We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We were markedly impressed with this place. Fantastic hospitality, beautiful spotless room, we had the top suite affording us lots of space to spread out and feel like a home from home. Borrowed one of their walking books on offer for a day on the hills! Excellent food, gorgeous complimentary chocolate brownie on arrival. The owners have created a black book with all the important information you need on the area -i.e. walks, restaurants, shopping! Incredibly helpful. All in all, an absolutely fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 680 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

I sourced this b&b on trip advisor as the reviews were excellent, it certainly lived up to make expectations and more! The couple who run the hotel are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. I was contacted by emma to ask what time we would we be expected to arrive so that our room would be ready for us, on arrival we were served with coffee and homemade carrot cake. The room was clean and comfortable with little extras of homemade buscuits and designer tioletries. The location is ideal as it is situated between windermere and bowness so a 10 minute walk either way. The breakfast was fabulous with great choice and cooked fresh served by the very cheerful Beth. I would recommend this B&B if you are plannig to stay in that area don't miss out!!

Room Tip: There are 9 rooms and you don't get any noise or disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NURSE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was our first time in the Lake District, and this B&B is in perfect location. It's right between Windermere and Bowness, meaning that you can walk to either in about 10-15mins. Before our arrival Emma kindly emailed us very clear directions to the B&B (really helpful if you don't have a sat nav) along with a list of good places to eat. When we got there she greeted us with delicious home made brownies and tea.

The room was a good size and nicely decorated, with high quality and super-clean bedding. There's a kettle and a selection of good quality tea. The bathroom was small but enough for the two of us. The dining room was beautiful and elegant, and breakfast delicious! If the weather is bad, you can snuggle up with a DVD from a big selection.

Emma and Greg were both really helpful in giving us directions and tips, and recommending places to visit in the Lake District - we'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForlanDing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

well what can i say, when we arrived a warm welcome by emma with home made chocolate brownies and a cup of tea, room was very nice with 4 poster bed( lovely) a lovely out look, bath towels very thick and soft and you even get a flannel!. information on where to eat and places to go, nothing was any trouble,fresh milk when you needed it in a small flask to keep fresh.location was ideal 10mins walk each way to bowness and windermere, breakfast was very filling tea and coffee never ending,thankyou greg and emma for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: we had room 6 very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie865292762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We've just got back from a weekend at Braemount and have not got a single thing to complain about (which is amazing in itself), not only is there nothing to complain about - there's so much good to say...
This B&B is set in a quite street and there was no noise at all even though it's in a busy area.
Gregor & Emma are the prefect hosts, they can't do enough for you, they are the most genuine B&B owners we've ever met. They sincerely care about their guests and their needs. On arrival we were offered a glass of wine or tea/coffee and shown to our room. Gregor carried our case for us and was very hospitable. The offer of a flask of fresh cold milk for making drinks was one that lasted the whole of our stay "just ring the bell" and true to their word milk was on hand whenever we wanted it.
The room was perfect, the four-poster bed was very comfortable and the bedding crisp and clean. Two pillows provided with the option of more on request. The room was well appointed, amply sized and airy. The en-suite was great with all the best in shampoos etc - but Gregor and Emma have gone one step further, extra large fluffy towels and even good quality toilet roll (one of my favourite pet hates in holiday acommodation is cheap toilet roll).
Emma recommended a wonderful place to eat out for our anniversary meal (the Queens Head at Troutbeck) and even gave us superb directions which made the journey so much easier as the Queens Head is not very easy to find.
The breakfast was great - help yourself to fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, toast and fruit juices, followed by a good diversity of cooked food. The Cumbrian breakfast was the most popular with everyone staying when we did, and the plates were going back clean.
Even the cleaning staff were polite and courteous.
I would most certainly recommend this B&B if you're going to Windermere/Bowness - I know we'll use it again. And at £95 per night per room you won't find better value!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilson030708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Well, where do we start? There's so much good to come from this hotel, from the moment We arrived We were made to feel very welcome. A beautifully decorated and very clean place to stay for any length of time. We were welcomed by Greg and asked if we would like some cake and a drink, but we had just been to Burgerking lol.

We were shown to Our room by Greg and all details explained to Us. Greeted with all the essentials needed after a short trip from home, a nice cuppa went down well with the homemade biscuits left for us in the room. Showergel, soap, bodywash, fluffy towels and robes all ready and waiting (which was a pleasant surprise as you dont normally get that!) When we came downstairs to go sightseeing, We were asked if We would like milk to take to the room when we got back as they have little flasks for you so you dont have to have the dreaded warm Uht...!!

The room was elegantly decorated with a modern but hint of vintage class and the 4-poster bed was the comfiest We had slept in in years. Tv/dvd player in the room, as well as an ipod docking station, which was quite unexpected, we are a young couple into the mod cons and it helped a great deal. There was an adequate en-suite ample for the daily needs.

When We went down in the morning for breakfast in the dining room, We were shocked!! We didnt even realise there were other guests as noise was kept to an absolute minimum. The fresh food was amazing as well as the cooked breakfasts. Compliments to the Chef and also to the waitress too. Lovely to have a natter with and very down to earth.

The overall location was ideal for both Windermere and Bowness (The Lake), and is situated on a quite road not often used by much traffic, which was great for peace and quiet...!!

Overall, this is the best hotel We have been too in a long while and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to familys and friends alike..!!
Emma & Greg are a credit to this hotel... and We hope the success for the future doesnt stop us from being able to book again lol...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frannifanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Had a lovely welcome to the braemount, chocolate cake and tea on arrival which was lovely.
Our room was very nice and very clean , lovely and comfatable bed too :) .
Breakfast was yummy .Great location as only a 10 min stroll into bowness.
Hopefully will vist again this year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $78 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing