delicious breakfast. There was a great choice and it was all cooked to the highest standard. The lady who served us breakfast was lovely and friendly. Great location, great people, great hospitality. Highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Upon arrival we greeted very warmly by Emma and made to feel welcome straight away , we were also offered a complimentary warm drink of our choice. , We were shown to our rooms which was a pleasant surprise, it was tastefully decorated and the four poster bed set the room off and the place was immaculate.

We were told the times for breakfast then left to our devices, upon leaving for the evening to go for dinner, we asked the best places to go and Emma was more than happy to help. The next morning we were again greeted very warmly and made our way into the lovely breakfast area, there was fresh juices, yoghurt, fresh fruit, toast and cereals for you to choose from and, then we able to order a cooked breakfast, which i have to say was lovely, not an ounce of fat or grease and how did they get there fried eggs so perfect??? The coffee which ground and fresh was delicious too ( and i forgot to ask what it was!!) Overall it was a very pleasant experience and i would most definitely stay there again...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I have read previous reviews for the Braemount and personally, I find the comments to be very picky. Someone has commented that the breakfasts were "over cooked", how rude!!! The chef (Carlton) is a true professional and all his food is top drawer stuff. Don't let other petty reviews put you off, this hotel is the best in the Lake District with wonderfull hosts (Emma & Gregor). We have stayed here 4 times in the last 12 months now and the experience is second to none. This is the only place we will stay at when we visit the Lakes. The rooms are spotless, the service is excellenent and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts to make your stay the best ever. Dont let one or two "picky reviews" put you off, sometimes people are only happy if they find something to complain about. Don't listen to the minority, see for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wesmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Quiet location, nice 10 minute walk through the town to the lake. Perfect service from home made apple and ginger cake on arrival to thoughtful direction on restaurants and local things to do. Room was small but perfectly appointed. Great breakfast!! Shower was the only issue but don't let that stop you.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KA184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We cant fault the welcome or service we recieved on our honeymoon at the Braemount! From arriving to leaving it was a fantastic stay, the room was excellent, very comfy bed, amazingly plush towels and breakfast served to us each day at the lovely table in the bay window. We also found the small touches the best, a box of chocolates as it was our honeymoon, and a bottle of wine as we had booked directly with them. We wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 6 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Emma and Gregor looked after us so well, with such a light touch, it felt like we were staying with friends. Our 8 month-old was made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 9, a very generous suite with a wide corridor connecting the living room, bedroom and bathroom. The travel cot actually fitted in the corridor which meant we could use the living room in the evening as well as not having to sleep in the same room as the baby (who is lovely but noisy). The bed and linen were first class and I loved having a dressing gown! Breakfast was excellent- fresh berry fruit, yoghurts and toast as well as the extra tasty full English. The breakfast room, in common with the rest of the house, feels quietly superior, lots of space and well-finished details, with a warm and restful atmosphere. We would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LateRooms, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing