We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Brilliant hosts, immaculately clean, wonderful breakfast, fresh fresh more than fresh food. Better than some four star hotels I have sayed in. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stayed in twin room, a little on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teragram02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 687 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed in the attic en-suite (room 9) for a couple of nights and cannot wait to come back... The bed was very comfortable, the decor striking and having the extra room felt like renting out a little luxury one bedroom flat minus the kitchen! The breakfast was delicious - plenty of choice. Greg and Emma make you feel welcome straight away. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nat999_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in Europe. This was one of the nicest places that we stayed at as part of our five weeks abroad. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, and provided with coffee and home made cake. This was just what we needed after a long day travelling. Emma and Gregor are lovely hosts who are very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast they provided was amazing, made from locally sourced fresh produce. Without a doubt the best home made porridge that I have ever tasted. I would highly recommend this place to my family and friends, and if we return to the Lake District in the future would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Me and my husband stayed here from thurs 2nd June - sun 5th June to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I chose this place because of the fantastic comments on trip advisor, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in room 3, as it says a small double, it was snug but perfect for what we needed - a clean, comfortable, quiet place to rest our heads after a long day. We were greeted by Beth when we arrived as Emma and Gregor were away for a couple of days. Tea or coffee and piece of cake were waiting for us in the dining room. We had a key to the front door and came and went as we pleased. The breakfast was fab and kept you full till tea time! We had the fresh fruit salad and wholemeal toast, followed by The full traditional breakfast (first time i have ever had black pudding and was amazed how tasty it was!) and on the third morning we had the blueberry pancakes with fromage frais and golden syrup all of which was cooked beautifully. Thank you for proving you can stay somewhere fantastic and not pay ridiculous prices. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 3 is at the back of the property, no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaandAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had an excellent stay .. greeted on arrival with a coffee and choc brownie. Room was very comfortable and spacious and very clean. Emma and Gregor lovely couple and very welcoming. The breakfast was tasty and of good choice and breakfast staff were lovely and friendly making our short stay comfortable. look forward to booking again soon

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulanangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

From beginning to end the stay at the Braemount House was wonderful. We were greated by Beth, a smile and the promise of coffee and carrot cake. Once settled into our bedroom; neat, tidy, lovingly decorated with the tiniest detail taken account of, we had coffee and cake in the sweetest dining room i've ever encountered. Beth was the perfect host, gave us tips and advice (as first time visitors to the Lakes) and catered to our every need. Back to the bedrooms, they are tight but Emma and Greg have really thought of everything; dressing gowns and really fluffy towels, the drinks station is 'real' coffee and caffietier, accompanied by local homemade biscuits. All this in mind the best part (or the part that I liked the most) was the hotel guest information book; a wonderful insite by the owners, so personal, and really charming. (I would add that the only down point was the suggestion of where to eat). And to breakfast, - all I can say is wonderful, such a lovely way to serve breakfast and such an array of items, and the discussion over breakfast - where have all these people come from? for a compact house we had no idea that we were not the only guests that were there let alone that they were full.
In summary, great location to local ammedities, great owners and staff and such a high standard that when we visit again I hope they have kept it up.

Room Tip: Our four poster bedroom was lovely,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hray89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My partner and I had a really lovely stay at Braemount House, our first trip away without our baby son and the clean, cotton sheets and comfy bed made for the best sleep we have had in literally years!!!

Emma and Gregor have made a pack full of all the good places to eat and places to go and included walks in the back which was very helpful. The glass of wine on arrival was very welcome and really made it feel like the beginning of our weekend away. Ooh and the home made biscuits were yummy. The excellent breakfast HAS to be mentioned and Emma and her staff (sorry didn't get the other lady's name who was serving) really made it feel like nothing was a bother!

I did have a cold shower the first night of our stay and that was only cause I didnt turn the knob far enough (press the red button and keep turning... and then its blummin boiling haha!).

The weather during our stay was truly pants but we still had a fab time made even better by our brilliant hosts. We will definitely be back. Thank you! =)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twarwoowar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,446 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coppice Guest House
The Coppice Guest House
#17 of 107 in Windermere
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sunny Bank Road, Windermere LA23 2EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $88 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set midway between Windermere and Bowness, vintage-styled Rum Doodle B&B is just a 12-minute downhill stroll away from the famous lake. We offer country house quality in a B&B setting with Egyptian cotton linens, an award-winning breakfast and complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemount House Hotel Windermere
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing