We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Nook is a cosy hidden cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Nook Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nook Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Nook Garden
Front Gardens
Front Gardens
Nook Garden
Nook Kitchen
Nook Kitchen
Nook Bedroom
Nook
Nook
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RCox
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The Nook is a cosy hidden cottage”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the Nook end of October. Parked right outside and the owner, Mick, made us feel very welcome. It was super clean and warm on the chilly night we arrived. There was plenty of storage room for everything, and the bed was so comfortable. Bathroom has a generous big soak bath, and towels were good quality, thick and soft. In the dining area is a bookshelf full of maps and walking books, so useful! Opposite the front door is a sheltered courtyard garden, private to the Nook, with flowers, table and chairs. WIFI and Sky TV signals are sometimes intermittent, but this is a quirk I’ve come to expect throughout the Lake District.

Why I’ve not given 5 stars is; The kitchen really needs more crockery, matching would be a bonus (there were only 2 large plates and mugs, which we had to keep re-washing, making the dishwasher redundant). Also, the sofa was very uncomfortable; especially the middle section, which was super hard packed, and could do with new seat cushion interiors.

The owners are very caring, and no doubt will quickly sort the above. I can highly recommend this peaceful, beautifully decorated cottage. It is in an ideal location, a short walk to town and good base for exploring Windermere and the surrounding area.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How quiet and private the cottage was - and the comfy bed!!
Liked least: The sofa and lack of crockery
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S
Acharacle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy, Relaxing, Friendly hosts.”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Kitchen could do with a few more plates, some oven gloves and instructions for using microwave, cooker etc, but over all a very good rental property, this was our second visit and we plan to return in the near future. Great location for enjoying the walks and attractions that Windermere and Bowness have to offer. A variety of good eateries within easy walking distance. Great place, highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCr00ks
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“"The Nook" is Delightful”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We rented "The Nook" one-bedroomed cottage at the back of Ivythwaite B&B in Princes Road, Windermere for one week. The cottage is two-storied, with bedroom, bathroom and sitting room upstairs, kitchen and dining area downstairs. Outside is a convenient and secure parking space. The cottage has been delightfully renovated and fitted out. All that you need is available, and everything is in excellent condition. We enjoyed being able to cook at home for a week during our months overseas, so put the kitchen through its paces. It came out well. The cottage is extremely well positioned, with easy walking or driving access to Windermere, and equally easy navigating to all of the sights of the Lake District. We were impressed by the cottage, and thankful to our host, Mike who was friendly and helpful. Thanks for your hospitality.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islandgir...
Horndean, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in the nook”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a delightful one week stay in the nook. This beautiful cottage offers you peace and relaxation, equipped for all your self catering needs and even has sky movies on demand and free WiFi. Perfectly located within a 10min walk to either bowness or Windermere and great transport links mean you can leave the car and easily explore by bus, boat, bike, railway and foot. The cottage has secure private parking. We received a very warm welcome from Mick and Wendy who recommended lovely walks and places to eat as well as serving us a delicious breakfast on our last day. We are already plan to stay next year.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thekatste...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at the Nook. The cottage was clean and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen and everything you could need. It really was a home from home. The Nook is also perfectly located just a few minutes walk to either the town centre or the lake and is a good base for exploring the surrounding countryside. There is even a parking space right next to the cottage.

We were greeted by Mick the owner who was very welcoming and gave us some good tips on places to visit and recommended local restaurants and pubs. We had a great weekend and will be recommendong the Nook to family and friends.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely feel in a great location
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kat_Willi...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed here last month with my partner and I would definitely recommend it. Owners are extremely helpful and always around if you need anything or have any questions. The cottage itself was lovely and had everything we needed, including a fully equipped kitchen. The wifi was perfectly fine when we stayed too. Brilliant location with Windermere and Bowness located about 10 mins walk in either direction.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nia W
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Nook was a great place to stay!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the Nook for a week - a fantastic little cottage, yet plenty of room with everything we needed.
The Nook was both clean and comfortable, and was a lovely cosy place to come back to after a busy day. It was well presented and felt homely.
The convenience of the dishwasher was also appreciated!!
An ideal location for exploring. It was just a short walk to the lake or up to the town where there were good cafes and restaurants. It was also a good base for exploring beyond Windermere.
Mick and Wendy made us feel very welcome here and were helpful with their recommendations.
There is no doubt that we would stay here again on our next visit to the lakes!

Date of stay: June 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing