We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B with a soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Londinium, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B with a soul”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This was our first time in the Lake District, and this B&B is in perfect location. It's right between Windermere and Bowness, meaning that you can walk to either in about 10-15mins. Before our arrival Emma kindly emailed us very clear directions to the B&B (really helpful if you don't have a sat nav) along with a list of good places to eat. When we got there she greeted us with delicious home made brownies and tea.

The room was a good size and nicely decorated, with high quality and super-clean bedding. There's a kettle and a selection of good quality tea. The bathroom was small but enough for the two of us. The dining room was beautiful and elegant, and breakfast delicious! If the weather is bad, you can snuggle up with a DVD from a big selection.

Emma and Greg were both really helpful in giving us directions and tips, and recommending places to visit in the Lake District - we'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForlanDing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    77
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
510
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

well what can i say, when we arrived a warm welcome by emma with home made chocolate brownies and a cup of tea, room was very nice with 4 poster bed( lovely) a lovely out look, bath towels very thick and soft and you even get a flannel!. information on where to eat and places to go, nothing was any trouble,fresh milk when you needed it in a small flask to keep fresh.location was ideal 10mins walk each way to bowness and windermere, breakfast was very filling tea and coffee never ending,thankyou greg and emma for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: we had room 6 very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie865292762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We've just got back from a weekend at Braemount and have not got a single thing to complain about (which is amazing in itself), not only is there nothing to complain about - there's so much good to say...
This B&B is set in a quite street and there was no noise at all even though it's in a busy area.
Gregor & Emma are the prefect hosts, they can't do enough for you, they are the most genuine B&B owners we've ever met. They sincerely care about their guests and their needs. On arrival we were offered a glass of wine or tea/coffee and shown to our room. Gregor carried our case for us and was very hospitable. The offer of a flask of fresh cold milk for making drinks was one that lasted the whole of our stay "just ring the bell" and true to their word milk was on hand whenever we wanted it.
The room was perfect, the four-poster bed was very comfortable and the bedding crisp and clean. Two pillows provided with the option of more on request. The room was well appointed, amply sized and airy. The en-suite was great with all the best in shampoos etc - but Gregor and Emma have gone one step further, extra large fluffy towels and even good quality toilet roll (one of my favourite pet hates in holiday acommodation is cheap toilet roll).
Emma recommended a wonderful place to eat out for our anniversary meal (the Queens Head at Troutbeck) and even gave us superb directions which made the journey so much easier as the Queens Head is not very easy to find.
The breakfast was great - help yourself to fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, toast and fruit juices, followed by a good diversity of cooked food. The Cumbrian breakfast was the most popular with everyone staying when we did, and the plates were going back clean.
Even the cleaning staff were polite and courteous.
I would most certainly recommend this B&B if you're going to Windermere/Bowness - I know we'll use it again. And at £95 per night per room you won't find better value!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson030708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Well, where do we start? There's so much good to come from this hotel, from the moment We arrived We were made to feel very welcome. A beautifully decorated and very clean place to stay for any length of time. We were welcomed by Greg and asked if we would like some cake and a drink, but we had just been to Burgerking lol.

We were shown to Our room by Greg and all details explained to Us. Greeted with all the essentials needed after a short trip from home, a nice cuppa went down well with the homemade biscuits left for us in the room. Showergel, soap, bodywash, fluffy towels and robes all ready and waiting (which was a pleasant surprise as you dont normally get that!) When we came downstairs to go sightseeing, We were asked if We would like milk to take to the room when we got back as they have little flasks for you so you dont have to have the dreaded warm Uht...!!

The room was elegantly decorated with a modern but hint of vintage class and the 4-poster bed was the comfiest We had slept in in years. Tv/dvd player in the room, as well as an ipod docking station, which was quite unexpected, we are a young couple into the mod cons and it helped a great deal. There was an adequate en-suite ample for the daily needs.

When We went down in the morning for breakfast in the dining room, We were shocked!! We didnt even realise there were other guests as noise was kept to an absolute minimum. The fresh food was amazing as well as the cooked breakfasts. Compliments to the Chef and also to the waitress too. Lovely to have a natter with and very down to earth.

The overall location was ideal for both Windermere and Bowness (The Lake), and is situated on a quite road not often used by much traffic, which was great for peace and quiet...!!

Overall, this is the best hotel We have been too in a long while and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to familys and friends alike..!!
Emma & Greg are a credit to this hotel... and We hope the success for the future doesnt stop us from being able to book again lol...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frannifanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Had a lovely welcome to the braemount, chocolate cake and tea on arrival which was lovely.
Our room was very nice and very clean , lovely and comfatable bed too :) .
Breakfast was yummy .Great location as only a 10 min stroll into bowness.
Hopefully will vist again this year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelster81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Those words welcome the visitors at the Braemount house. The owners/management of the House - Emma and Greg - have proved it 100%. The warm welcome with coffee and home made delicious chocolate cake accompanied with nice talk felt great.

Speaking about the food - breakfast were homemade, nice served and tasted great. I tried all of the cooked ones - smoked haddock with poached eggs, blueberry pancakes were among my favourite ones. Yoghurt, cereals, freshly prepared (!) orange juice, coffee, tea were available as well.

We booked a small room which despite its size was nicely furnished and very cosy. TV, hair-dryer, tea, coffee available in the room.

Would recommend for all the visitors of the Lake district.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereToGoNextTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2011

we stayed here after months of searching for somewhere that we could stay with a 4 week old baby and from the moment we stepped in we felt welcomed and comfortable! The choccy brownies and cuppa on entry were a welcome treat and the room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The hosts could simply not do enough for us and breakfast was delicious!

many thanks

josie and gary and isabella moss

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josiemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 108 in Windermere
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing